Official Sony A7 or A7r discussion thread

Not say cannot but shooting the way I'm used to with Olympus IBIS, and without adopting strict technique, I need faster speed like wat Toth mentioned. I guess if i really wanted to, I could get into correct position and squeeze out a shot that may be sharp at slower speeds.

The omd em5 5 axis IS is really good. Used to own m4/3 system. Pity sony didn't use the 5 axis into the A7 due to heating and small body limitation.

Does anyone know if Canon Speedlight would trigger off with A7. No need TTL what have you. At least just able to trigger flash.

I think triggering will not be an issue , can use in manual mode. Haven test any flashes with the a7 yet heh.

A lot of it is dependent on technique. I remember way back in film days, in my school photographic society, we used to see who could shoot at slower shutter speeds and still have very sharp images.

It's a very expensive shooting contest for sharp images considering the cost of film and developing it then. My only film experience was a pns Ricoh that's fully automatic ! And I miss the old days of passing around negatives and photos with tagged numbers for the class to place their order for the pictures they want. Technology has rendered that process totally,obsolete

A7/A7R is poisonous, thats why i squeeze all my $$$ in the wallet, saving bank account, piggy bank to get this baby with no regret =) I remember when the 1st time i bought my 1st camera, i saw sony dslr and wondering when sony start selling dslr ?? Lol i was noob that time, same as now haha.

My dslr journey was inspired by the Nikon d80 my friend was using in my virgin trip to japan. Come back to sg and decided to get one, but bought the A350 and everyone was asking why I buy Sony, over the years fell into the buy buy buy syndrome, got a number of systems. When the first Olympus Pen 1 came out was very excited, but still has it limitations. Then Nex came out , bought the 5r. When they released nex7, I was hoping they would do a fullframe nex. Those were the period where people saying it's not possible for fullframe e mount, blah blah blah.

Then come the rx1 and kept my hopes for a fullframe mirror less alive again. So when A7/r was announced , that was it. The wait was over, start to sell off every other thing in the dry cabinet . As the Chinese saying goes, one mountain cannot keep two tigers T_T

My dslr journey was inspired by the Nikon d80 my friend was using in my virgin trip to japan. Come back to sg and decided to get one, but bought the A350 and everyone was asking why I buy Sony, over the years fell into the buy buy buy syndrome, got a number of systems. When the first Olympus Pen 1 came out was very excited, but still has it limitations. Then Nex came out , bought the 5r. When they released nex7, I was hoping they would do a fullframe nex. Those were the period where people saying it's not possible for fullframe e mount, blah blah blah.

Then come the rx1 and kept my hopes for a fullframe mirror less alive again. So when A7/r was announced , that was it. The wait was over, start to sell off every other thing in the dry cabinet . As the Chinese saying goes, one mountain cannot keep two tigers T_T

Can la as long as 一公一母 =p

Agree. Spread the love.

I find it hard leh. Always end up not using the others . Then I feel guilty, like having many wives but end up loving one. Might as well let them go to someone who will appreciate them more than me :p

hello ... need help with some A7 newbie questions:

a. The initial "zoom level" is zooming is little too much for me personally and always have to zoom out before inspecting the details. Is there any way to define the level of "initial zoom" ?

b. Notice that flexi-spot AF point will override face-detection. Is it possible to configure the other way around ?

Went thru camera menu a few times, can't seem to find anything on the above.

Appreciate any advice

Merry christmas :)

Don't think we can customize the degree of picture preview blow up . A bit unfortunate but I already got used to the magnify and zoom out using the dial scroll already :)

Flexi spot will override face detection however, the eye af still works which is a form of face detection . Try to shoot some one u should see the face af box appear and then press the center button on the scroll dial to activate eye af. The af should lock at the eye of the model face.

I find it hard leh. Always end up not using the others . Then I feel guilty, like having many wives but end up loving one. Might as well let them go to someone who will appreciate them more than me :p

True. B fair to them. Let them go.

Yes ! Just tried out your suggestion, it works. Thank u :)

Flexi spot will override face detection however, the eye af still works which is a form of face detection . Try to shoot some one u should see the face af box appear and then press the center button on the scroll dial to activate eye af. The af should lock at the eye of the model face.

Think to get some Rokkor lens to match my a7r to play around 1st, may i know does all md/mc lens use the same md nex adapter ?

http://m.dc.watch.impress.co.jp/docs/news/20131225_628951.html Japan launch 2470F4 Jan 24 , here SG 24 Feb ?? ¥132300-SGD1605(not included SonySG mark up price)

Jap price already 1.6, come here 1.9 Liao . Add 200 more can get the cz 24-70 f2.8 ....
Unless this f4 is as sharp as 35fe and has the creamy bokeh of its 2.8 brother , if not will give it a miss ...

the most order from bhp lor.. $1198 + about $48 shipping about S$1.6K.. now Jap price inflated becoz of their early stock availability.. Ebay already gt offer from Jap.. @1.7K

icic. Looks like I am too ignorant of the online prices =S

This $1.6k is RRP , some shop at japan selling around $1.4k