Nikon D700, time to switch camp

So does anyone know when the D700 be out in SG :dunno: Would like to test it.

I would so like to shoot at ISO 6400 ..... might be the decider for me to be a camp switcher .... you know, the incredible ability to take acceptably good pics in restaurants at night for printing in 4R ..... :lovegrin:

Don't restaurants have lights? :bsmilie:

I would so like to shoot at ISO 6400 ..... might be the decider for me to be a camp switcher .... you know, the incredible ability to take acceptably good pics in restaurants at night for printing in 4R ..... :lovegrin:

You could try the D3 - same difference.

I find 70-300 is good as well.

E-3 | 1/60 sec at f / 5.0 | ISO 800 at 202 mm | Noise filter OFF
P6014260.jpg

Financially handicapped people like us can make do with the 50-200mm as well. :)

97816365.jpg

1/125s f/3.5 at 200.0mm ISO 400

whenever I'm indoors either in the daytime or especially in the night, I'm reminded of the four thirds constraint ie. high noise levels. Of course this can be said of Nikon and Canon with thier non full frame sensors.

Now with the D700, I can finally go to ISO 3200 OR 6400 with acceptable noise levels.
Flash is not always an option indoors if you want candid shots, or if you're in a public place where the patrons don't like to be blinded by flashes, one or two they will tolerate, but not more. I'm drooling for a full frame sensor camera. The Canon full frame is out of my reach, but give the D700 a year for the price to subside, then it is time for indoor candid pics. I've lost so much opportunities.

I'll still use the Olympus for daytime outdoors, and when flash is acceptable, at least for now.

If Olympus doesn't come out with a full frame sensor soon, it's going to lose more ground to the market leaders.
I don't see that it conflicts with their four thirds strategy. Both Nikon and Canon has DX sensor and APS sensors as well as full frames.
Now that Nikon has the D700 and the Canon is coming out with a replacement for the 5D, is Olympus going to sit quietly by and watch C&N clean up the full frame market ? flashless low light shots will now be possible and opens up a new realm of opportunities. I don't need super sharp or super noise free images at ISO 3200 or above, just enough noise free for 4R pics is fine with me. Currently the Olympus at ISO 3200 is unusable at 4R size pics.

Yeah ...... other than finally seeing the food I eat at restaurants ...... now, what happens after lights out .... :bsmilie::bsmilie:

Yeah .... make me a camp switcher, babe :devil: !!!

I think that it is quite rude to take out a DSLR and shoot in restaurant other than special event like weddings or party. And for such special event... use a flash for correct white balance lah. Anyway for indoor lightings most DSLR dun get the white balance correct.

Indoor photography my favor is my Fuji F31 which my wife always bring along. It is small and dun distract other diners. Perfect for capturing candid shot as people dun notice the camera as compare with a DSLR.

If u just want 4R print for indoor shot without flash...do yourself a favor and take a look at the fuji thread for sample photos... a simple F50 is more than enough for such application liao. Need to waste a D700 for a 4R shoot mei? Take parang to kill ants??

my 2 cents opinion lor.

sam

Yeah ...... other than finally seeing the food I eat at restaurants ...... now, what happens after lights out .... :bsmilie::bsmilie:

Yeah .... make me a camp switcher, babe :devil: !!!

And for such special event... use a flash for correct white balance lah.

What I'd do is (assuming it is white) I'd one touch white balance off the table cloth or a wall.

.......Indoor photography my favor is my Fuji F31 which my wife always bring along. It is small and dun distract other diners. Perfect for capturing candid shot as people dun notice the camera as compare with a DSLR.

If u just want 4R print for indoor shot without flash...do yourself a favor and take a look at the fuji thread for sample photos... a simple F50 is more than enough for such application liao. Need to waste a D700 for a 4R shoot mei? Take parang to kill ants??....

No-la .... those Fuji F series camera too small ...... not impressive enuf .... take out a D700 EvERYONE sure impress-one :bsmilie:

Think of this .... take lift up Equinox ... order $200 meal ... take out rose, sip champagne ... THEN take out BIG weapon .... :bsmilie:

Somemore heavy enuf to hold the table cloth down for white bei-lan .... :bsmilie:

Palang kill ants? If got-ah, sure use samulai sword one-lei ....

Don't restaurants have lights? :bsmilie:

Where got blight enuf ..... we no talk of ah-beng hawker center-la ... go those lomantic-lomantic kendle light place-mah .... thats why ai-soh 6400 for 4-arrr plints .... :lovegrin:

I think that it is quite rude to take out a DSLR and shoot in restaurant other than special event like weddings or party.
Why? What's the difference between a dSLR and a p&s for the other guests? P&S is more hidden which makes it more rude IMO.

And for such special event... use a flash for correct white balance lah. Anyway for indoor lightings most DSLR dun get the white balance correct.
WB can be set manually or if you shoot raw can be corrected at home if you want to. Some people like the uncorrected redish tone one normally gets.

Indoor photography my favor is my Fuji F31 which my wife always bring along. It is small and dun distract other diners. Perfect for capturing candid shot as people dun notice the camera as compare with a DSLR.
That is rude. Hidden camera.

Why? What's the difference between a dSLR and a p&s for the other guests? P&S is more hidden which makes it more rude IMO.

WB can be set manually or if you shoot raw can be corrected at home if you want to. Some people like the uncorrected redish tone one normally gets.

That is rude. Hidden camera.

Peisei... I dun mean hidden camera taking other people... I mean candid shot shooting my own friend or family lah... sorry for my poor english :embrass:

sam

No-la .... those Fuji F series camera too small ...... not impressive enuf .... take out a D700 EvERYONE sure impress-one :bsmilie:

Think of this .... take lift up Equinox ... order $200 meal ... take out rose, sip champagne ... THEN take out BIG weapon .... :bsmilie:

Somemore heavy enuf to hold the table cloth down for white bei-lan .... :bsmilie:

Palang kill ants? If got-ah, sure use samulai sword one-lei ....

I agree with u also lay... most of my friend who is from N or C camp always told me that few million people buy N & C so they cannot be wrong, sounds to me like peer pressure lor.

If want to be difference should at least bring out D3 or nichi camera like M8 to catch attention mah... what is D700 in that kind of restaurant, ha ha... just joking. ;)

think samulai also not enough.. what u call that Kuan Kong big knife?? :bsmilie:

cheers,

sam

With all the points being made in this thread and the food for thought has made me decide to jump ship too...so this morning I bought myself a different camera...
An E-330!!!! Gotcha!

Actually I'll probably use my E-300 for those times I don't want to risk damage to the new one, especially with the tilt screen.

Is it just me, or are most full frame advocates just APS-C owners anyway?

I'm not too sure, but wouldn't the purchase of a full frame digital slr also require the ownership of compatible lenses? - the D3's FX to DX automatic size selection when one attaches a DX format lens cannot be justified to mean total compatibility of lenses.

I think smaller bodies and lenses are in line with more general traffic of miniaturisation in the wider technology sphere. One must also remember, full-frame is only a state of mind - one only needs to keep in mind Kodak's 50MP medium format sensor recently announced. 35mm is a compromise too.

With all the points being made in this thread and the food for thought has made me decide to jump ship too...so this morning I bought myself a different camera...
An E-330!!!! Gotcha!

Actually I'll probably use my E-300 for those times I don't want to risk damage to the new one, especially with the tilt screen.
Congratulations! Is that an upgrade, sidegrade or downgrade? I guess it is newer, I know it has features the E-300 does not have, but some regards the Kodak sensor to be the best. I have now an NMOS in the E-3 and I honestly don't miss the E-500/E-300 Kodak sensor.

35mm is a compromise too.
Of course it is just "A" format, not "THE" format. Some people regard the 35mm to be some kind of standard. Well, it is not more a standard than 6x6 or any other formats. Of course, the larger sensor has it's advantages, but the heavier and much more expensive cameras has also quite a few disadvantages.

Everything in life is a compromise.

.....Everything in life is a compromise.

If death means going to heaven or attainment of nirvana or whatever, then life is definitely a compromise :bwhat: