Photo-sharing Sun Bursts

waisj

After speaking to some forum members over dinner just now, We've decided to contribute some of our sun burst shots.

Please feel free to chip in. All we want is a sun burst. it doesn't matter if the composition, colour or subject is wrong. Just a sun burst. :)

P1010034.jpg

This photo was taken at Banana Reef, F5.0 1/1000 Evidence of strobe power attenuation is extremely evident. Taken on a very bright sunny day at 5 meters.

The only problem was....... we were brought to the wrong part of the reef. Just rocks.

Let's start the ball rolling

hehe here's my little contribution :)

6624test.jpg

i think f8 1/2000

hmm no idea why the picture like very blurred... it was ok on my pc,.. when i upload then it looks different lor. :p

Ooo.... all the nightbirds are up...

Waisj, I LOVE your sunburst... i suppose when the reef is damn boring (eg when on wrong side of reef), you cld re-frame the shot with more sunburst and less foreground??? How about a tighter crop?

Lovells, great moment captured... the two other divers behind give the pix a sense of depth.... ;) :thumbsup:

662434.jpg

hmm not really consider as sun burst lah

too bad couldn't light up the turtle hehe

waisj said:
The only problem was....... we were brought to the wrong part of the reef. Just rocks.

Let's start the ball rolling

just rocks only can achieve this kinda effect.. no pray pray wor! :D

Jason, got try the filter?

hey waisj.. nice sunburst!!!! ya.. i go with kng abt tighter cropping.. to remove a bit on the bottom part..

hmm theres some fishes there lah.. not totally bare mah.. ;p

hmm lovells.. nice silhouette shot.. of divers.. but will prefer the main subject to be off center..

hey.. i like yr turtle shot!! :thumbsup:

nice background.. eye catching subject.. the whole picture gives me a very modern abstract painting.. i love the fins position of the turtle.. its resemble a UFO travelling across the sky. The back sunlight emphasized the underexposed turtle very well.. like this pic!! :D

ok ok i contribute some ... comments pls..

taken at clubsnap 7skies trip
IMG_2648_edited.sized.jpg

taken at tioman
IMG_4393.sized.jpg

Wow lovells, love the symmetry of your turtle shot! :thumbsup:

frog_fish.jpg

Thought this will be an interesting shot. Capturing sunburst & at the same time strobe filled foreground subject.

Shot data:
Nikonos V + 15mm, YS50 (Full power). f 5.6, 1/90.

hmm... lovells' turtle shot doesnt really work for me though. feels a bit over ps-ed, and the turtle doesnt have a very "strong" feel ... why? how come siaoon and eel like it but doesnt work on me... ? i quite like the jellyfish shot though. the green reminds me of hantu :bsmilie:

WhyZzzzzz said:
taken at tioman
IMG_4393.sized.jpg
:thumbsup: :thumbsup: :thumbsup: Fantastic!! Can try bumping up the contrast a bit in PS lah - that will make the sun rays stand out more!

Do you mind sharing the settings for this shot?

hmm nice jellyfish... will be perfect if theres tenacles or its more translucent...

u didnt fire yr strobe for this?

siaoon said:
hmm nice jellyfish... will be perfect if theres tenacles or its more translucent...

u didnt fire yr strobe for this?

no, my strobe's still gainfully employed.

kng said:
:thumbsup: :thumbsup: :thumbsup: Fantastic!! Can try bumping up the contrast a bit in PS lah - that will make the sun rays stand out more!

Do you mind sharing the settings for this shot?

thks, although yes i'm a bit lazy to PS that shot right now and the fact that other CSers would probably jump at that chance * looking at goondu *, i'll leave that as that for now.

EXIF Data
File size : 1518600 bytes
File date : 2004:10:12 12:01:45
Camera make : Canon
Camera model : Canon PowerShot G5
Date/Time : 2004:10:10 10:10:19
Resolution : 1944 x 2592
Flash used : Yes
Focal length : 7.2mm (35mm equivalent: 36mm)
CCD width : 7.18mm
Exposure time : 0.0063 s (1/160)
Aperture : f/8.0
Jpeg process : Baseline

Another one

Comments pls

Sifting_the_sun.jpg

Eric Leong said:
frog_fish.jpg

Thought this will be an interesting shot. Capturing sunburst & at the same time strobe filled foreground subject.

Shot data:
Nikonos V + 15mm, YS50 (Full power). f 5.6, 1/90.
utrre

Woah! This picture is surreal. Looks literally out of this world

WhyZzzzzz said:
thks, although yes i'm a bit lazy to PS that shot right now and the fact that other CSers would probably jump at that chance * looking at goondu *, i'll leave that as that for now.

huh, siao eh, i only extra sensitive to pygmy seahorse nia... :P