S1/S2/S3 pics. thread

garytay said:
Step 1:
i) Using Canon S3IS Set Dial to Program
ii) Press FUNC and choose AEB -> SET -> Exposure -2 0 +2
iii) Use a FIRM TRIPOD and aim your target (still target best).

Snap Snap Snap

Combine the photos

Either use Photomatix (http://www.hdrsoft.com) or photoshop CS 2 ( Only CS 2 has that function ) Depending on algorithm... U have to wait 5~30mins for it to process the image (took me 10mins PC)...

HDR Image
HDBsunset.jpg

This isn't really that nice of a image... just randomly shoting out of my flat (20th floor) and i got the ISO setting too high + Haze (cough).

From what i read from the internet... ISO of lesser then 200 is best. Also u can only change exposure level by changing the shutter speed. If you change ISO or Aperture, the Depth of Field or ISO noise will cause problems to the image... U can use 2 or more images, the more the merrier (provided it's still and on a tripod + exposure are at least 1 stop part).

Here's another HDR example http://www.flickr.com/photos/mrtang/209856107/ (5 images into 1 HDR image)

garytay has it spot on :thumbsup:
I normally prefer to use different shutter speeds, instead of exposure compensation.

Yah, I use shutter speed too....if using exposure, then S3 can do the exposure braketing at +/- 2 seting...:)

cerebrus said:
garytay has it spot on :thumbsup:
I normally prefer to use different shutter speeds, instead of exposure compensation.

Some shots during the 080806 SFF.....was at the Marina Sq Foodcourt.....still wrong side, cannot capture the fireworks with the CBD.....sad, again:( Think must really go to the BSB lah...Please comment.

#1 Fireworks1
210820267_8b2376daf7.jpg

#2 Fireworks2
210820266_021eeaa408.jpg

#3 HDR Nightscene while waiting
210811922_fa6e16785b.jpg

The HDR is not to obvious, but if long exposure, with our S3 15 sec, we cannot get details of the building very well (with CP on lah, for sky colour)....I have the 15sec exposure if you 1 2 view.:) So the HDR still has some effect for this night shoot....

Water Feature (HDR)

210833343_a08be23f2b.jpg

I took this at night, using four exposures.

lastboltnut said:
Some shots during the 080806 SFF.....was at the Marina Sq Foodcourt.....still wrong side, cannot capture the fireworks with the CBD.....sad, again:( Think must really go to the BSB lah...Please comment.

#1 Fireworks1
210820267_8b2376daf7.jpg

#2 Fireworks2
210820266_021eeaa408.jpg

#3 HDR Nightscene while waiting
210811922_fa6e16785b.jpg

The HDR is not to obvious, but if long exposure, with our S3 15 sec, we cannot get details of the building very well (with CP on lah, for sky colour)....I have the 15sec exposure if you 1 2 view.:) So the HDR still has some effect for this night shoot....

You really have to go early to BSB, else you will not be able to walk up.

Like the sky in your photo. Best time to shoot buildings like that is at dusk, while there is still light in the sky. Foreground seems a bit messy to me though.

Do you mind post the pic with the highest exposure time? Would like to see the diff....if you dun mind.:)

cerebrus said:
Water Feature (HDR)

210833343_a08be23f2b.jpg

I took this at night, using four exposures.

Yah, foreground, but I have no choice...if I crop away the esplanade side, then the city looks funny rite? Sigh

I was under the BSB at 2+pm yesterday....then went to marina sq and found the food court and waited there since before 5pm!!

cerebrus said:
You really have to go early to BSB, else you will not be able to walk up.

Like the sky in your photo. Best time to shoot buildings like that is at dusk, while there is still light in the sky. Foreground seems a bit messy to me though.

lastboltnut said:
Yah, foreground, but I have no choice...if I crop away the esplanade side, then the city looks funny rite? Sigh

I was under the BSB at 2+pm yesterday....then went to marina sq and found the food court and waited there since before 5pm!!
Maybe you can crop out the street below, keep the Esplanade?

lastboltnut said:
Do you mind post the pic with the highest exposure time? Would like to see the diff....if you dun mind.:)
My free flickr account is running out of space! I can email it to you if you want.

Ok, sounds good....I am really bad with composition...

cerebrus said:
Maybe you can crop out the street below, keep the Esplanade?

lastboltnut said:
Ok, sounds good....I am really bad with composition...
No worries, I am not that good either. :)

Hi guys,

The last part of my NTU series.....please do comment if you have any.

Thanx for viewing!

#01 - The Alpha (Begining) - Wow long way to go...
204902927_c298444793.jpg

#02 The Omega (Ending) - Lost, where to go now...
204904662_bd8f2da1fd.jpg

#03 The Mambo Jumbo in the Uni
204902937_4cd56e5378.jpg

lastboltnut said:
Hi guys,

Thanx for viewing!

204904662_bd8f2da1fd.jpg

I like the title for this one! :bsmilie:

lastboltnut said:
Hi guys,

Thanx for viewing!

204904662_bd8f2da1fd.jpg

All your pictures could have zoomed in a lot more, cos ur pics too zoom out then lost the emphasis on the subject.

However, #02 seems nice, it brings out the isolation and lost feeling of the graduates, and nice to include the road sign too. :thumbsup:
but still, i think somehow you could zoom in more if u shoot from another direction. ;)

lastboltnut said:
Yah, I use shutter speed too....if using exposure, then S3 can do the exposure braketing at +/- 2 seting...:)

Correct me if I'm wrong, I thought the S3 AEB (Auto Exposure Bracketting) Function will auto adjust the shutter speed for the 3 exposures. I just use that cause it automatically takes 3 shots, one after another. Very good if holding on hand or with cars / fast moving objects. Lazy Mode ma... :sweat:

The photomatix software can align the images (CS2 doesn't do that) before HDRing it... which makes it even easier for handheld HDRs.

Hi GeckoZ, would you mind help me to crop my pic and post it? So that I know what you mean...I really duno how to crop liao...I am not good at composition. Thanks

#2 was taken in my car when I was driving out of NTU...and a bus was behind me....pressurizing. The grads were actually at a cross junction (if you are familiar with NTU, you will know)... I would very much like to shoot them at the cross road (suits my title more), but I was in the car and they won't wait for me to park my car and change the angle...no choice loh....:(

GeckoZ said:
All your pictures could have zoomed in a lot more, cos ur pics too zoom out then lost the emphasis on the subject.

However, #02 seems nice, it brings out the isolation and lost feeling of the graduates, and nice to include the road sign too. :thumbsup:
but still, i think somehow you could zoom in more if u shoot from another direction. ;)

O, I am not sure about the AEB too, I tot it was self-adjusting the Exposure Compensation? No? May be must read the manual...

PSCS2 can do alignment too. Just tick the check-box below after selecting the files for the HDR.:)

garytay said:
Correct me if I'm wrong, I thought the S3 AEB (Auto Exposure Bracketting) Function will auto adjust the shutter speed for the 3 exposures. I just use that cause it automatically takes 3 shots, one after another. Very good if holding on hand or with cars / fast moving objects. Lazy Mode ma... :sweat:

The photomatix software can align the images (CS2 doesn't do that) before HDRing it... which makes it even easier for handheld HDRs.