Popular?

I just like sony! all products.. their design is cool ;)

i suppose.. if all cameras have built in stabilizer, den it would take away the fun of learning how to hold a camera.. anybody disagree?

You still need proper technique.. else you still end up with carp pics...

It just allows you to hand hold at long end...else gotta lug a monopod around. :sweat:

CYRN said:
Thanks to Del_CtrlnoAlt for clarifying.

Actually, I'm not refering to any brand in patrticular.

It's my personal camera spec that are currently in thr market..... what I'm trying to say is that while sony is giving us a good cam (heck, I'm even think they produce all those CCD inside ALL digicams). They are holding back on some features that I think would make a camera "whole".

To conclude... F828 is solid cam... but I feel that at 200mm on the tele, it should have some form of stabilisation. Also, the cam is unable to "multi-task"... it can be an ire if you shoot RAW.

CYRN,

I apologize for the misunderstanding.

BTW. I have no doubt the 939 or equal will have IS and the works. It'll probably have even more surprises in store. The only problem is, I would probably have moved on to a DSLR by then.

i suppose.. if all cameras have built in stabilizer, den it would take away the fun of learning how to hold a camera.. anybody disagree?

If you are the dinosaur type and insist on bracing on trees and longkang covers, instead of using technology. You can always turn the IS off what! Of course the fundamentals must be learnt. But again. How many of those who picked up photography with digicams can calculate exposure?

For me. The more technology, the better. Even less misses. After thinking you had some good shots, go home, open it up big, DAMN! Damn shots are blurry because of small shakes.

hehe... if gimme IS i won't complain lah....

if give me IS, i wan too :D
but this is nt my consideration when choosing a new cam.

i think digi cam is nt just a camera. it is more like an electronic product. so i would NOT spend > 2.5k to buy an electronic product. does anyone have experience of buying LD player? few year ago it costed abt >1k per piece. now VCD player, even DVD player is cheap cheap liao... :bsmilie: so how long can a digi cam last for? how long does the current technology would last? because of these considerations, i won spend too much ... may buy DSLR one day if cheap cheap. the lens must be cheap cheap and "portable" as well... :lovegrin: :lovegrin: but i won carry big giant out for sure ... :sweatsm:

One day, when you buy 3 dvd discs, the shop will give you a free dvd player. :sweatsm:

I am considering trading in my F828 for a D70. No big loss, the accessories I can sell of seperately. But the costs of good lenses are pretty sky high. Knowing how I spend money. I can easily chalk up 3x the price D70 kit in a two months period for stuff like lenses and accessories. Scarry. I think I'll just stick to my F828 for now.

bernards said:
One day, when you buy 3 dvd discs, the shop will give you a free dvd player. :sweatsm:

I am considering trading in my F828 for a D70. No big loss, the accessories I can sell of seperately. But the costs of good lenses are pretty sky high. Knowing how I spend money. I can easily chalk up 3x the price D70 kit in a two months period for stuff like lenses and accessories. Scarry. I think I'll just stick to my F828 for now.

u & me about the same, the cost of owning the F828 or main cam is cheap, but the accessories kill, i think most of my accessories total up cost more than 2x the price of the camera already...

no use for sony low end or middle end digicamera cos they are not the real or pro maker for camera. They only relying on the Carl Z lens. For sony lens, no thank you.

again, sony price is too expensive! their price is sometime more expensive than the real pro camera maker like Nikon , Olympus, Nikon ,................. :(

I did use Sony Digital camera before, really still a far way for them to think abt for their selling price. if the user or buyer just only buy for the design or the brand. think is ok but for quality wise, :nono:

of course, when talk abt their high end product like W1, F828 or .......nothing can be compared cos the lens have judged outcome instead the outlook. :p

I think it's not the camera brand or model. It's the confidence (or shall I say inferiority complex sometimes) of the photog. I have no problems shooting beside 1Ds or 1DM2. They shoot theirs, i shoot mine. The beef is when your clients see your pics. USM L, AF-S, Summicron, GT, Carl Zeiss T...no big deal, unless yours is a real high profile commercial shoot.

bernards said:
One day, when you buy 3 dvd discs, the shop will give you a free dvd player. :sweatsm: .

wah ! so good man ? :think:
how about i buy external flash and len, the shop gives me EOS body? ;p

Bernard bro, don trade off your f828 first. D70 and 300D are plastic toys instead of Magnesium Alloy. :sweatsm: :sweat:

bry'an said:
Bernard bro, don trade off your f828 first. D70 and 300D are plastic toys instead of Magnesium Alloy. :sweatsm: :sweat:

Plastic toys, F828 magnesium alloy? Think you better see what they are using out there earning money before passing such comments. There are even MFs which ain't titanium or whatever exotic materials.

I am a person who loves my tools/toys & brands. Comparing them and figuring out the technologies is fun. Seriously, the shallow, worn out photography cliches mean nothing to me. Certainly doesn't have any clever points with me.

The D70 is a very attractive piece of plastic leh. Consider it natural progression.

P&S camera ==> Prosumer Digicam ==> Entry Range DSLR ==> Mid Range DSLR ==> Progress further/Die of old age

Is take time for Sony to gain popularity in Photography market.
Maybe,by the time they introduce DSLR which is equipvant to D70 or 300D standard with night shot function, Carl Zesis technology.
Things may some how be different in the future.

With W1, Sony is now at war with the rest of the mainstream cams in terms of features. W1 is so cheap and yet has such competitive features that I would never have believed it would come from a Sony. All those old P-series are just good-looking on the outside but empty on the inside.

I would recommend W1 to my peers, but it's the costly Memory Stick that makes me think twice.

I bought the F828 becos I loved the F828 design and feel and on top of that, I had already paid expensively for a 256MB MS earlier on.

I have a friend who said he would not buy a Sony becos first MS is very expensive as compared to CF and the others. Secondly, he prefers the D70 because he currently owns a few Nikon D-mount lens already and hence he can reuse those.

Sony is big enough to buy over Nikon and Canon if they wanted to. And hey, maybe they've already done that (quietly) and that explains why they don't bother to make dSLRs under their own name.

Or maybe they're just waiting for the dSLRs to really mature, let Nikon/Canon/whoever fight it out until there's little left to R&D, then jump in and buy up the whole market like they did with Hollywood.

i find it strange that the biggest player in the camera market seems disinterested in the dSLR segment. i doubt Sony is really as nonchanlant as they make themselves out to be.

ST1100 said:
Sony is big enough to buy over Nikon and Canon if they wanted to. And hey, maybe they've already done that (quietly) and that explains why they don't bother to make dSLRs under their own name.

Or maybe they're just waiting for the dSLRs to really mature, let Nikon/Canon/whoever fight it out until there's little left to R&D, then jump in and buy up the whole market like they did with Hollywood.

i find it strange that the biggest player in the camera market seems disinterested in the dSLR segment. i doubt Sony is really as nonchanlant as they make themselves out to be.

1 top range dSLR can buy about 2 top range prosumer... 1 top range prosumer can buy about 2 better range P&S... but come to think of it, how many actually buy dSLR? i think they sell about mayb 20-50 prosumer, 50-100 P&S den they sell about 1 top range dSLR... comparing the price, production cost, etc.. i think its a more profitable market to actually fight for the P&S market. since there is more utility on mass production & lesser emphasize on R&D... ;) that said... they can use the R&D which they use on the dSLR which can be later outdated & therefore use on the prosumer or P&S... long term plans...

u & me about the same, the cost of owning the F828 or main cam is cheap, but the accessories kill, i think most of my accessories total up cost more than 2x the price of the camera already...

Agreed. I've already spent about 3K in total when I bought the 828 at 1.68K. Glad that there's not too many more to buy except for the teleconverter and the close up lens which I'm still reviewing.

snowspeeder said:
Agreed. I've already spent about 3K in total when I bought the 828 at 1.68K. Glad that there's not too many more to buy except for the teleconverter and the close up lens which I'm still reviewing.

Same with me here, have already spend 2.5K plus.
If I am using DSLR, the price would be much more.