Nikon D70 verticle Grip

Maximum $$ you willing to pay for a D70 Verticle Grip

Gummi said:
That's glennyong. He is concerned about D70. :cool:

muhaha.. i am concerned about the $ which u can earn on the D70 users here lor !! aiyoh !!

its the $$ i see......... nw my eyes is twirlling~

obviousdude said:
aiyoh...

i tot that boy wants D2X? and F6 and.. and.. and...

hahaha....yah... i would like to have something to replace my f90x lo.. but i think i cannot afford F6 for now... yah.. D2x is my next move.. and wad ? andn and and ?? actually i am very excited on every Nikon's release on their lens and camera.... i am a super fan of Nikon.. and a very poor fan liao lor...

obviousdude said:

this one appeared very long liao lor... like no changes made.. their development very long also... lol...

obviousdude said:
someone posted here with the contents of an email reply he got when he asked nikon.

in the email, they supposedly said that they have no plans to release a grip for the D70.

haha.. this is because of the marketing differences being set out by Nikon. They wanted a difference between D100 and D70. so no plans to release a grip, however if there are initial plans for a V. grip, they will put it in the brochure, and they will show u the picture of the D70 and the grip. Therefore u guys can only rely on a third party grip if u really need the grip.

really hope that nikon or the third party would manufacture the vertical grip for D70.

the market is so big as there is so many D70 users..... lets just hope that they will get one done so soon

cheers

well i did contact nikon singapore . . .

answer i got was a direct no when i asked them abt vertical grip for D70 . ..

hope they will change their mind abt tis vertical grip n produce it

regards

andy9110 said:
really hope that nikon or the third party would manufacture the vertical grip for D70.

the market is so big as there is so many D70 users..... lets just hope that they will get one done so soon

cheers
there is already at least one third party vertical grip out. (at least it's being offered for sale on an overseas website.)

someone posted a thread with the link somewhere

D70 vertical grip out soon

Greetings,

The VG-D70 is in final production.

The designs are all complete, materials have been approved, and we have several vendors making various parts of the grip for us. They will trickle in slowly at first as everything gets ramped up, but we anticipate being able to start shipping on the week of Feb 14.... sorry it's taken so much time, it's been a long process!
In the meantime, there is a manual for the VG-D70 posted online at http://www.harbortronics.com/news.htm .

The price is $165, and we will accept orders for the VG-D70 immediately by check. We will ship in the order checks are received. We anticipate a large demand, so there may be a wait for some customers.

Shipping will be offered as follows:

Individual grips will be shipped via Priority mail within the US for $10. Additional grips in shipment add $5.

Global Express mail will be used to ship to Canada and overseas. Canada $20 and other countries range from $20 to $35 per grip. Additional grips in an order add $5. Please e-mail Deborah@Harbortronics.com for a shipping quote.

Please send check with shipping address to:

Harbortronics
P O Box 2663
Gig Harbor, WA 98335

Best Regards,

Deborah Roberts
www.Harbortronics.com
Post Office Box 2663
Gig Harbor, WA 98335
(253) 858-7769 voice
(253) 858-9517 fax

the 'Jenis' version looks a lot better than the much anticipated harbourtronics one...

i read tru the manual, found some of the expected quirks with it's use...

the grip uses a fibre optic cable on the outside of the cam running from the grip to the cam's IR sensor. this fibre optic cable looks flimsy to me and appears prone to falling off.

and of coz, the camera will turn the IR mode off when not in use for a certain time, so you'll have to set it to the max of 15mins. but that still means that you'll have to turn it back on again if 15 mis have passed..

and when using the grip's shutter release, it of course will not have the half press function...

I think there is a Third party Vertical grip with battery pack made. I have checked with Sam from John 3:16, it is made in China but they have no intention to bring it in as it might damage the camera. But i am sure if there is a substantial interest in the 3rd party VG and BP, can always go and check it out.

Which one is better? the harbourtronics or Jenis?

not sure about hte 'jenis' one... only thing is that it looks a lot better than the harbourtronics prototype

anyone wanna be wanna try?

jenis uses AA batteries..... lol......

kegler said:
jenis uses AA batteries..... lol......
ooooohh

AA batteries cannot make it sia.... 6 batteries can't last as long as just 1 one the EN-EL3, not to mention 2 of them

if use AA batt... still will have people buy one... its the same logic as s2pro mah.... oso. using 4x AAbatt plus 2 CR123s

Can't wait for someone to buy the habatronics one and do a review on the grip. Will dpreview do one?