Questions for wedding/event photographers (pro, freelance, partime, watever)

That makes two of us, who wants to teach us please PM us :embrass:

1. Scanner
2. ESPN
3. Dawgbyte

That makes two of us, who wants to teach us please PM us :embrass:

make it 3, include me .

joho sorry for OT

xxxger said:
Unlike alot " pian jia " photographer out there .... they took with DSLR, raw files somemore, and take 1 see 1 delete 1 (we call them TSD) ... then go back crop here crop there. Or worst, took 1500 photo and choose 300, ......
I use DSLR, for holiday shoots, my rejection rate is like a maximum of 20 out of 100. If I'm shooting for friends, D&D or wad, my rejection rate is 10 out of 50.

All JPEG. My G3 500MHz Mac dun have the speed and power to process RAW fast enuff so dat I can goto bed early. :( In fact for JPEG oso got problem these dayz.

Pian jiak or not? :embrass:

I must admit I'm a total pian jiak..

On birthdays and BBQs I'll volunteer my services and I get to eat for free.. and I deliever results on a web photo server in 600 X 400 after few weeks and ask everyone to view online or download if they like. Fully water marked with my name some more :embrass:

Errz said:
make it 3, include me .

joho sorry for OT
Wow.. we kena suan. Errz de PRO just suaned us all :cry:

Wah... Errz de PRO please don't suan us leh. :cry:
So when you are free to teach me, the pro/right way to shoot wedding assignment? :embrass:

I think delivery time is very important. With todays workflow for digital photography, anything more then 1 working week is highly unacceptable, unless the couple says.. I will be away for 3 weeks on honeymoon, or for some reason you are critically ill.

And even if the couple says 3-4 weeks later, it doesn't mean that you have to wait until the week before to begin processing, you should have it done ASAP and out of your queue ASAP, so that you free yourself to take on more assignments.

Procrastination is your greatest enemy. Your work starts piling up and you will never be able to finish it.

delivery time : 4-5 days for digital.

If wedding is shot on Saturday, I will deliver by Thursday
If wedding is shot on Sunday, I will deliver by Friday

Delivery includes 250-450prints and enlargments, and upto 4-5 montages,
Customised CD covers & Album covers.

frequency of weddings/roms/events per month : 6-8

I post process all shots taken by my PA's and myself. In total I can get up to 1200-1400 images per full day wedding.

When I am overwhelmed.. I may sub-out some of the post processing to several trust people. That are able to produce the similar look and presentation I would myself. I have to take it from my cost to have this done, but I would prefer to deliver on time.

There are many occassions where I have had happy customers that were happy coz, their relatives could take copies of the images/photos back with them when they head back overseas, they usually stay the week.

When shooting on film, I deliver the initial 250-450 prints by 3 days. But for montages and digital image CD's, I take a little longer add 2-3 days, coz scanning the images in and so on takes a tad more time. I generally do not like the scanning quality of the images provided by most photolabs. I send my negatives to a scanning media company. So that takes a little more time.

This is my take..

scanner said:
Wah... Errz de PRO please don't suan us leh. :cry:
So when you are free to teach me, the pro/right way to shoot wedding assignment? :embrass:
You already call him PRO liao, PRO where will teach us how to shoot :( We will never be a wedding photographer.

gadrian said:
I think delivery time is very important. With todays workflow for digital photography, anything more then 1 working week is highly unacceptable, unless the couple says.. I will be away for 3 weeks on honeymoon, or for some reason you are critically ill.
delivery time : 4-5 days for digital.

If wedding is shot on Saturday, I will deliver by Thursday
If wedding is shot on Sunday, I will deliver by Friday
cost to have this done, but I would prefer to deliver on time.
QUOTE]

Do not agree with you. Your pace may be considered a rush job to me.
Vice versa you may think i am a slow coach...

what i mean is that, it is subjective. 2 Weeks is a decent timeline to follow, and nothing wrong if add time is needed.

zekai said:
Do not agree with you. Your pace may be considered a rush job to me.
Vice versa you may think i am a slow coach...

what i mean is that, it is subjective. 2 Weeks is a decent timeline to follow, and nothing wrong if add time is needed.

It's not only subjective. It also depends on your style of shooting and supporting equipments, processes and how much lag time you have between assignments.... thie will determine your's fastest delivery time. Basically try not to take on too much assignements such that you can't deliver as fast.

As for benchmark, I dun think there's any industry standard as already shown in the above posts. However, it's best to settle with respective couple in advance mabbe as a clause in the contract.

You already call him PRO liao, PRO where will teach us how to shoot :( We will never be a wedding photographer.

dont OT leh.. ;p

Pls include me... Any gurus??
1. Scanner
2. ESPN
3. Dawgbyte
4. LolliPoP

Turn-over time = 4-5 days, 500+ images, 300 prints, 6 days if couple wants a 25 x 8R feature album.
Average of 2-3 weddings a month, 4-6 during December.

Why need to rush? Important coz other relatives are going to send photos they've taken on that day itself to the couple. Also, most couples are more enthusiastic in additional prints, enlargements, albums when the event is still fresh. I learnt this from an old school pro.

I try to get shots to be as closed to what I want it to appear on print during the shoot. That means proper WB, proper exposure, almost no cropping for 99% of the photos. I don't normally shoot with flash, unless its group shot or table to table, so WB adjustment is minimal with grey card or expodisc.

Getting a good workflow is important, esp raw workflow if you want to get things going ;)

LolliPoP said:
Pls include me... Any gurus??
1. Scanner
2. ESPN
3. Dawgbyte
4. LolliPoP

Have, find Errz, the one and only PRO and GURU around CS. :thumbsup:

canturn said:
Turn-over time = 4-5 days, 500+ images, 300 prints, 6 days if couple wants a 25 x 8R feature album.
Average of 2-3 weddings a month, 4-6 during December.

Why need to rush? Important coz other relatives are going to send photos they've taken on that day itself to the couple. Also, most couples are more enthusiastic in additional prints, enlargements, albums when the event is still fresh. I learnt this from an old school pro.

I try to get shots to be as closed to what I want it to appear on print during the shoot. That means proper WB, proper exposure, almost no cropping for 99% of the photos. I don't normally shoot with flash, unless its group shot or table to table, so WB adjustment is minimal with grey card or expodisc.

Getting a good workflow is important, esp raw workflow if you want to get things going ;)

Well, I think your standard is pretty high. Your comments are v. sound too. Somehow, different people shoot differently. It is not easy to reach 99 percent crop free pics using primes. Some slight cropping is necessary for 50 percent of my pics. But I try to hold the sharpness, distortion, colour and exposure under control so that serious photoshopping is down to zero or bare minimal. Cropping is fun and easy to me. Adjusting the colours and noise is not fun to me. So I avoid zooms.

Flashless is another difference. Some fill flash added usually make my shots nicer. Shadows can be controlled with flash and cannot be controlled when there are external bright lights. So I tend to flash - with bounce if possible.

The 25 x 8 R album is my priority to pass to the client. 4
R pics have less oo-lah-lah reaction ( and slightly less follow up profit unless those larger orders). So this is out first in 2 days together with a small album of top shots. Once the couple have received these, their need is temporary well satisfied. The other 200 odd pics can wait for a few more days or a week.

Just my survival techniques.

lotsa wonderful insights here :) hey... can i join the whole learning group too? hehe add me!

tOGGY said:
Well, I think your standard is pretty high. Your comments are v. sound too. Somehow, different people shoot differently. It is not easy to reach 99 percent crop free pics using primes. Some slight cropping is necessary for 50 percent of my pics. But I try to hold the sharpness, distortion, colour and exposure under control so that serious photoshopping is down to zero or bare minimal. Cropping is fun and easy to me. Adjusting the colours and noise is not fun to me. So I avoid zooms.

Flashless is another difference. Some fill flash added usually make my shots nicer. Shadows can be controlled with flash and cannot be controlled when there are external bright lights. So I tend to flash - with bounce if possible.

The 25 x 8 R album is my priority to pass to the client. 4
R pics have less oo-lah-lah reaction ( and slightly less follow up profit unless those larger orders). So this is out first in 2 days together with a small album of top shots. Once the couple have received these, their need is temporary well satisfied. The other 200 odd pics can wait for a few more days or a week.

Just my survival techniques.

I use zooms 90% of the time for events, cropping is done on the spot as far as possible. Only prime I used for weddings is a 85 1.2, that's all.

To shoot with or without flash is really a matter of shooting style. I bump ISO up to 1250 and still be able to print 10x15 with no noise issue, really. Of course there are times fill flash is necessary, but not most of the time.

I try to settle everything fast coz I want to get the balance payment asap. It's never a good thing to hold the photos/ payment for too long, that's just the way I see it.

canturn said:
To shoot with or without flash is really a matter of shooting style. I bump ISO up to 1250 and still be able to print 10x15 with no noise issue, really. Of course there are times fill flash is necessary, but not most of the time.

I tried ISO800 and I got bad noise from 6R up to 12R. The browns and blacks looks blotchy with purple. Any tricks to avoid the noise or just got lucky? Does camera, lighting, apperture matter? This event was mostly tungsten (candle & spotlight).

I guess camera DOES really matter. ISO 1600 on fuji doesnt show much noise at all... sooooooo... camera does count imo :P

ParkertR said:
I guess camera DOES really matter. ISO 1600 on fuji doesnt show much noise at all... sooooooo... camera does count imo :P

I'm using D70 and SB800 (flash count?) and 18-70kit (lens count?) at ISO800. I was told by multiple sources D70 is good at higher ISO but I guess the users are the ones who have higher tolerance.

Hmm... Yeah.. I like Fuji. My first 3 prosumers are Fuji and I got no complaint on the last 2.