Ode to the Officers of our Singapore Armed Forces

from SLE to woodlands ave 10 exit, got quite a no of personal from sembawang camp 1st transport and some divers lose their lives over that stretch of road while on their motorbikes.

i remembered during my time in ndu, got 1 diver regular passed away due to an accident on that stretch of road.
my batch did some part in contributing "white gold" for the poor guy.

drive slowly along that stretch especially when the road is wet.
Roger! I am quite a safe driver actually. This one is freak accident.

My reservist unit told us we no need go Thailand already.
Cos we already went during NSF, dunno how true is it.
But i kinda miss Sai Yok Camp. haha. :bsmilie:

I think most who went to Sai Yok during NSF will miss it. I'm glad I'm able to revisit Sai Yok again during my reservist tour, very nostalgic :D

But the toilet is still legendary, no change......although some blocks do have new toilets liao :sweat:

Anyway I have said my piece, and I would like to add that being awarded "platoon best" in BMT, I would like to think I have enough leadership capability and aptitude as a soldier, but chose not to.

Combat training and actual leading men is 2 different thing. Ever seen a Sword of Honour buang miserably in unit? :bsmilie:

Ever experienced Battalion-level fighting during overseas exercise and men taking ET stick wanting to hit you?
Tell me you were trained how to handle such situations in OCS.

Our officers are a JOKE... please! My 2 years in NS, There is only ONE officer that earn my respect and salute. The rest are all pathetic jokes, or OK at best

This entire line, Sir, is a joke.

Many times, men in unit would sit around stare into blank space while the officers can be seen running around handling matters.

At least not in my battalion. At my side, officers are seen staring into blank space, playing games, in the mess and in their room sleeping. It's the specialist and enlisted men that are doing the work.

Kudo to our specialist and men!

Not trying to flame our officers, but thats what I really feel. Peace out

for me ns dun start until ur reservist, thats where the fun begins...:bsmilie:

Our officers are a JOKE... please! My 2 years in NS, There is only ONE officer that earn my respect and salute. The rest are all pathetic jokes, or OK at best

This entire line, Sir, is a joke.

At least not in my battalion. At my side, officers are seen staring into blank space, playing games, in the mess and in their room sleeping. It's the specialist and enlisted men that are doing the work.

Kudo to our specialist and men!

Not trying to flame our officers, but thats what I really feel. Peace out

they are not as bad la... officers are ppl like us no difference, nothing to do sleep lor :bsmilie: anyway they do have lots of responsibility... clearing arms is no joke, i still remember my unit got missing firing pin... the officer was so stress out... dunno how many he sign although not his fault... there are many i know who will take the rap for whatever mistakes and protect the men... :thumbsup:

during my NSF days, many a time, i merely respected the rank, not the person who bears it. only a certain group of commanders got my respect, those who cared for the men when we were out on ops (such as buying snacks while we were on standby duties), and those who knew how to use their brains to think rather than to simply "follow the book".

treat others as how you want others to treat you. if you're a commander, treat your men well and they'll die for you. if you're a man, play your part well and your commanders will not purposely find fault with you.

quoting one of my PS, "army is fun, but it's those minority stuck up a**h***s who spoil the fun".

Yep, it is fun.

Thirteen years and I'm still loving it.

The "minority" is a PITA but after a while you either get through to them, or around them (and sometimes through them!).

As officers of SAF are getting much more younger, those born after 1985, I think the older batch of officers (those born in the 1970s) are much more experience and gungho. I remember those 80s army officer I saw in my NSF was just 2 years older than me, but majority of the men thought he was a 'nua' guy despite his rank. Much more of he older guys would tell me, that they would call him 'Sir' out of the respect of his bar, but his personality was very much in questions. Always threw 'smoke', scolded his soldier for nothing, often talk loudly but suddenly become humble in front of the CO. I was the only man he would not, and would not dare to speak loudly - you see, I was the CO's runner. And also due to the fact the CO's PA was ORDing, clearing leave, I took over as COPA as well. Much of the officer's matters I would handle for them, so in front of me, he also 'guai guai'.

Then our camp had most of the 1970s officers ORDed, then came in many 1980s officers, there was even a female infantry officer leading the men, same age as me that time. But mostly CMI during 'chiong sua'. Our S3 (probably the shortest officer I ever met in SAF) did comment on the performances of those new batch of officers were too relax becos of the peace we have and tend to treat exercises not seriously.

Maybe in times of war, we can see how seriously our younger batch of officers are. but in times of war, every citizens have a part to play, not just soldiers. In our recent ICT, one of the trainer revealed to us that in times of war, school boys (cant reveal which level) would have to take up arms to fight should our country be invaded - after frontline NSmen & NSF units remaining < than 30% fighting strength.

for me ns dun start until ur reservist, thats where the fun begins...:bsmilie:

My unit might ganna Taiwan or Cresendo if the new SAF NS Battalion Doctrine gets thru. Under this new doctrine, NS units of 8th year and above will have chance to go thru Taiwan or Cresendo. Bad news, my unit next year is the 9th year Battalion Range firing and then 10th year is Battalion live firing oversea. Always my NS unit ganna this kind of joke - the new doctrine if passed thru.

My unit every year have to go overseas lol.

My reservist unit told us we no need go Thailand already.
Cos we already went during NSF, dunno how true is it.
But i kinda miss Sai Yok Camp. haha. :bsmilie:
wah i miss Sai Yok camp too, the "manual flush" toilets, the open concept bathing facilities. and the bapok hawker Jenny at the canteen

After see this thread...i should congrat SAF.

Well done to SAF, to comissioned another young and naive officer. :vhappy::vhappy::vhappy:

throughout the course of my life, i am frequently amused by the people who think that bringing out their officer experience and putting it in essays, reflections, writeups.

fine, it isn't nothing. but when it appears in almost anything that you do, that shows how little you have in your life to keep holding on to that brief period. it is as if you have nothing else to hang on to, to be proud of!

I've had my fair share of crap officers and WOSPECs as well as the good ones, but the team that performs best is the team that draws no line between them.

respect should be given to the way one behaves, not because one has done something, or just because one has something on his shoulders.

you can send man a and man b through the same life experience; at the end, you can call man a educated (not in any "university degree" or "qualifications" sense).. and man b has failed utterly at learning anything. that is life.

wah i miss Sai Yok camp too, the "manual flush" toilets, the open concept bathing facilities. and the bapok hawker Jenny at the canteen

Haha, you also know of Jenny ah?
"She" treat my friend drink leh.
Last i heard "She" no longer there. :bsmilie:

throughout the course of my life, i am frequently amused by the people who think that bringing out their officer experience and putting it in essays, reflections, writeups.

fine, it isn't nothing. but when it appears in almost anything that you do, that shows how little you have in your life to keep holding on to that brief period. it is as if you have nothing else to hang on to, to be proud of!

Haa.. are there such people who keep mentioning about army life wherever they go? TS is still young and if he has been a typical normal good Singapore student all his life, this might be the "most happening" time of his life to talk about everyday...

But then, i do like to reminisce and talk about army life once in awhile with my friends... Simply because it is a different kind of experiences worth remembering... Like i think it's the only time in my life that i will go 10 days without food in the tropical forest of Brunei, fast march till groin abrasion, powder bath (and how the officers check that you powder bath, by making you cause an 'explosion' with your underwear), and so on...

9 out of 10 army tales are no different from the other, really.