Newbies Outing (Part 13) - 21 July Marina Bayfront Area Photos

haha. you are fast! Love your #1 ! Awesome!
Haha, thank you Eugene!

You did a wonderful job, capturing God's work..:thumbsup:
Beautiful! I am learning how to capture the ray effects...;)
Thanks Jacobs! This is my first time capturing these ray effects also haha

Wow.. Yesterday sunset was fantastic.. love #1 n 2 Adrian :lovegrin:
Thanks Bryan! Yeah the sunset was so orange, too bad you couldn't join us. Next time hor!

Fantastic capture Adrian!!
Thanks Alvin!

Haha. You were there early enough to capture the ray huh. I saw it from my office (ray the other direction). But not sure whether I managed to capture it or not. Good spot. You like very contrasty pics? (based on your processing of the three colour pics)
Yeah, was quite lucky with the timing :lovegrin: You mean contrast in brightness or in colors? If colors, I usually shoot in vivid setting from the camera coz I like more saturation in the colors ;p.

4815938836_fa014c1fd4_b.jpg

Nice one! Too bad the reflection is a bit chopped off.

EF#3 About the right time..

4816364659_28cff2bf72.jpg
I like #3 the most, although composition-wise it is a bit heavy on the left side. :)

Great outing! Thanks ding for organizing!

Here my takes. C&C greatly appreciated!

4817177488_8066523042_b.jpg

4816586553_66d54e1218_b.jpg

Submitting one more pic with the rays of light with B&W ;)

4816506687_2a7754a4de_z.jpg

Sorry if OT a bit, but for these rays kinds of pic, do you think B&W or color is nicer? :sweat:

Amazing pictures...

I need to go up there one of these days. So no one got bothered for using tripods?

seems like all the bro & sister got very nice shot... from the sky (group 1) and the earth (group 2)... ;)

now stuck in office will try to process mine and upload tonight

bro DD, if you going can I join u ;p

Amazing pictures...

I need to go up there one of these days. So no one got bothered for using tripods?

Haha, you should bro! Must at least go up once in my opinion. The scenery is awesome :)

There were 7 of us with tripod on top yesterday, all got through ;) Some carry tripod in tripod bags, some carry in camera bags, bro Ding even just brought his uncovered :lovegrin:

Sorry if OT a bit, but for these rays kinds of pic, do you think B&W or color is nicer? :sweat:

Sorry I did not compliment you specifically earlier... but I really really like your #1. :thumbsup:
Colours a WEE bit too saturated for my liking, but capturing the rays of light... special indeed.
You post this sort of shot, the newbies will be 'scared'... hahaha. How did they fare? All feel more confident now?

My opinion is that with B&W you're trying to capture a great range of tones from black to white, and all the greys in between. For example your #4 and #5, the B&W version brought out more details in the building under construction at the bottom left, near Clifford Pier area.

Anyway, I like this B&W version with the sunrays. To me, if the colour is great, I'd go for colour :)

seems like all the bro & sister got very nice shot... from the sky (group 1) and the earth (group 2)... ;)

now stuck in office will try to process mine and upload tonight

bro DD, if you going can I join u ;p

should have called this "Heaven & Earth" outing, though I don't know if there will be any copyright infringement with the naming :D

I also wanna go up soon! But looking at the construction on the Clifford Pier and Promontory area, I'd choose to wait another few months :)

should have called this "Heaven & Earth" outing, though I don't know if there will be any copyright infringement with the naming :D

I also wanna go up soon! But looking at the construction on the Clifford Pier and Promontory area, I'd choose to wait another few months :)

i dun think there be any copyright infringement, looking at the positive site they may engage us to do product shoot for them :p

Thanks for another great outing!

Anyway, here's my homework ;)
CnC are most welcome.

#1: Rays of light
4815288299_029f00e19b_z.jpg

nice catch adrian (to), too bad I wasn't able to join, because my wife asked my help to take a photo of Jaychow signature session... :(

This one! :thumbsup:
Okay, I thought the coloured photos were saturated because of contrast, but yeah, that's what I meant.

How come cannot name Heaven & Earth??! I also use that before leh... :sweat:

I never said CANNOT :angel: just unsure if there'll be any problems, especially if someone from their legal department finds out about it... :)
but anyway that's digressing... more photos please!

Grr.... still haven't do anything to upload my photos for Archi #7 outing...
Anyway, here are last evening shots.... only 2 decent shots.... Feel free to CnC.

Pano stitch
4816888212_425c1a31f7_b.jpg

You've got a nice & great panoramic shot! :thumbsup:

very cool pano... agreed! very nicely exposed too.... good choice to promote you to (master?) senior!!

I am so happy. So many new seniors. Some of us can shake leg and relax already. LOL.

awesome Pano CT!

Here r mine :-)

#1 - Bird's eye view from Skypark
4816185444_f2164b34c7_z.jpg

#2 - Sun setting
4815991492_cd5759c43a_z.jpg

#3 - When the sun goes down and the lights gets up
4815993248_154ba25304_z.jpg

#4 - When the sun goes down and the lights gets up
4815994220_b854e28111_z.jpg

#5 - Flyer + ECP (not enough cars, lol)
4815372469_3522ca5cf6_z.jpg

I am so happy. So many new seniors. Some of us can shake leg and relax already. LOL.

awesome Pano CT!

I think, based on the photos shown on this thread, that we gotta be more strict on the definition of "newbies", coz all the shots here are pretty darn good.

"newbie = just bought the camera last week" ? :bsmilie:

Grr.... still haven't do anything to upload my photos for Archi #7 outing...
Pano stitch
4816888212_425c1a31f7_b.jpg
Woops, missed your post CT. Very nicely exposed pano! The yellow light on the ground makes a good leading line
I also haven't submit my homework for Kit's outing last weekend haha :embrass:

banana #2
IMG_13692.jpg
Good attempt for #1, although it seems a bit soft (not too sharp) to me.
For me, #2 is underexposed. Most of the buildings are a bit too dark to see the details. Also, I assume in this picture that you are trying to make Fullerton as your main subject? If so, I would probably compose it such that it is placed about one third of the scene and zoom out a bit as to not cut off the maybank tower. :)

#5 - Flyer + ECP (not enough cars, lol)
4815372469_3522ca5cf6_z.jpg
Nice one, with more cars the trailing light would be nicer. If possible, I personally would prefer to compose it more to the right a bit so the flyer would be one third to the left and the ECP will form a bit of framing. But yeah, it's not easy to compose from the skypark due to the glass barriers and wires haha.