S1/S2/S3 pics. thread

photographique said:
Not bad bro...consider the cam and its lens...great job!!!

Hope you get a DSLR and WA lens soon!

wah u look down on my S2! :bsmilie: (kidding)
Thanks bro, for your kind comments! :cool:

photographique said:
Not bad bro...consider the cam and its lens...great job!!!

Hope you get a DSLR and WA lens soon!

wah u look down on my S2! :bsmilie: (kidding)
Thanks bro, for your kind comments! :cool:

Static said:
Nice pics Bro !!! :thumbsup: :thumbsup: Much much better than the few i took The best i got is only video. :cry: Anyway, dun worry about the black card. I bought 2 at popular bookshop. Can give u 1 .

Bring EXTRA batteries

Bro! Thanks a lot man!! :cheers: I'm trying to best to search for more batteries!! :bsmilie:
anyway bro (and the rest of you here), there's a cosplay organised by MovieMania, anyone interested?

more details here: http://www.moviemania.com.sg/main.html

Tml i sms u again to settle where we meeting for the shots! =D

lastboltnut said:
Hi guys,

Can you please comment on the following pic? Thanks.

#1 Inside Out Of Art
209073135_96b15bab5a.jpg

#2 Romantic Art
209036797_14d98d6800.jpg

Also posted in the Land/Cityscape and Travel forum.

*Edited to add #1 & titles

not very nice to me leh.. but i prefer the 2nd pic a lot more! :)

cerebrus said:
I got a good shot of the moon while waiting for SFF to start. Will post fireworks once I PP them.

207839580_0130a5db73.jpg

Taken with my DCR -1540. 600mm...... so nice :bsmilie:

WAHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH .......... :bigeyes: :thumbsup:

Wat's a DCR - 1540 ? :sweat:

Yah, still learning how to shoot HDR...any tips from any1?

GeckoZ said:
not very nice to me leh.. but i prefer the 2nd pic a lot more! :)

lastboltnut said:

Maybe is becos photoshop HDR not as good as Photomix, dun blame urself too much. :sweat:

fotojoy said:
WAHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH .......... :bigeyes: :thumbsup:

Wat's a DCR - 1540 ? :sweat:
:embrass:

DCR 1540 is a tele converter from Raynox. Multiplies the focal length by 1.54X. So makes my 420mm into a 660mm. Basicly gives me more reach. This is the link to Raynox site.

lastboltnut said:
For HDR, this is what I do.

Set up tripod and frame the scene.
Meter the scene, so I know what my average exposure is.
Switch to manual mode, set the apature to the metered value. Set shutter to a value that is at least twice of the metered one.
Snap picture.
Set shutter to the metered value.
Snap picture.
Set shutter to half metred value.
Snap picture.
You get the idea... ;)

What you need to do is expose all the dark parts, with the bright parts being over and expose all the bright parts, with the dark parts being under. I normally use anything from three to five exposures.

No lah, I m not blaming myself lah, I know I am not a born genius, so I strive to work hard, learn and share, hoping to get master's advise mah.:bsmilie:

孔子曰:生而知之,学而知之,困而知之。 I am definitely not the 1st type, but hope to be the 2nd type if can....if no choice 3rd type loh.:D

GeckoZ said:
Maybe is becos photoshop HDR not as good as Photomix, dun blame urself too much. :sweat:

lastboltnut said:
孔子曰:生而知之,学而知之,困而知之。 I am definitely not the 1st type, but hope to be the 2nd type if can....if no choice 3rd type loh.:D
Eh, translation please.

Yah, I did that.....I had 5 exposure....but when I merge them, I dun use all, I try and see which combination is nice....but still, it looks like long exposure pic to me......you have any HDR to show sample?:)

cerebrus said:

Switch to manual mode, set the apature to the metered value. Set shutter to a value that is at least twice of the metered one.
Snap picture.
You get the idea... ;)

What you need to do is expose all the dark parts, with the bright parts being over and expose all the bright parts, with the dark parts being under. I normally use anything from three to five exposures.

孔子曰:生而知之,学而知之,困而知之。Confucian said: some people are born genius, they know things like they are born with it. Some are average learner, they need to be taught or learn from some where. And some are slower, they need to struggle with the topic before they can understand....

cerebrus said:
Eh, translation please.

lastboltnut said:
Yah, I did that.....I had 5 exposure....but when I merge them, I dun use all, I try and see which combination is nice....but still, it looks like long exposure pic to me......you have any HDR to show sample?:)
The moon shot was HDR, but you cannot really tell. Just realised that I have yet to post any normal HDR pictures.... Have some IR ones, but you cannot really see the effect there. Will go home and upload some, if I find any that I like.

That will be great...

cerebrus said:
The moon shot was HDR, but you cannot really tell. Just realised that I have yet to post any normal HDR pictures.... Have some IR ones, but you cannot really see the effect there. Will go home and upload some, if I find any that I like.

cerebrus said:

Snap picture.
You get the idea... ;)

Got ur idea
But how do u merge the 3 pics together. Sori i am a noob :sweat: :sweat:

Static said:
Got ur idea
But how do u merge the 3 pics together. Sori i am a noob :sweat: :sweat:
You need special software to do it. Photoshop CS II has a merge to HDR function. Or you can try standalone software like Photomatrix.

Step 1:
i) Using Canon S3IS Set Dial to Program
ii) Press FUNC and choose AEB -> SET -> Exposure -2 0 +2
iii) Use a FIRM TRIPOD and aim your target (still target best).

Snap Snap Snap

UnderExposed (-2)
HDB1.jpg

Normal (0)
HDB2.jpg

OverExposed (+2)
HDB3.jpg

Combine the photos

Either use Photomatix (http://www.hdrsoft.com) or photoshop CS 2 ( Only CS 2 has that function ) Depending on algorithm... U have to wait 5~30mins for it to process the image (took me 10mins PC)...

HDR Image
HDBsunset.jpg

This isn't really that nice of a image... just randomly shoting out of my flat (20th floor) and i got the ISO setting too high + Haze (cough).

From what i read from the internet... ISO of lesser then 200 is best. Also u can only change exposure level by changing the shutter speed. If you change ISO or Aperture, the Depth of Field or ISO noise will cause problems to the image... U can use 2 or more images, the more the merrier (provided it's still and on a tripod + exposure are at least 1 stop part).

Here's another HDR example http://www.flickr.com/photos/mrtang/209856107/ (5 images into 1 HDR image)

Shot this while waiting for SFF session 1

Merlion
210550070_639f5a3584.jpg