S1/S2/S3 pics. thread

Hi uzume002,

Very nice pic you have on the fireworks....you were at Tj Rhu huh? Think the fireworks is nice with the longer shutter speed, >2 sec? Only if S3 can set smaller aperture above f8 then the fireworks will look sharper and slimmer...Nice job!

Micro mode? I prefer slightly deeper DOF for #2...like the entire snail is sharp (what f/stop did you use? try having a wider angle or smaller aperture if you can). And distracting background.

Nice pics. I comment but I cannot do it, so no offense, please...:D

P.S. When you post pic, use the icon with a mountain and a sun, not the one with the globe and chain, then you pic will show...:)

Edited a typo....change from larger to smaller

uzume002 said:
took some photo with my S3 pls c & c

090806ndp01rd3.jpg

060806snail02vy9.jpg

lastboltnut said:
Hi guys,

The last part of my NTU series.....please do comment if you have any.

Thanx for viewing!

#03 The Mambo Jumbo in the Uni
204902937_4cd56e5378.jpg

I've tried to crop it for you,
204902937_4cd56e5378.jpg

Not sure of how to crop #1 cos i dun see what u want to show at all.. :dunno:

Thanks GeckoZ for your opinion.:)

#1 I was trying to show the tired face of the guy having the orientation...to show that he is tired of the long way to go (for the orientation walk and the journey in NTU...)

For the crop you did, I was trying to show the vast number of fressssshies in the orientation, so the long crop...may be you have your point in croping it tighter.:)

Thanks!

GeckoZ said:
I've tried to crop it for you,
204902937_4cd56e5378.jpg

Not sure of how to crop #1 cos i dun see what u want to show at all.. :dunno:

lastboltnut said:
Hi uzume002,

Very nice pic you have on the fireworks....you were at Tj Rhu huh? Think the fireworks is nice with the longer shutter speed, >2 sec? Only if S3 can set smaller aperture above f8 then the fireworks will look sharper and slimmer...Nice job!

Micro mode? I prefer slightly deeper DOF for #2...like the entire snail is sharp (what f/stop did you use? try having a wider angle or larger aperture if you can). And distracting background.

P.S. When you post pic, use the icon with a mountain and a sun, not the one with the globe and chain, then you pic will show...:)

yup at tj rhu the shutter was at 5 sec :)

for 2nd pic was at f4 or something like this .. trying very hard to manual focus at that point of time so didn't really take note of the dof .. keke

lastboltnut said:
Thanks GeckoZ for your opinion.:)

#1 I was trying to show the tired face of the guy having the orientation...to show that he is tired of the long way to go (for the orientation walk and the journey in NTU...)

For the crop you did, I was trying to show the vast number of fressssshies in the orientation, so the long crop...may be you have your point in croping it tighter.:)

Thanks!

ohh i see.. haha! ok! :bsmilie:

garytay said:
The photomatix software can align the images (CS2 doesn't do that) before HDRing it... which makes it even easier for handheld HDRs.
Actually, CSII HDR align is better then photomatrix.

lastboltnut said:
Hi uzume002,

Micro mode? I prefer slightly deeper DOF for #2...like the entire snail is sharp (what f/stop did you use? try having a wider angle or smaller aperture if you can). And distracting background.

Edited a typo....change from larger to smaller

ya .. that why yesterday read until blur blur

Should correct me mah...we are all here to share and learn.:)

uzume002 said:
ya .. that why yesterday read until blur blur

Hi ppl,

Please comment on this shot...thank you!

213239344_09062d0bde.jpg

Also posted in Critique Corner. Thanks.

lastboltnut said:
Hi ppl,

213239344_09062d0bde.jpg

Did you try in potrait format? I would prefer a warmer background also. I like the idea!

Part of the pics I took tonight. All cropped because was not quite near enough.

SFF120806F.jpg

SFF120806D.jpg

SFF120806J.jpg

gan55 said:
Where were you shooting from?

Light Trails

213315491_e7db10122f.jpg

f8.0, 2.5 seconds

213315492_ac513f8f28.jpg

f8.0, 3.2 seconds

Taken at Benjamin Sheares Bridge after Singapore Fireworks Festival (Team France) 2006.

I was shooting from Marina South, the field oppo all the steamboat places.

lastboltnut said:
Hi ppl,

213239344_09062d0bde.jpg

This is really Canon POWERSHOT ar! :thumbsup: No wonder you dare to post into C&C forum. :bsmilie: How u create the lightings? i would give u 9/10 atleast!

and i like your border too!

cerebrus said:
Light Trails

213315491_e7db10122f.jpg

f8.0, 2.5 seconds

213315492_ac513f8f28.jpg

f8.0, 3.2 seconds

Taken at Benjamin Sheares Bridge after Singapore Fireworks Festival (Team France) 2006.

Brilliant! :thumbsup:

Hi gan55,

How come the #1 & #2 looks a little blur to me, was it without tripod? Or was it fireworks effect? But 3 is nice.:)

gan55 said:

SFF120806F.jpg

SFF120806D.jpg

SFF120806J.jpg

Hey bro, u were saying potrait shot with the baby still lying down or rotate the pic? Actually the blue colour can be replaced with PS:bsmilie:

cerebrus said:
Did you try in potrait format? I would prefer a warmer background also. I like the idea!

Hi GeckoZ, S3 IS is the best cam I have...:D I buay paisey 1 mah, I post there a few times liao...:D Its to learn from the comments...but sometimes no one bothers to comment lah.:(

I just put a ikea light (the $5.90 plastic clamp light) by the wall and ensure the baby in the foreground dun catch the light loh.:)

Thanks for your comments:)

GeckoZ said:
This is really Canon POWERSHOT ar! No wonder you dare to post into C&C forum. How u create the lightings? i would give u 9/10 atleast!

and i like your border too!

lastboltnut said:
Hey bro, u were saying potrait shot with the baby still lying down or rotate the pic? Actually the blue colour can be replaced with PS:bsmilie:
The current picture is divided into half, with the baby's face at the bottom. I feel if you have more space on top, it would look better. It feels very cramp on top at the moment.