Photo biz?

CYRN

Now there's video biz....

How about photo biz... I'm sure there's plenty interested in penetrating the photography market.

Juz an idea.

Now there's video biz....

How about photo biz... I'm sure there's plenty interested in penetrating the photography market.

Juz an idea.
Thanks for this feedback.

What do others think? Is there a need to have a forum discussing the overall photography business and what we can do, as a community, to influence and shape it?

I think it's good. judging from how many threads about coming together and standing against cheap photography service. These thread normally start in kopitiam and usually degrades to kopitiam chatter.

If a photo-biz forum is created, it can actually show some aspiring newbies the proper standards to acheive and also a platform for full time photographers to come together instead of competing against each other.

no support? :think:

I juz tot it's better to educate than to bash those looking for cheap photogs...sorta like what kuang is doing in his blog. However, I dun think his blog would have significant influence to the general CS population.... there's a need for critical mass in order to have influence in the market. Without which, it's back to square one.

Dunno how to support leh...business is confidential one leh...

Understand about the confidentiality part.. but do note that entry barrier is nearly non-existant and photography is no longer that exclusive that the average person on the street can't pick up. So it will end up with plenty if photogs with decent photography skills but no business sense.

It a choice between keeping an increasing fragile ricebowl vs having problems even filling that ricebowl.

Anyway, not that I'm affected but juz giving a thought as I see photography being "exploited" here not only in the low asking price and "competitions". This might degenerate Sg's "talent" pool to only a few outstanding ones.... the rest are a dime a dozen.

why not you suggest what could be discussed? I just looked at video biz, nothing much leh...

Everything.

But most importantly. How does one takes the first step into commercial photography. Share experience in business startup....I see this as sorely lacking skill other than the common - shoot for free and start low technique.

Once the business "foundation" is sufficient, next would be marketing/sales and pricing.

Everything.

But most importantly. How does one takes the first step into commercial photography. Share experience in business startup....I see this as sorely lacking skill other than the common - shoot for free and start low technique.

Once the business "foundation" is sufficient, next would be marketing/sales and pricing.

Cheem....ah.....Anyway, I support you lah!:thumbsup:

I think its a great idea. Many things can be discussed from tips to professional ethnics to educating and creating greater awareness to the public....etc. It would be good to consolidate all the uesful topics into a common area for discussion and dissemination.

The thing is photography is easy to pick up but difficult to master... so the masters can charge a premium, while the rest is subjected to price competition, since it's a perfectly competitive market (economics sense), since there are many buyers and sellers in this market, and it's not difficult to compare prices and quality.

One thing to ask ourselves, are we willing to setup companies and be part of a bigger organisation, so that we can achieve economies of scale in terms of administrative and sales before and after sales support? Or do we prefer to be the lone-rangers we currently are, trying to outdo everyone else? As long as we are scattered, it's difficult to eliminate the problem.

Business talk and artist lingo is very different.

Btw, I'm only a newbie photographer, looking at this industry from an accountant's point of view.

btw, I'm willing to share my experience in business operations or accounting if anyone interested... you guys have been great sharing your experience in photography

Cheers !:D

Bump up to see responses. Any more supporters? or detractors?

just saw this thread.

It will be good.

i don't understand why do u guys have so much against newbies or photographers who charge a lower price than market?

If they do it willingly with full knowledge, then it isn't anyone's concern.

It's meant more for those whom really wants to try at photography business but do not have the proper knowledge/techniques in business perspective.

How about you start a thread and have discussion about this.

My take is, we need many, I mean many, dedicated and passionate practioners who feel enough for the industry to come together to pool resources and share experiences to make it work. But hey, some effort beats no effort. My vote is to have it.

WTD80.gif