SBS Transit, SMRT ask to raise bus and train fares

revenue does not equal fares???
you want to elaborate?

Tot I answered you already... you seem to be convinently ignoring my post with those hard figures I painstakingly extracted from the financial reports. :(

that's quite debatable.
you can argue from a social welfare standpoint maybe...but not as a publicly traded company (not private).

Public Traded Company is still a private company as it's not state owned. It's TOTALLY different from PTE LTD company.

So, in that case, should public services be reverted to govt/ministries..whatever. Since there's a huge disparity in their ultimate goal. :think:

win already loh...like that I also can say...

why not come up with concrete ways of doing the above?

As posted... pay me the CEO salary first. ;)

so imagine you are the government and the transport companies claim they need
to raise bus fares because of:
1. rising fuel prices
2. increase in CPF contributions
3. increase in GST

So what would you do? I'm interested to hear your solutions.

how about they take a little pay cut ah??? a lot of us have either been pay freeze or pay cut, some of them maybe got retrench...... if we got pay cut... how about them??? can right???

so you're saying that the economic growth figures the government releases are fake?

Nope, juz that statistics can have different meaning depending on how you look at it.

how about they take a little pay cut ah??? a lot of us have either been pay freeze or pay cut, some of them maybe got retrench...... if we got pay cut... how about them??? can right???

Shhhh... wait wait... ask them to pay me the CEO salary first... then I tell them mah.

Now I loose my chance to get BIG FAT pay. :cry::mad2:

They just had a big fat pay raise!!! Cut? I'll die laughing!

Wow. Sooooo many posts so many people talk talk post post in almost all forums.

Whats the use??? ;(;(

if you look at the price data of the Straits Times Index since 1988,
it has increased by an average of 9.95% per year.

http://sg.finance.yahoo.com/q/hp?s=^STI&a=11&b=28&c=1987&d=07&e=3&f=2007&g=m

In other words, if you invest in an "average" company in the STI, you'll get annual returns of
10% per annum.

In other words, an average company is one that generates 10% profit every year.

If we look at revenue of 600m per year (which Cyrn posted a few posts ago), that translate to about $60m per year.

Friend... do you know STI is onli tracking the top performers of those public listed companies... those did not perform gets dropped off the STI and those well performers gets into the index.

Then again stop comparing something purely commercial to Public transportation where they have equal responsibility in serving the public. The average Singaporean DOES NOT get 10% pay rise per annum. :sticktong

No lah he knows.... he keeps saying costs go up as companies claim hence he totally support their increase bid. Also companies should threaten us.... "dnt let me increase fares??!! I cut the bus routes then u know!"

Skali he from SBS.. come to forums to fish for ideas... if good, claim as his idea, score brownie points wif bosses. If bad, then point finger and say he's jus implementing popular ideas from public feedback. :bsmilie::bigeyes:

Wow. Sooooo many posts so many people talk talk post post in almost all forums.

Whats the use??? ;(;(

well.. we can't go out there riot, mass sitting session at SBS/SMRT HQ carrying banner....etc right.... police will catch one... if kena catch, its either jail or big fine, and then company may retrench us.... then we be jobless... where got money to take bus to find job then? so can make noise here loh.... hope somebody would hear loh..

Shhhh... wait wait... ask them to pay me the CEO salary first... then I tell them mah.

Now I loose my chance to get BIG FAT pay. :cry::mad2:

dun lah..... please leh.... :sweat:

Nope, I never said that they are fake. Just as the unemployment figures for "residents" is not fake either.

However, the impression they give people is what is at stake :). Facts and figures are always subject to definitions, and it is in the definitions where the creativity begins.

so you're saying that the economic growth figures the government releases are fake?

the st index basket of stocks are not selected on how well each of them performed, rather from each of the key sectors/industries which they represent.

Friend... do you know STI is onli tracking the top performers of those public listed companies... those did not perform gets dropped off the STI and those well performers gets into the index.

the st index basket of stocks are not selected on how well each of them performed, rather from each of the key sectors/industries which they represent.

:confused::confused::confused:

ain't that the top performers of the respective sectors?

generally, i concurred. however, officials of govt bodies tends to emphazie on the positives and obscure the negatives. like, in today's st, 'jobless rate at 6-yr low .... ' so, if one were to take a seven or ten years' horizon, where would current relative jobless rate stands?

Now the question is who comes up with economic growth figures, and are they really reflective of what is happening on the ground?

We have seen official figures relating to education being slanted in a misleading way, things like proportion of "residents" unemployed etc - goes to show how true a picture these media released figures really paint.

well, i am not sure about this. but what i can be sure is that the st basket of stocks as i was working for a listed co and my co was in the basket of stocks selected for a period of one year. did not think that we were 'top peformers' then.

:confused::confused::confused:

ain't that the top performers of the respective sectors?

generally, i concurred. however, officials of govt bodies tends to emphasis on the positives and obscure the negatives. like, in today's st, 'jobless rate at 6-yr low .... ' so, if one were to take a seven or ten years' horizon, where would current relative jobless rate stands?

10 years ago was the Asian financial crisis. what do you think?