SGTrekker 8D7N Wonders of Egypt Photography Tour (28 Aug-04 Sep 2011)

Here is a brief overview of the timeline spanning prehistoric and ancient Egypt, to give our readers an idea of how far back we travelled in time to admire the works of the people of the cradle of civilization (since some experts now date Egypt to even before Mesopotamia but that is debatable) that spans millennium, with specific mention to the places we visited:

[TABLE="class: grid"]
[TR]
[TD]25 million BCE
[/TD]
[TD]Black and White Deserts were still under water, underwater volcanoes discharging lava that form the current features of the Black Desert
[/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD]7000 - 4950 BCE
[/TD]
[TD]Sahara was a lush savannah, with rock paintings depicting hunters, fishermen and game
[/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD]3500 BC
[/TD]
[TD]Sahara turns to desert, Egyptians retreat to the Nile
[/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD]3100 - 2800 BC
[/TD]
[TD]Early dynastic Period
Menes (may also be called Narmer) unifies both Upper (Southern) and Lower (Northern) Egypt
[/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD]2686 - 2125 BC
[/TD]
[TD]Old Kingdom
Pyramids built at Saqqara, Dashur and Giza
[/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD]2160 - 2025 BC
[/TD]
[TD]First Intermediate Period
[/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD]2055 - 1650 BC
[/TD]
[TD]Middle Kingdom
[/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD]1650 - 1550 BC
[/TD]
[TD]Second Intermediate Period
[/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD]1550 - 1069 BC
[/TD]
[TD]New Kingdom
Temple of Hatshepsut built c 1458 BC
Abu Simbel built 1244 BC
Luxor Temple built c 1213 BC
Medinat Habu built c 1153 BC
Final stages of Karnak built

[/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD]1069 - 475 BC
[/TD]
[TD]Late Period I
[/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD]475 - 354 BC
[/TD]
[TD]Persian Period I
[/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD]354 - 293 BC
[/TD]
[TD]Late Period II
[/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD]293 - 282 BC
[/TD]
[TD]Persian Period II
[/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD]282 BC - 30 AD
[/TD]
[TD]Greek Dynasty
Kom Ombo built 145 BC
Edfu built 57 BC
Pharaonic history ends with Cleopatra's death
[/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD]1250 - 1517 AD
[/TD]
[TD]Mamluk rule
Sultan Hassan Mosque built 1363 AD
Khan Al-Khalili started 1384 AD

[/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD]1798 - 1922 AD
[/TD]
[TD]Colonial times
Mosque of Mohammad Ali built 1848 AD
[/TD]
[/TR]
[/TABLE]

To put things in perspective, we are nearer in time to the last pharaonic dynasty than they were to the pyramids. :bigeyes:

Here is a brief overview of the timeline spanning prehistoric and ancient Egypt, to give our readers an idea of how far back we travelled in time to admire the works of the people of the cradle of civilization (since some experts now date Egypt to even before Mesopotamia but that is debatable) that spans millennium, with specific mention to the places we visited:

To put things in perspective, we are nearer in time to the last pharaonic dynasty than they were to the pyramids. :bigeyes:

Well done, acpical, my Habibi!
What more can I say?!
You stayed up and put up this chart of Egyptian history... and this is nothing short of Lovely!
Shukran shukran...!

T R A V E L O G U E

A little more about Sultan Hassan Mosque.
I got to know this a little later after we visited this magnificent mosque.
Sultan Hassan mosque was built to house the schools for the four main Sunni sects and allows them to share a mosque.
Its massive walls tower over the visitors as we approached from the front gate, looming vertically above us from both side of the path.
And turning left into the main entrance, we were all stunned by the sheer height of the dome-shaped ceiling.

I remember all of us simply stood there and started shooting.
Of course, vngks already had his tripod opened and deployed and firing away.
When it comes to architectural, landscape and astronomical technicality, he has always tread the path of quest for perfection.

Leading to the left was a dark hall way which again caught us all 'stranded' there for just merely being there, we felt the smallness of our own being, and many of us just kept shooting into and out of the darkness.

I myself and SereneXMM just fired away, not really knowing what we were shooting at.
No lingam, was the most appropriate description of our state of photographic mind at that point in time.

The SgTrekker Shooters in Cairo

As I had no more lingam for the day, I ended up shooting photos of the shooters instead of of the landscape and architectural structures.
Here are some of my portraiture shots.
Er... Portrait Master AlexK, please don't scold me for any how shooting hor... I no lingam lah.. LOL...

6116119875_de7223324e_m.jpg
6117144316_b65e773b9d_m.jpg
6116163003_15559ce230_m.jpg
6116598811_589745b784_m.jpg
6116110617_ccc7f67990_m.jpg

Our M-touting Ageless, apparently.................. Our super-fit Francis Chia. Always on............Our SereneXMM, putting left foot forward.......Our forever-tripod-bearing Astro-shooter,......And our Mr Kopi-O (...LOL...) he can always
suffering from acute deficiency in lingam.........the go...!.........................................................In Egyptian history, putting left foot in front............vngks, also known during this trip as Mr.........ID a bird with little difficulty!
...................................................................................................................................................... ......means bravery. Like her like that.. cheong!......NGA-KA-SANG... LOL..!

6117422848_562dbd0e5f_m.jpg
6116662194_0a344e21cb_m.jpg
6116657818_cb74ca5141_m.jpg
6117437894_c598b6ce21_m.jpg
6116611027_d706693ed5_m.jpg

Adrian suffering from gear deficiency.........sMrs AlexK brandishing her 2 Nex5 -..............The Portrait Master AlexK himself, but this...Our lovely Chris, the fastest learning, the........Our swivel LCD shooter with his 24-85 &
syndrome... buy buy buy...!........................one with the 16mm pancake & FE adapter,.....time with a difference~ he became a Leica...most enthusiastic fresh shooter in the team.......his 55-250mm! Shooting heck lots of depth
............................................................................the other one with the 18-200mm....................M9P brotherhood member!..............................personally trained by husband Francis Chia!.......into his photos!

6116901273_a46df799ef_m.jpg
6116602969_bf8fe496e2_m.jpg

And of course, the unforgettable Gadget-man,...The Pharaoh-to-be Acpical who knew more
Dinosour and soonjie84.. holding their rifles.......Egyptian history than any one else. And who
at ready position for the ultimate ambush..........could shoot a chicken dead with his 24-70mm.

Adrian suffering from GAS !!
Hahaha .. thought you too Mr limwhow :p

Adrian suffering from GAS !!
Hahaha .. thought you too Mr limwhow :p

Adrian he feeling incomplete already lor... you go and ask him lah... haha..
Me, I am almost complete already lah, LowLights... don't like that lah...

T R A V E L O G U E

Allow me to move slightly forward while awaiting our friends to post their shots...
Vngks just messaged me saying that he is still PP-ing his photos and will start posting later today. Ok, waiting for your pictures!

Lunch at a Buffet Restaurant
The thing about eating out in Egypt is, like many other countries, there is a tourist price and there is a local's price.
So when we as tourists go to any eateries (except for McDonalds and KFC such type of standard price fast food joints), we have to more or less get prepared to be hum-tumed by the restaurants.
SgTrekkers have been good in that they specified to the local guides to keep everything to 50 Egyptian pounds and below (around S$10) per meal, which was reasonable.
Here was our first buffet lunch in Cairo.

6115837951_340ecf7a25_z.jpg

Very nice , in one of the photo someone was almost lying down to take photo , do they allow this in the mosque?.
Definitely the goal of trying to get the best angle by the group should be applauded .

Thanks for sharing .

one day late and alreadi Page 3 ah... Camping here... Melvin/Adrian - the first two pic.. nice yet funny :)

T R A V E L O G U E

Some anecdotes...

After lunch, we re-emerged into the scorching heat of the midday sun.
The sun here in Cairo is perpetually beating down upon the unsuspecting skin of this bunch of travellers from Singapore, giving us loads of tan and plenty of dry skin.
What we found even on the first day here was that the lighting looked as though it was mid- to late-afternoon even though it was in the morning. And it gave us the false impression that we were already late in the day although the day just started.
Of course, not to mention the degree of dehydration we all experienced, without us even noticing it.
We were drinking plenty of water, but we were passing small amount of concentrated urine.

Muhamad Ali Mosque

This majestic mosque was built in the 19th century, right in the Citadel.
It was built in the old Ottoman style of architecture. Commissioned by the King to be built in memory of his son, what caught one's attention once we entered into the prayer hall was the huge high central dome with a concentric whirl of lamps hung very low from the top of the ceiling.
What our guide Mido explained to us was during the olden days, these lamps were lighted with candles every night.
Thus they had to be located low down in order for the attendants to reach them.
But they were certainly a sight to behold and we were all in awe upon stepping in.
So many of us were simply setting up our tripods and/or lying flat down supine on the carpet in the centre of the prayer hall shooting away. Well, I must say we ourselves must have been quite a sight for the locals... Hahaha...

6117149562_9cff32b4d6_z.jpg

This is my shot. Not very good. But still, I posted it here for record purpose.
The artistic shots will have to come from all my partners.

Just another one from a different angle.

6116672668_8caa203f9f_b.jpg

Alamak... someone's finger and hand was in the corner.
Who was the culprit huh?!
Crept up and ambushed me just as I snapped my shutter... Hahahaha...

Lovely wide angle takes Mr Lim! And SereneXMM too! I like the little protruding bit of central fountain projecting into the open skies.

( I see the two of u really like going wide )

Ryan

Lovely images. Bring me a refreshing look.

Very entertaining dialogue, Mr Lim.

At the Muhammad Ali Mosque, the alabaster mosque interior,the chandelier and ceiling are so beautiful.
Our tourmates lie down trying to get the best angle to shoot...:bigeyes:

6115853939_5553e0f2ef_b.jpg

Not satisfy, AlexK decided to shoot our tourmates...:bsmilie:

6116402828_667b723382_b.jpg

At our own target and time, our tourmates non-stop shooting...

6115863447_8448ba0f48_b.jpg

I moved to one corner to capture this shot as I spotted the girl waiting just outside the mosque.

6115871003_a5e9bce418_b.jpg

Good shots, themageman! I could never fathom how the man could lift you up onto his ass!! The price one has to pay to get such shots...

Blur Blur one ?
Eh... sorry I am a total newbie.
I think subsequent shots will be less blur... Haha... not the equipment fault. The fault lies in my lack of skill! LOL...

Adrian & Melvin - the first two shots truly fantastic...:thumbsup:

waiting here for more pictures to come. Welcome back everyone.

Wee How - as usual, following your story .. like I am travelling too :)
Thank you Lydialee for coming by!
The pleasure is ours.

Whow,

How come your post #18,19 and 21 photo not availiable in Flickr? Or is it my computer ?
HEhehe... yah, my Flickr photos got accidentally deleted.
Thanks for telling me. I have reloaded my photos. Thanks thanks, divinemoment!

wah!! welcome home...
nice coverage Limwhow, Serene and Friends!!

Awaiting for more images from your trip. :)
Canto! Thanks for coming on board too!
My friends all have lovely shots.
But now they are all suffering from jet lag... so let's wait a little more... LOL...

Very nice , in one of the photo someone was almost lying down to take photo , do they allow this in the mosque?.
Definitely the goal of trying to get the best angle by the group should be applauded .

Thanks for sharing .
Hello supmylo, thank you for coming on board, on behalf of all my teammates.
Yeah... we just went in and lay down on the floor.
We did ask our guide, if I don't remember wrongly, and I think he gave the green light. Haha...
one day late and alreadi Page 3 ah... Camping here... Melvin/Adrian - the first two pic.. nice yet funny :)
Hey, ClemC! Never too late.
Always glad to have you up on board.

Lovely wide angle takes Mr Lim! And SereneXMM too! I like the little protruding bit of central fountain projecting into the open skies.

( I see the two of u really like going wide )

Ryan
Hahaha... Giantcanopy yah, Giantcanopy!
We don't have TSE... so just have to make do with as wide an angle as we could.
Haha... thanks for coming on board!

Lovely images. Bring me a refreshing look.

Very entertaining dialogue, Mr Lim.
SnagIt, thank you for your compliments, on behalf of my tourmates.
Stay on board as they will all show their shots.. coming, coming...

This is a lovely shot!

Hey, I saw you doing that!
Then everyone of us started doing that... LOL...