Professional wedding photographer needed

Originally posted by e_liau
If most of the photos try out so-so or worst bad, do you want to keep the photos/negatives? If your friends are willing to foot the expenses, it's fine then. If you need to pay the film etc, then how?

Well, for standard, this is variable. You see, various photographers can be good and bad. One might have been shooting for years, but still with only normal standards, whereas there are new ones that may have the quick and right eye and the required skill to give exceptional results. There of course those that super and so on.

I am ok paying for the film as I am using their time and so-called labour and others such as their electricity for the rechargeable batteries, committment, transport, etc for them to be there. That was why i mentioned a few thousand. See...?

Keeping the negatives? This is all individual, this is what I will do if it happens:
As the organiser who have asked them (photographer friends) for the service as a favour, there should be some agreement. You can look at it as more of that like a commissioned job.

Agreement Example:

1. Organiser communicate with all concerned a few weeks before the event, have briefing, etc, like an actual event.

2. Visiting to the various venues may also be arranged for better planning.

3. There will be pairing/teaming up photographers for vaious programme segments at various locations by the Organiser.

4. Organiser to provide specified film, settle printing/scanning costs with various shooters at specified lab, allow shooters to print their selected shots for their own keeping and use for portfolio if required but with prior consent of all parties concerned so as to avoid an legal case.

5. Organiser will hold full rights and hold all negatives/images taken during the event as commissioned.

6. Should any of the photographer like to reprint any of their shots for a private collection, he/she may do so at their own cost. They need only to contact the Organiser.

7. Digital shooters need only provide the photos on a CD format in full resolution, with no resizing. They also to provide the RAW/first round of all images without any post processing/cropping as well.

9. Organiser will provide CDs as well.

10. Digital shooters are allowed to keep a copy of the photos taken and use for the private collection/portfolio if required but with prior consent of all parties concerned so as to avoid an legal case.

11. Should any of the images taken at the event be used for commercial work, the Organiser has to be consulted for further discussions.

12. All photographers, helpers and other concerned will be credited.

13. There should be a compensation package/treat after the event as normally during the event or any other event, photographers do get to break at all, except for maybe a cigarette.

etc.....this is only an EXAMPLE.

Originally posted by e_liau
If he remains a "stranger" to the couple 1hour down the event, do you call him a professional?

Very poor PR skills! Bad idea hiring/asking him/her. ;p

it's funny CKiang did not reply to this thread at all........ :D

Aiyah.. must as well hold the wedding at Raffles City.
It will be the same situation as last weekend anyway.
:rbounce:

Originally posted by NitroTech

I was waiting for him too!
:devil:
C'mon! Give it your best shot!!

Originally posted by mahler
Aiyah.. must as well hold the wedding at Raffles City.
It will be the same situation as last weekend anyway.
:rbounce:

Thinking of the Raffles Hotel, leh...kekeke....

Originally posted by Dagger

3. There will be pairing/teaming up photographers for vaious programme segments at various locations by the Organiser.

this is only an EXAMPLE.

Very poor PR skills! Bad idea hiring/asking him/her. ;p

let's hope these hobbyists would adhere to it. Sorry to say this cos no offence is intended but after reading about what happened at Taka, got a very bad impression cos it sounded like some were pretty selfish in their actions.

a paid photographer would have no choice but to adhere to your instructions given.

Originally posted by Dagger

Thinking of the Raffles Hotel, leh...kekeke....

well Raffles Hotel is very nice but was told that the ballroom is small (when I was researching for my wedding) - heh, then got to limit the no. of photographers one can have :p

Originally posted by lavenderlilz
well Raffles Hotel is very nice but was told that the ballroom is small (when I was researching for my wedding) - heh, then got to limit the no. of photographers one can have :p

Well, there is the East India Room, Courtyard, etc. My friend and I like place as it can give good photography opportunities. Well, it's still centuries away, who knows...

wah... din know such an *innocent* post sparked off a chain of photographer's POV and ethnic call...

:what:

hmm.. but it's interesting to read them... Simone, be sure to invite us when it's your turn yeah ^.^;p :thumbsup:

Originally posted by lavenderlilz
go for a garden dinner party at the Raffles Courtyard lah!!! so nice... :D

Originally posted by Larry

i too would have liked something like that but in-laws would definitely want chinese wedding dinner

nvm, you can have that when its your turn. But don't forget to invite me hor :p

Originally posted by ziploc

They need more then sunglasses if someone decided to use burst mode... :D :devil:

Do I need to bring a ladder then? Just in case being block by lumiquest... :(

Originally posted by togu

Do I need to bring a ladder then? Just in case being block by lumiquest... :(

Just bring a tripod to wack that bugger carrying
a 1D standing in front of you.
;p

Originally posted by SniperD
wah... din know such an *innocent* post sparked off a chain of photographer's POV and ethnic call...

:what:

hmm.. but it's interesting to read them... Simone, be sure to invite us when it's your turn yeah ^.^;p :thumbsup:

ok, will try to accommodate as many an possible when it comes and if it comes and if it is there...kekeke...

Originally posted by Larry
how about CS's next birthday bash?

Originally posted by NitroTech

Coz I wrote directly to the guy. :)

Very unfortunately, they've not shortlisted me. :cry:

hey i called the guy on the 3rd or 4th day, but they said they've shortlisted their guy for the job already...

*sad*

Can we go a little OT?
I just came back from my uncle's wedding dinner, and my uncle had hired a photographer (the bride's friend).

I realised that she wasn't too happy when I was shooting with my own gear. (I mean, it's quite obvious when you saw her face turn 'black' - and IMO, she was quite 'yaya' that she was carrying a EOS 5 compared to my 'measly' F80S)

She reacted as if I was trying to 'snatch' her rice bowl...

But the most funny thing happened during the dinner... :D

When the couple came down the aisle, I was kinda fumbling with my camera....
My dad couldn't stand it, and he just snatched the camera and covered the wedding together with the lady.... And wow, you could see that the person's face literally go BLACK, as my dad really went all out to cover the event (stand on chair, running around like mad blah blah.) For a moment, it seemed like there was some "fierce competition" between my dad and the photographer.

No one was blocking her view of taking shots, but it seemed that we kinda stole her 'exclusivity' as the official photographer.
But the main reason why we used our own camera was that she wasn't even covering the event for my uncle's side - she kept taking shots of the bride's side only.

God, she wasn't even happy when my aunt asked her to take a family portrait using her own P&S!

When I told my dad, he said that it was natural, as he said that some photographers charge by the quantity of shots as well.

So I would like to pose this question to the floor:
Would you all mind if someone else is covering the same event as you? (provided that he/she is not blocking your way).
What's your take on this?

SNAG

I won't mind as long as he/she:

1. doesn't get in my way ie don't block & give way if I want to get a certain spot.
2. interfere with how I shoot the wedding ie telling me which is a better angle etc.

Also I don't see why I got to shoot less (provided I don't anyhow shoot) just because the bride or bridegroom got family members who want to use their own cam to take shots. Unless I was otherwise instructed by the client. If not, I would simply proceed to shoot as normal.

Well, that photographer could just be feeling insecure.

My 2cts.

I'll tell the family to have a "No SLR, No long lens" rule for the banquet. :devil:

Seriously, I wouldn't mind someone else shooting as long as they don't get into my way, spoil my shots by suddenly coming into frame, etc.