Official 5D User Thread

Jazzmint90 said:
Haha! Drill beat into my brain, 21.40 NETT, inclusive of GST!

Oh btw, how long will it take? Isit like a few hours? Or must wait for days?!

yeah, going down to CSC soon! First timer! Wanna make sure everything okay then go for my Europe trip!

:) thanks people! Helpful and kind souls floating around Clubsnap.

Shutter count checking is nearly immediate, shutter replacement around 3 working days, general cleaning around 1 hr and overhaul cleaning around 5 working days.

Haha nice! I was thinking whether to get the 24-70mm or the 24-105mm :) can't decide!

Erm, I actually just traded my 24-105 2 days ago for a 24-70 and topping up with funds from the sale of my 85 1.8mm. I prefer having the flexibility of the range and 2.8.

Well, i encourage you to get the 24-70 over the 24-105 lah..the f4 is quite limiting in some situations even though it has IS

Haha! Drill beat into my brain, 21.40 NETT, inclusive of GST!

Oh btw, how long will it take? Isit like a few hours? Or must wait for days?!

yeah, going down to CSC soon! First timer!

Checking shutter count can be done within 30mins and the mirror will take around 24hrs for the glue to fully dry. That's what i was told when i brought mine it for sensor cleaning, shutter check after i got it in BnS. Btw, pre-registration on the canon website does save some waiting time, as you get to cut queue lah...

Silas said:
Erm, I actually just traded my 24-105 2 days ago for a 24-70 and topping up with funds from the sale of my 85 1.8mm. I prefer having the flexibility of the range and 2.8.

Well, i encourage you to get the 24-70 over the 24-105 lah..the f4 is quite limiting in some situations even though it has IS

But some people rather make use of the IS of 24-105mm then to get 24-70mm f2.8.

Saying that we can use flash if needed with 24-105mm that some review I read.

Just curious? How many are holding second hand lens for your 5D?

I personally hold 20-35mm (discontinued already), 100mm f2.8 non IS with my 5D

bought it all from monster camera. Love them all! :D

Snoweagle said:
Shutter count checking is nearly immediate, shutter replacement around 3 working days, general cleaning around 1 hr and overhaul cleaning around 5 working days.

Wow! Super detailed. Thanks. Just what I needed. Initially I thought it could hundreds to get it service or what.

The servicing price that CSC website listed is scary! :X

Jazzmint90 said:
Wow! Super detailed. Thanks. Just what I needed. Initially I thought it could hundreds to get it service or what.

The servicing price that CSC website listed is scary! :X

It's always the servicing charges that's the killer. Last time when I sent my ex 10D for shutter replacement, the shutter unit is $50 and the servicing charge is $125!

The most amazing DSLR I ever used and sadly I sold it recently. The camera was in tip-top condition with shutter count at 10545. When I browse through this thread, it saddens me to think of my "Grand Old Lady". If you guys are fond of old manual lenses, this is the best there is to take you back to the good old days.

5D with OM 50f1.4

5315437080_2be54c4893_b.jpg

this is amazing...

But some people rather make use of the IS of 24-105mm then to get 24-70mm f2.8.

Saying that we can use flash if needed with 24-105mm that some review I read.

Yup that's true, just my preference of the range and the speed lor. Although got IS but sometimes when u nvr bring speedlite out then may be slightly restrictive. All that said...i still encourage you to go for the 24-70...heh heh...

Just to share a couple of pics.

Snoweagle, excellent photos that clearly show what the 5D can do in good hands. Let me guess, first one with your 70-200f4 and second must be with your 50L wide open.

Silas said:
Yup that's true, just my preference of the range and the speed lor. Although got IS but sometimes when u nvr bring speedlite out then may be slightly restrictive. All that said...i still encourage you to go for the 24-70...heh heh...

Haha thanks! Will consider! :))

What do you mean? Mean canon will change a new mirror for free?

Sorry man, new to 5D. I intend to send mine for shutter count check as I got mine second hand too.

I did a little research and found the following web page that explains the mirror reinforcement program:

http://www.slashgear.com/canon-5d-mirror-design-flaw-calls-for-immediate-repair-0332974/

It is not classified as a "recall" rather as a Service Notice". I've read elsewhere that ALL Canon EOS 5D classics will be affected by this phenomenon... it is just a matter of time! The worst case scenario is that the mirror assembly will fall off and could potentially scratch the rear lens element. So if you haven't got yours reinforced yet, it's time to do it. The best part, it's free!

raydio said:
I did a little research and found the following web page that explains the mirror reinforcement program:

http://www.slashgear.com/canon-5d-mirror-design-flaw-calls-for-immediate-repair-0332974/

It is not classified as a "recall" rather as a Service Notice". I've read elsewhere that ALL Canon EOS 5D classics will be affected by this phenomenon... it is just a matter of time! The worst case scenario is that the mirror assembly will fall off and could potentially scratch the rear lens element. So if you haven't got yours reinforced yet, it's time to do it. The best part, it's free!

Thumbs up!! :) FOC!

Hey Neech; I am assuming that your photo was taken atop the Marian Bay Sands. Were you allowed to use a tripod? Nice photo BTW.

Thanks. Yes it was taken at the MBS SkyPark. And no, tripod not allowed. Enforcement is swift so I say don't bother bringing one there. I did use a gorilla-pod knockoff to stabilize the body and lens. Most shots I took up there were 20 to 30 second exposures so there's no way to do it without some kind of support.

The seller got it fixed before he sold it to me. I got a great deal too, US$900. I find myself using the 5D far more than the much fancier 7D that I have. For wide angle shots, my lens (17-40) restricts me to using the 5D only. For portraits, I find the shallower DOF and the shorter effective FL of the 5D much better than the 7D. Now I am seriously considering selling my 7D and wait for the 5D3. Fully Full Frame!

That has been my experience also! Ever since I bought the 5D classic last September, I've been using it far more than my 7D!

I too have my eye on the 5D MkIII but I don't think I'll part with my 7D. Rather I will sell the 5D, which still has low mileage, to finance the MkIII. That way, I'll have the best of both worlds... full frame for landscapes and portraits, and crop frame for sports and wildlife.

That has been my experience also! Ever since I bought the 5D classic last September, I've been using it far more than my 7D!

I too have my eye on the 5D MkIII but I don't think I'll part with my 7D. Rather I will sell the 5D, which still has low mileage, to finance the MkIII. That way, I'll have the best of both worlds... full frame for landscapes and portraits, and crop frame for sports and wildlife.

Wow envy you guys can have more than 1 body....

For me, my "finance ministry" is already auditing me closely whenever I take out my gear to check on the number on the lens.....if she finds a different number on the lens, it will be another difficult day for me liao.....:bsmilie:

2nd body??? I think keeping the family is more important for me :sweat::)