S1/S2/S3 pics. thread

lastboltnut: I used a tripod. They are those furry glittery gold dust kind of fireworks...but maybe I didn't take them very well?

Your baby pic, how did you keep the noise level down huh?

I like #2, may be #1 has the distraction of the top light and it was in portrait.:)

cerebrus said:
Light Trails
Taken at Benjamin Sheares Bridge after Singapore Fireworks Festival (Team France) 2006.

Oic, will try. Thanks.

cerebrus said:
The current picture is divided into half, with the baby's face at the bottom. I feel if you have more space on top, it would look better. It feels very cramp on top at the moment.

Oic, so it was the fireworks lah.

I also duno how to drive down the noise...I gues is the bright background and the dark foreground, wich one produces less noise and the other not sensitive to noise ba?:dunno:

gan55 said:
lastboltnut: I used a tripod. They are those furry glittery gold dust kind of fireworks...but maybe I didn't take them very well?

oic, coz usually I have problem with noise using ISO400.

The following is a picture taken by Canon S3 during NDP 2006. ISO was set at 200. M mode was used and camera mounted on tripod. I found that the picture was softer than the one taken by Nikon D70 Kit: http://gallery.clubsnap.com/data/504/medium/DSC_5965.jpg

I am not sure whether it is the focusing problem, ISO200, or nature of the tiny ccd. Anyone also find that the photos from Canon S3 tend to be soft (when viewed at 100%), or is the problem only with my particular set? Also, has there been report of back or front focus for S3?

Rgds

IMG_0910.jpg

Good for you, in the Stadium...did you focus to infinity? or Hyperfocal distant? If yes, unlikely to be focusing prob. If no...then may be. I always hear the S3 lens is softer....but I am not very sure.

U can use PS to sharpen the pic.:) And I would personally love the pic colour saturation tuned up a bit....colour too flat and the fiireworks seem white and not much colour...that's my liking lah.

biped said:
The following is a picture taken by Canon S3 during NDP 2006. ISO was set at 200. M mode was used and camera mounted on tripod. I found that the picture was softer than the one taken by Nikon D70 Kit: http://gallery.clubsnap.com/data/504/medium/DSC_5965.jpg

I am not sure whether it is the focusing problem, ISO200, or nature of the tiny ccd. Anyone also find that the photos from Canon S3 tend to be soft (when viewed at 100%), or is the problem only with my particular set? Also, has there been report of back or front focus for S3?

Rgds

IMG_0910.jpg

I used the autofocus. Hence, not sure whether it was focused at infinity. Is there a infinity selection beside through manual focus? What is "hyperfocal distant?"

I had used PS to sharpen the pic. But, it will be better if it is sharp straight from camera. Usually how do you tune up the color saturation?

Thks for your suggestions. :)

lastboltnut said:
Good for you, in the Stadium...did you focus to infinity? or Hyperfocal distant? If yes, unlikely to be focusing prob. If no...then may be. I always hear the S3 lens is softer....but I am not very sure.

U can use PS to sharpen the pic.:) And I would personally love the pic colour saturation tuned up a bit....colour too flat and the fiireworks seem white and not much colour...that's my liking lah.

lastboltnut said:
Hi ppl,

Please comment on this shot...thank you!

213239344_09062d0bde.jpg

Also posted in Critique Corner. Thanks.

I love this pic. The simple and clean composition helps to bring out the innocence of the child. :thumbsup:

gan55 said:

i hate the gold dust too, nice to the eye, but spoil the photos... :think:

thearttofeelme said:

#1 not nice
#2 not bad
#3 kid looks damn like the mediacorp actor called Ah Ben aka Yao Zhi Long or something, can't rmb.
# 4 and 5 nice sky, but nothing nice about composition..

that's what i thinks.. haha ;-)
#

Monster ZOOooM from my tiny S3

View through my S3 with no zoom
IMG_2341.jpg

Viewing at 12x wif tele lens
IMG_2342.jpg

My cosplay pics, not the usual cosplay

IMG_2270.jpg

IMG_2278.jpg

My fav doll is the one wif white dress looking bored posing for me ;)

Static said:
Monster ZOOooM from my tiny S3

My fav doll is the one wif white dress looking bored posing for me ;)

First pic the head in there spoiler sia bro.. 2nd pic boring leh.. 3rd and 4th cosplay pics super nice! take from where one? bo jio... :sticktong

GeckoZ said:
First pic the head in there spoiler sia bro.. 2nd pic boring leh.. 3rd and 4th cosplay pics super nice! take from where one? bo jio... :sticktong

1st and 2nd pic I was testing S3 Monster zoom and examine the noise level at max zoom wif tele, surpisingly the noise level isnt that bad.

lol u busy taking chiobus at WCG cosplay mah, where got time for this small event :bsmilie: :bsmilie:

Read this thread for hyperfocal distant.:)

Only manual focus can set focus to infinity.

biped said:
I used the autofocus. Hence, not sure whether it was focused at infinity. Is there a infinity selection beside through manual focus? What is "hyperfocal distant?"

I had used PS to sharpen the pic. But, it will be better if it is sharp straight from camera. Usually how do you tune up the color saturation?

Thks for your suggestions. :)

Hi gary, confirm the AEB palys with the Exposure Compensation and not the shutter speed. But seems like it works even with EC....learn new thing!:) :bsmilie:

garytay said:
Correct me if I'm wrong, I thought the S3 AEB (Auto Exposure Bracketting) Function will auto adjust the shutter speed for the 3 exposures. I just use that cause it automatically takes 3 shots, one after another. Very good if holding on hand or with cars / fast moving objects. Lazy Mode ma... :sweat:

The photomatix software can align the images (CS2 doesn't do that) before HDRing it... which makes it even easier for handheld HDRs.

Thank you boogle.:)

boogle said:
I love this pic. The simple and clean composition helps to bring out the innocence of the child. :thumbsup:

For #1, I prefer the focus to be on the child.
#2, would like to see the hand and a bit of what he is holding.
#4, I would crop the Apache pic, leaving it on the right and the middle (in terms of height)

All these are my own preferences.;p

GeckoZ said:
#1 not nice
#2 not bad
#3 kid looks damn like the mediacorp actor called Ah Ben aka Yao Zhi Long or something, can't rmb.
# 4 and 5 nice sky, but nothing nice about composition..

that's what i thinks.. haha ;-)
#