Ricoh GR Digital users fall in!

i went to the svc center to have my rubber grip sticked back properly. cos got one side start to peel off liao. my camera is under 3 yr warranty.

after the 1st repair the rubber grip seems a bit weird and ugly looking after sticking it back. looks as tough he cut off a bit of one side of the rubber grip.

requested to change for a new rubber grip and it cost $45 man.

i wished they could have told me earlier that they are gona cut something and i wouldn't have agreeded.

but then aiya...had enuff of these svc center nonsense. i jus wanted my camera to look gd....so jus paid for the new rubber grip.

Got my GRD back, cost 250 :( They said that putting the cam in the leather case too long may cause fungus, not sure,may be they just need something to blame.

fungus on the lens????? wa lau...sure or nt. tink they anyhow cook out this reason.

Yup, the problem is the lens, something wrong but sure not fungus, i know how fungus look like and can not be since i use it quite often ,if not put in dry box , how the hell got fungus. Anyway they charge me for the parts of replacing the lens so solve the problem although the explaination quite funny. When i ask him why the fungus in the middle, round shape and how can i get the fungus. He said that cause may be i use the leather case from Ricoh which somehow make the humid air stay inside the case and cause fungus even i put in dry box :( WTH never heard before. Anyway i just bought a lowepro Apex for it with the silica gel just in case :)
Camera hospital after checking tell me that sensor problem so ask me to change sensor for 150. I feel weird a bit. And i think he is not Ricoh service so what kind of sensor will he give me ? Is it from any other brand ,this i'm really not sure so stick with service center.

that sucks...

from wat i know, you can't easily get replacement sensors, even lcd screens.. its quite hard to get 'third' party sensors that's compatible also.. unless a similar ricoh model is using the same sensor and he just swaps them... but highly unlikely...

btw i always wondered can you ask to have those parts replaced given to you? since you're paying for new ones... technically i would think its possible as you paid for the new parts thus the old ones are still rightfully yours, not unless they say you trade in the old ones n they give you a discount... cause i always fear they inflate the prices, remove the whole bulk of things, then keep the working parts n use them in someone else's repair...

that sucks...

from wat i know, you can't easily get replacement sensors, even lcd screens.. its quite hard to get 'third' party sensors that's compatible also.. unless a similar ricoh model is using the same sensor and he just swaps them... but highly unlikely...

btw i always wondered can you ask to have those parts replaced given to you? since you're paying for new ones... technically i would think its possible as you paid for the new parts thus the old ones are still rightfully yours, not unless they say you trade in the old ones n they give you a discount... cause i always fear they inflate the prices, remove the whole bulk of things, then keep the working parts n use them in someone else's repair...

Well,didn't think of that ,never try before. Usually service center see where not work well and just replace that parts. The spoil parts i think they send back to factory ? I think this is the third time the man at Camera hospital quote me funny price and funny things,i think i look too blur. :embrass:

seriously the most ridiculous reason i ever heard :thumbsd:

dont mind me saying..think the price u paid for the repair + the 2nd hand unit u got...can get u a new GRD liao :confused:

Well i also think of that. But i think the spoil in the lens was my bad in handling the cam , really. So it's not because the cam was second hand, just unlucky. Anyway no point if i regret now , made the choice,do it and dont look back then.

:thumbsup: most likely. haha sounds like an interesting cammie for leisure shooting.

hey Cheese...heh..yup...its definitely very useful cammy...go get it lah...u won't regret one...

:thumbsup: slowly... hahaha

do they sell it in one full package? with the 21mm la.. the viewfinder la.. ;p

dun wait...just buy! i would have bought this if i don't need any video mode.

hmm...video mode this cammy also have mah...jus that the resolution not that great...heh...but that said...i took quite a bit of AVIs with this baby during my recent honeymoon trip...not the best quality I must admit...but definitely usable if just for memories...heh...

didnt mean it that way. i know it has video mode but its quality is almost like the one on my handfone and I need to catch my toddler in action sometimes :) diff cams for diff needs. ;)

Can any bros (or sis) advise on where to get this baby Brand New with all the other goodies (VF + 21mm WA converter) as a package for the best price?

TIA!!

If anyone letting go, pls PM me. I'm very comfortable with 2nd hand stuff. Of course, 2nd hand pricing as well! ;)