SGTrekker's 7D6N Sri Lanka Vesak Day Photography Tour (13th - 19th May 2011)

Here's back track to day 2 having a date with an entrance guard. Somehow I found the chair an important element to the overall compo and initially she refused to smile until I egg her on to smile broadly. Alas the showing of teeth is priceless to me. Seems like we been to Africa safari !

i-HmnQx8f-L.jpg

Eh... what happened to that Similing huh?!!
She come on - humtum some beautiful pictures - and then she disappears again...
Wei... some one bring back Similing leh... this thread is short of female elements leh... :D :D

I think its easier to lure her for photo shoot than posting. Ha ha.

Ok back to Day 3 and towards evening time, we had a stage shoot for Oruva canoe. Me paying them again? Haha. Here's 2 versions:

i-bz95jK9-L.jpg

i-zxkLsKH-L.jpg

I have compiled most of the photos here. Not much to go anyway, at least for me.
http://david-low.smugmug.com/Other/Sri-Lanka/17317339_SNbhL9#1315007902_4NRBVNL

Some snap shots:

Time to enjoy some corn by the roadside
i-HDxBh7R.jpg

Taken in a house kitchen. The floor is laid with elephant dung which is odourless. According to them, it repels snake, scorpion, insect and most importantly provides a cool layer to sleep on. Its soft to the touch similar to the red colour running track. We have a chance to see them laying the dung, akin to those pouring cement screed. Probably the dung is mixed with water or some added adhesive gel, pour and screed to flatness and lay to dry.
i-kcrv7wZ.jpg

Sorry, fast forward not in any particular order of some snap (record) shots. Not sure whether it pass the record category.

Went to Kandy tea plantation factory on Vesak day and unfortuantely the factory was closed. I'm always intrigued how tea is processed and this factory gentleman gave us a rough idea explaining the works of different machines.
i-T4L8NW8.jpg

Sorter
i-25sDrHk.jpg

And the open concept of the kitchen restaurant at the tea factory gives us a free hand taking pot shots at the cooks.
i-2bpDggr.jpg

i-bz95jK9-L.jpg

THis is an amazing capture.. The motion is just wonderful and great tones..
Beautiful thread and beautiful photos from everyone. Thanks for sharing...

i-bz95jK9-L.jpg

THis is an amazing capture.. The motion is just wonderful and great tones..
Beautiful thread and beautiful photos from everyone. Thanks for sharing...

Thanks for dropping in and much appreciated, MGohzxc.

Since we are doing some fun shoot.. Have one where one of our participant was seen teaching the local kids how to wave like those winners of the recent Election... :) ...

he is the one that dont like to do stage-shoot, so while we shoot the monks, he take a rest :)

http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2651/5790388460_d4d3b8a3fc_o.jpg (link for full res)

5790388460_7149cd7dfa_b.jpg

one more.. taken at the resort place for Day03 (Polonnaruwa).. after we checked-in and before we go shoot fisherman at Lake Giritale Wewa

5789808143_79735ca4ac_o.jpg

Now.. the challenge is to GUESS WHO is in this PIC :)

the corn haha.. well again.. no one dare to buy.. until u know who eat it first :P

then clement also bought some from her.. then later.. more people buy from her until she have to reject cos left those still cooking the pot.. need to wait... i think that women msut be quite happy hahaha...

hope no one get stomachache... ? :D

Since we are doing some fun shoot.. Have one where one of our participant was seen teaching the local kids how to wave like those winners of the recent Election... :) ...

he is the one that dont like to do stage-shoot, so while we shoot the monks, he take a rest :)

http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2651/5790388460_d4d3b8a3fc_o.jpg (link for full res)

5790388460_7149cd7dfa_b.jpg

That was very candid.

Not exactly correct that I don't like stage shoot. Adrian may have also mistaken. I shoot like mad when there is lady model or the Oruva canoe. Those are staged ma. Because of my faith and belief, I tend to be very selective of the subject matter. I'm not inspired to shoot statue or stupas as backdrop. Same when I was in Myanmar. Ha ha, may sounds weird but that's me. I don't mind monk as a separate subject (being human being) but still I need to find my soul when I press the shutter. Very chim ah !!
one more.. taken at the resort place for Day03 (Polonnaruwa).. after we checked-in and before we go shoot fisherman at Lake Giritale Wewa

5789808143_79735ca4ac_o.jpg

Now.. the challenge is to GUESS WHO is in this PIC :)

Let me tell you ClemC, I really like this shot very much. Its in its very simplest form that speaks very loud as an image. I guess must be Summerling ?

the corn haha.. well again.. no one dare to buy.. until u know who eat it first :P

then clement also bought some from her.. then later.. more people buy from her until she have to reject cos left those still cooking the pot.. need to wait... i think that women msut be quite happy hahaha...

hope no one get stomachache... ? :D
Judging from the corn stick in our hands, you can confirm that nleong start this "corn feast".. he reminded us that we should not get the corn dipped into the other pot (not the cooking).. till now I still dont know why.. BUT it seems to work.. no stomachache for me... so who didn't get con into eating corn?

That was very candid.
Not exactly correct that I don't like stage shoot. Adrian may have also mistaken. I shoot like mad when there is lady model or the Oruva canoe. Those are staged ma. Because of my faith and belief, I tend to be very selective of the subject matter. I'm not inspired to shoot statue or stupas as backdrop. Same when I was in Myanmar. Ha ha, may sounds weird but that's me. I don't mind monk as a separate subject (being human being) but still I need to find my soul when I press the shutter. Very chim ah !!

Let me tell you ClemC, I really like this shot very much. Its in its very simplest form that speaks very loud as an image. I guess must be Summerling ?
Roger Divinemoment - not very chim la.. I have friends who share your views.. and I can understand the logic... NOW I know why you are selective :)

As for my shot.. thanks for noticing.. I guess the 30mins worth of PP is useful and meaningful..
You the can.. from the shadow can tell it is SimiLING?.. I dont want to confirm, cause I want to complain first.. I was happily preparing to shoot and this person turn round and walk towards us.. that is why a bit of the shadow was cut :( ..

Daoyin, thanks for looking and glad you liked them. Its my pleasure. All these were taken in colour and convert.

Thanks divinemoment, I waited and waited for this moment. Too bad it did not get into a super stright line. No fish prawns also good lah ;)

NICE!!.... I like.. :thumbsup: good composition.. good angle..

why only u have gift?... the rest of us dont have lay?...

ha ha, I also don't know. Suddenly he ask me write my name on the piece of paper and give it to me liao...

That was very candid.

I c, now I know what is Clement shooting. Was wondering what is he doing.... Thanks I like this shoot too. simple and Supper swee.

I am back, Here comes my contributions.

paisei lah Norman, i know i will disappear so better pre post the photos ;)

After checking out the hotel, we are heading on the road again and came across the kids having the classes.

225499_10150190647415805_738770804_7015548_6025587_n.jpg]]

230249_10150190647930805_738770804_7015553_4674581_n.jpg]]

250605_10150188456355805_738770804_6996468_4877962_n.jpg]]

250832_10150190623025805_738770804_7015353_4137624_n.jpg]]

First time doing the LE, thanks to the group for the guidance.
248169_10150190623150805_738770804_7015356_8290005_n.jpg]]

I quite like the expression of the monk with he monk behind.
225813_10150190611685805_738770804_7015160_6279415_n.jpg]]