'No Photography' Plz...

kana stop for taking photo in chinatown...in a tourist area...:cry:

DSC_7664.jpg

In all my travel all over, I have not encounter a place like Singapore in regard to this no photography BS. What bewilders me is, you see these signs in tourist areas.

What are they thinking?

it was a street stall selling CNY deco on a intersection on the right of this smith st.
that was not the only one i saw, i saw at least 4 in chinatown. should we do something to
stop them? photography should be FREE! :embrass:

DSC_7659.jpg

He said Chinatown. Actually for Chinatown, for those road side stalls, they really cant do much to stop you. However, what will probably happen is that they will use their bodies to block your way.

they may react in a hostile manner, harass one, intimate one, verbally or physically abuse one. there is so many things they can do... and not everything can be governed by law.

That's true, so use common sense as well. I'd say however that as part of a registered stall, it will make things easier to trace the culprit if and when police action is required. In any case, my opinion is that when people start acting hostile, cease interraction and take out the mobile phone to call the police. Once that is done and in the waiting period for the policeman to arrive, switch the mobile phone to video mode and start video recording for evidentiary purposes later.

if my hp got no video function how?? i used old phone :bsmilie::bsmilie: maybe if one is using D90 can capture video :bsmilie::bsmilie:

Then use the voice recording function and narrate the events as they unfold.

if my hp got no video function how?? i used old phone :bsmilie::bsmilie: maybe if one is using D90 can capture video :bsmilie::bsmilie:

i was approached by an ang moh for taking pics yesterday.
he asked why i was shooting his hse. :cry:

DSC_8192.jpg

just the other day I was told by two security guards at two different places to stop taking pictures of synagogues. I am helping this Jewish friend of mine back in Melbourne to take some pictures of synagogues here, since she probably will never leave Australia due to reasons that I shall not disclose.

I even told them that I was "adopted" by this Jewish lady and tasked to do such a thing for her as an adopted son, but still I was shoo-ed away. I wasn't too pleased, obviously, but figured I'll let it slide since I wasn't in the mood to tear them a new a-hole, and that I think it might have been more effective for me to write a letter into the respective organizations to ask for an explanation as to why this may be the case, even though the buildings I was documenting was on the National Monuments List as listed on some official Singaporean website (STB or National Heritage Board or something along those lines).

reason is simple..... the synagogues are high value targets for terrorists. Bomb one and it will be a victory against the "Zionist Infidels" by you know who.... Hence the tight security and not allowing you to take photos.... And honestly your story about being adopted etc... another can say the same thing..... so how to verify your story.... no offense but to guard it might just sound like some story

Just write in and maybe you will have better luck taking photos of it. Sad to say after 911, the whole world has gone paranoid and after Stomp, Singaporeans have gone camera trigger happy.

i'm fed up with these ppl again.
was taking photo on the street and this woman warned me to say if i took any pic
of her street stall which is a flea market, i need to pay her $5.

is there a case of extortion if i call the police? :think:

she was an illegal vendor anyway. i juz dont want
to sabo those other kind vendors becos of her.

i'm fed up with these ppl again.
was taking photo on the street and this woman warned me to say if i took any pic
of her street stall which is a flea market, i need to pay her $5.

is there a case of extortion if i call the police? :think:

she was an illegal vendor anyway. i juz dont want
to sabo those other kind vendors becos of her.

Just ignore her and walk away. No point getting frustrated over strangers.

i was approached by an ang moh for taking pics yesterday.
he asked why i was shooting his hse. :cry:

DSC_8192.jpg

This looks like Tiong Bahru old HDB flats.

You are standing on pavement and public area no? Should be ok what.

I think we should compile a list of photography law here so clubsnappers could print it out as a handy guidebook to show securities when encounted in a photography problem.:)

is this an extortion???

DSC_0709.jpg

Extortion I don't know, but I do know they certainly do not have any legal right to collect the S$5.

is this an extortion???

DSC_0709.jpg

today on ST. :embrass:

Why double standards on taking photos at Esplanade?

I WAS at the Esplanade last Friday evening to see the musical Cats. During the intermission, some members of the cast, dressed in cat costumes, came off stage and mingled with the audience, many of whom were children. Many cast members posed for photographs with them. This was not an isolated occurrence throughout the theatre area.
I thought this was a unique part of the overall experience.

However, when I was taking a photo of a few cast members with some of the audience, an usher came up to me and curtly told me not to take photos.

My surprised and automatic response was: 'Everyone else is doing it.' But she raised her voice and said: 'No flash.' I was bewildered and a little upset at her response.

I have a few questions:

- Is the Esplanade management practising double standards? Although a sign outside the theatre said 'no photography or video recording', certain members of the audience were allowed to do so, particularly those in more exclusive seating.

- Is that particular Esplanade usher, among others, inadequately trained? Why did she address patrons in such a rude manner without sufficient explanation?

- Is photography allowed during the intermission or after some performances?

- If it is allowed, why does the use of flash during the intermission matter? And again, why are some people allowed to do so but others prohibited?

I hope my experience at the Esplanade will not be marred in this fashion in future. There is little reason to spend a considerable sum to have an otherwise pleasant performance spoilt by such an incident.

Do Su Ern

I WAS at the Esplanade last Friday evening to see the musical Cats. During the intermission, some members of the cast, dressed in cat costumes, came off stage and mingled with the audience, many of whom were children. Many cast members posed for photographs with them. This was not an isolated occurrence throughout the theatre area.

However, when I was taking a photo of a few cast members with some of the audience, an usher came up to me and curtly told me not to take photos.

My surprised and automatic response was: 'Everyone else is doing it.' But she raised her voice and said: 'No flash.' I was bewildered and a little upset at her response.

I have a few questions:

- Is the Esplanade management practising double standards? Although a sign outside the theatre said 'no photography or video recording', certain members of the audience were allowed to do so, particularly those in more exclusive seating.

- Is that particular Esplanade usher, among others, inadequately trained? Why did she address patrons in such a rude manner without sufficient explanation?

- If it is allowed, why does the use of flash during the intermission matter? And again, why are some people allowed to do so but others prohibited?

I hope my experience at the Esplanade will not be marred in this fashion in future. There is little reason to spend a considerable sum to have an otherwise pleasant performance spoilt by such an incident.

Do Su Ern

dun complain here. do write to Esplanade management and ST. blow this waaaay up. and if i were u after the show i would have demanded to see the usher's boss.

If it was me, and there were many others taking, and if it is clear the cast is posing for photographs, I"ll have just continued and ignored the usher. I would have told her to get her manager to talk to me if it is not allowed because by the time that happens, the event will be over :)

I have a few questions:

Do Su Ern

Sounds very familiar to me. I found such discrimination rampant in Singapore. I am not saying this is an unique phenomena here, but, it happens in Singapore all the time.

Bad customer service and rude behavior seems to be the norm. Bad training or whatever, that is another discussion, however, from the receiving end, it is all the same.

A while back, I ran into 2 people shooting at Chijmes. One was an Asian and one European. They were shooting at different area in Chijmes. The Asian was told that photography is not permitted, and the European was left alone.

The European is a Singaporean resident, been in Singapore for 20 years, the Asian is an American on holiday.

Funny, isn't it.

Sounds very familiar to me. I found such discrimination rampant in Singapore. I am not saying this is an unique phenomena here, but, it happens in Singapore all the time.

Bad customer service and rude behavior seems to be the norm. Bad training or whatever, that is another discussion, however, from the receiving end, it is all the same.

A while back, I ran into 2 people shooting at Chijmes. One was an Asian and one European. They were shooting at different area in Chijmes. The Asian was told that photography is not permitted, and the European was left alone.

The European is a Singaporean resident, been in Singapore for 20 years, the Asian is an American on holiday.

Funny, isn't it.

apparently thanks to all the orgies photography is no longer allowed at chijimes :confused:

let me share my fair share of "no photography".

most of the time, i'm left untouched.
I'm not sure really is it because i'm female, and i dont look like a professional photographer perhaps.
even though i'm using a camera bigger than my face(ok lah, exaggerate a bit lah), but i'm seldom told no photography.

the only time was at rail mall.was doing a casual shoot cause a friend dropped by from Australia.we were not even shooting anything that shows the shops, we were at the side wall beside harry's bar, and was told by a b**** no photo taking.

i question why and she said it was a private property.i really wanted to contest that, but my friend dragged me off.i really feel like throwing my dslr and smashing her face because she was utterly rude.she was anticipating me to be aggressive i reckon, hence her initial reaction.

i've shot in many 5 star hotels, most of the time, i'm a guest there.
no probs at all, just that you cannot take out your giant reflectors or portable flash system like the broncolor or profotos or eliinchrom.other than that, a few point and fire shots, they dont even bother with me.

and guess what guys?you need official permission EVEN if you're shooting casually in botanic gardens.
my friend did a shoot there recently and he actually wrote in for permission.
same rules apply, other than your camera, everything else must be handheld.no light stands, no reflector stands.

i have to agree, singapore is really becoming super photography unfriendly.
nowadays, before i do a shoot, i tend to write in for official permission.even if there's a need to pay and if i can shoot in peace, i'll do it.