Official 5DMKII users thread

Hi to all Seniors, I'm new here. Upgraded to 5DMK2 about a year ago...Love it ever since...

u are more senior then me... i only bought 3 months ago :lovegrin:

i intend to get this 5Dmk2. should i get the kit 24-105 or just the body alone. don't like to carry a heavy lens at the moment. would a 17-40 be good lens to start with?

which shop should i go to? any recommendations?

24-105 is a good kits lens for walkabouts.

depending on your shooting style... if u dun use focal length further then 40mm, then 17-40 is suitable...

hey guys, 2nd day with my 5DII, and I absolutely love it! =)

i just got mine from another guy in a dramatic experience off B&S.. lol i won't go into details, its OT. anyway, loving the camera, the full-frame DOF is just fantastic.
however, RAW file sizes are just huge! they make my macbook slow ): haha

i just got mine from another guy in a dramatic experience off B&S.. lol i won't go into details, its OT. anyway, loving the camera, the full-frame DOF is just fantastic.
however, RAW file sizes are just huge! they make my macbook slow ): haha

really drama rama haha...

anyway there is 2 smaller raw size format that u can shoot too.

The price drop was a really a welcome surprise and I bought my treasured 5DMkII in May after many years on comtemplating.

Pairing it with 17-40 and 24-105 is great. I was told by a fellow 5DMk2 and good friend, that I should consider the Fish eye to maximise FF..Any thoughts to that?

Also, before the digital era, I loved the 50mm lens and I'm considering seriously to get one. Between 1.4 & 1.8, which will be a valued buy? Or is the lens passe? ;p

Just needed some opinions here.

Thanks!

The price drop was a really a welcome surprise and I bought my treasured 5DMkII in May after many years on comtemplating.

Pairing it with 17-40 and 24-105 is great. I was told by a fellow 5DMk2 and good friend, that I should consider the Fish eye to maximise FF..Any thoughts to that?

Also, before the digital era, I loved the 50mm lens and I'm considering seriously to get one. Between 1.4 & 1.8, which will be a valued buy? Or is the lens passe? ;p

Just needed some opinions here.

Thanks!

Not sure how you want to maximise FF using a fisheye lens but rather fisheye effect is maximised on a FF cam? Actually its subjective as some like and others don't like the fisheye effect.

In terms of price definitely 1.8, but it might be able to reach the full potential of 21mp camera (dun quote me, what i read off the web) I wanted to keep my setup as "L" as possible so I went for the 35L instead of 50s. Thats jus me thou

i intend to get this 5Dmk2. should i get the kit 24-105 or just the body alone. don't like to carry a heavy lens at the moment. would a 17-40 be good lens to start with?

Unless you really want the built & colour of L lenses, I would recommend the Tamron 17-35.

You may loss 5mm but you get a F2.8 at 17mm. :)

here the original users thread, might want to continue the list...

http://www.clubsnap.com/forums/showthread.php?t=432816&page=17

Thanks!

Let's continue the tradition haha and see how the 5DMKII user list group have grown!

(1) Sprewell
(2) engrmariano (28 Nov 08)
(3) PictureFreak
(4) m3lv1nh0
(5) phoakm
(6) falconite (members have what priveledges?)
(7) flyer
(8) xavier_xw
(9) toshiaki
(10) terence19
(11) Redwingz
(12) heheapa
(13) OlymE1
(14) panzerpunk
(15) danielcheong1974
(16) ray_stinger
(17) AhSeng
(18) ptey
(19) kenkht
(20) Lambada
(21) digiluxe
(22) Jcho
(23) Hougangman (xmas+bday prez from wifey )
(24) Kensuke
(25) Makotomiki
(26) thedellis
(27) blaster
(28) Sin399
(29) frankchn (new here)
(30) ShahrulEsa
(31) lenenkie (1 post new member!)
(32) ricleo (finally got mine today 30 Dec 08)
(33) kipss (just got mine 2day ago 30Dec)
(34) vikhoa (got mine 20 Dec 08)
(35) icyflame (12 Jan 09)
(36) Engr
(37) NE clicks clicks
(38) chanhin
(39) malofsg (Got mine on 14 Dec 08)
(40) waiyean
(41) Xross.Fire (got mine on 17 Jan 09)
(42) MarkTan89 (20th Jan '09)
(43) Ahpan
(44) bennkhoo(02.02.09)
(45) izumo75(4 Feb 09)
(46) yehosaphat
(47) Jacky23 (4th Feb)
(48) Apogee89
(49) frank131 (01.03.09)
(50) KangS
(51) Maverickwong
(52) ivannoel80
(53) askpaul
(54) Wong9034
(55) josh2415
(56) mercuryaw
(57) superamd
(58) Portege
(59) oliprolli
(60) Paiman74 (Got mine 21 Mar 09)
(61) choppper (got mine in Dec 08)
(62) Lexx (20/03/09)
(63) Bashful Hunter
(64) Molicka Molko
(65) zaidridzuan (got mine on 17 Mar 09)
(66) Livewarez (got mine on 31 Mar 09)
(67) rgy1993
(68) medman
(69) henry soh
(70) chengpenguin
(71) Marlinip
(72)grip0123(got mine on 05 april 09)
(73) Alex Chong
(74) gavinz
(75) ooneo (03.03.09)
(76) Riizz(09.04.09)
(77) JenHuei (2009.04.11)
(78) xmaz3 (12.04.09)
(79) MarkNKL (12/04/09)
(80) Ben
(81) isaryan (upgrade from 20D...finally)
(82) lizter
(83) Chandler (upgraded from 40D on 16 Apr 09 - kena POISONED but worth every cent!)
(84) louisgce (22/04/09)
(85) Kalsumine (28.4.09)
(86) Yellowflower (24.4.09)
(87) Marios
(88) gryphon [HUAT ah!]
(89) sinned79

(1) Sprewell
(2) engrmariano (28 Nov 08)
(3) PictureFreak
(4) m3lv1nh0
(5) phoakm
(6) falconite (members have what priveledges?)
(7) flyer
(8) xavier_xw
(9) toshiaki
(10) terence19
(11) Redwingz
(12) heheapa
(13) OlymE1
(14) panzerpunk
(15) danielcheong1974
(16) ray_stinger
(17) AhSeng
(18) ptey
(19) kenkht
(20) Lambada
(21) digiluxe
(22) Jcho
(23) Hougangman (xmas+bday prez from wifey )
(24) Kensuke
(25) Makotomiki
(26) thedellis
(27) blaster
(28) Sin399
(29) frankchn (new here)
(30) ShahrulEsa
(31) lenenkie (1 post new member!)
(32) ricleo (finally got mine today 30 Dec 08)
(33) kipss (just got mine 2day ago 30Dec)
(34) vikhoa (got mine 20 Dec 08)
(35) icyflame (12 Jan 09)
(36) Engr
(37) NE clicks clicks
(38) chanhin
(39) malofsg (Got mine on 14 Dec 08)
(40) waiyean
(41) Xross.Fire (got mine on 17 Jan 09)
(42) MarkTan89 (20th Jan '09)
(43) Ahpan
(44) bennkhoo(02.02.09)
(45) izumo75(4 Feb 09)
(46) yehosaphat
(47) Jacky23 (4th Feb)
(48) Apogee89
(49) frank131 (01.03.09)
(50) KangS
(51) Maverickwong
(52) ivannoel80
(53) askpaul
(54) Wong9034
(55) josh2415
(56) mercuryaw
(57) superamd
(58) Portege
(59) oliprolli
(60) Paiman74 (Got mine 21 Mar 09)
(61) choppper (got mine in Dec 08)
(62) Lexx (20/03/09)
(63) Bashful Hunter
(64) Molicka Molko
(65) zaidridzuan (got mine on 17 Mar 09)
(66) Livewarez (got mine on 31 Mar 09)
(67) rgy1993
(68) medman
(69) henry soh
(70) chengpenguin
(71) Marlinip
(72)grip0123(got mine on 05 april 09)
(73) Alex Chong
(74) gavinz
(75) ooneo (03.03.09)
(76) Riizz(09.04.09)
(77) JenHuei (2009.04.11)
(78) xmaz3 (12.04.09)
(79) MarkNKL (12/04/09)
(80) Ben
(81) isaryan (upgrade from 20D...finally)
(82) lizter
(83) Chandler (upgraded from 40D on 16 Apr 09 - kena POISONED but worth every cent!)
(84) louisgce (22/04/09)
(85) Kalsumine (28.4.09)
(86) Yellowflower (24.4.09)
(87) Marios
(88) gryphon [HUAT ah!]
(89) sinned79
(90) mimik07

Will either get 5D mark II with 24-70mm f2.8 or 35mm f1.4 when back to Singapore end July ;)
Any good suggestion?
You might want to wait a bit - I suspect the 24-70L IS might launch this fall.