Nikon 18-200mm VR

itsybitsyspidy said:
what's the market rate like? can all these lens be used on film SLRs as well?
the 17-35 can be use on a SLR as it has the aperture ring but not the 17-55 coz it do not have the aperture ring

alechim said:
the 17-35 can be use on a SLR as it has the aperture ring but not the 17-55 coz it do not have the aperture ring

so in short any lens with aperture ring can be used on SLRs?

itsybitsyspidy said:
so in short any lens with aperture ring can be used on SLRs?

A lens without an aperture ring? Sure or not? Then how can you adjust teh apperture?

thru the camera body. you seen Nikkor G lens yet?

TMC said:
thru the camera body. you seen Nikkor G lens yet?

Ohh... nope.. never seen them or even want to... thank goodness they now include apperture ring. :)

dawgbyte77 said:
Ohh... nope.. never seen them or even want to... thank goodness they now include apperture ring. :)
Huh? 18-200VR is a G type glass, no aperture ring.

dawgbyte77 said:
A lens without an aperture ring? Sure or not? Then how can you adjust teh apperture?
confirmed cum guarrantee cum chop!

ever notice how come pple dont change aperture on their lens? cos inside got CPU to sync with the body...

alechim said:

Not having an aperture ring doesn't mean it can't be used on a film SLR, eg. the 70-200 VR is a G type lens (without aperture ring) and can be fully used on most modern film SLRs without any issues.

G type lenses can't be used on older SLRs (eg manual ones) where there is no aperture control on the body - well, technically you can, but it'll only be at the lens' minimum f-stop which isn't very useful.

The 17-55 is a DX lens, which Nikon recommends to not mount on film SLRs. Again, you can mount it and it will still work, but you will get vignetting at certain focal lengths.

gooseberry said:
Not having an aperture ring doesn't mean it can't be used on a film SLR, eg. the 70-200 VR is a G type lens (without aperture ring) and can be fully used on most modern film SLRs without any issues.

G type lenses can't be used on older SLRs (eg manual ones) where there is no aperture control on the body - well, technically you can, but it'll only be at the lens' minimum f-stop which isn't very useful.

The 17-55 is a DX lens, which Nikon recommends to not mount on film SLRs. Again, you can mount it and it will still work, but you will get vignetting at certain focal lengths.

ok so you're saying G type lens and DX lens should not be used on film? other types can?

itsybitsyspidy said:
ok so you're saying G type lens and DX lens should not be used on film? other types can?
What he means is that G type lenses can be used on film, but can't be used on older/manual SLR bodies where there is no aperture control.

DX lenses can also be used on film, but will have vignetting at the wide end because the image circle is smaller. Whether should or should not, it's up to u :)

wiz23 said:
What he means is that G type lenses can be used on film, but can't be used on older/manual SLR bodies where there is no aperture control.

DX lenses can also be used on film, but will have vignetting at the wide end because the image circle is smaller. Whether should or should not, it's up to u :)
Pro explanation, I learn something today :thumbsup:

Wah, mai suan leh :sticktong

just look at the lens specifications. and your camera manual.

DX: only meant for DSLRs. some DX lenses (e.g. 17-55) may be used with limitations on film SLRs. but the 18-200 may not be one of those.

G: aperture must be controlled by the camera body. newer nikon film SLRs can use G lenses. check manual.

edit:

alamak, this site is just what you need...
http://www.nikonians.org/html/resources/nikon_articles/other/compatibility.html
basically the F90x, F801s, and older cameras have limited compatibility with G lenses. some others also cannot activate VR.

wooooo something new...
All I knew was the DX or G lens have to manual meter

alechim said:
wooooo something new...
All I knew was the DX or G lens have to manual meter
Huh?? :dunno: