Needed to get this off my chest. About misleading sellers in BnS.

Actually what amazes me is that there are a couple of sellers, who seems to have a container of lenses kept in a warehouse for sale.

You can literally see them selling different items in B&S daily, and all are rated as 9 or 10 :bsmilie: They must be some tycoon who have a huge passion for this hobby, to have bought such a huge ammunition in the first place. Sometime say sell for friend somemore, which amazes me..........:bsmilie:

I think most of you knows who these sellers are in your heart....;) But I must say they do have some good offers at times, though I personally have not bought from them before. There is always this BIG ? in my mind about their listed items....

Anyway I think if not comfortable then don't buy lor, nobody can force us to buy anything, nor can anyone force us to sell anything below our lowest limit. Just move on lah TS :)

They are actually traders lah, i did try contacting 1-2 of them after seeing their ads and then ask them why they have so many items for sale and also ask them str8 up if they are traders. Both said yes and i decided not to buy from them due to this reason. Not trying to say that their stuff no good but it's just a personal preference based on the trader's inability to be sure of where his wares come from and how much these items have been trashed due to the many many items they have.

Yes I'll even seen posts by these traders who posted so often they got details confused...lol

Selling for frd, blah blah but 'Bought' date changed etc..and selling few copies of same lens..

Some will oso post fake Sell ads to guage buyers price level, so that they know at what price to buy in tht item for resale..

I keep all my boxes and plastic bags. I want to give the next owner the nice feeling of unboxing like as if it is new. But I did not know that I could get more money for it.

Another possible scenario why the seller said he lost the receipt:
He bought a brand new Nikon D700 at SGD2500 from Malaysia and 3-6 months later he wanted to sell it at SGD2750 with profit SGD250 in the BnS section. Is the price attractive? Yes, especially if the condition is still like new, because a brand new D700 selling in Singapore is around SGD3050. This is the arbitrage of price difference between Singapore and Malaysia(other countries too, like Thailand & HK).
He didn't want to say/show it is a Malaysia set and he is selling at profit. So he told the buyers he lost the receipt and warranty card.

He bought a brand new Nikon D700 at SGD2500 from Malaysia and 3-6 months later he wanted to sell it at SGD2750 with profit SGD250 in the BnS section. Is the price attractive? Yes, especially if the condition is still like new, because a brand new D700 selling in Singapore is around SGD3050. This is the arbitrage of price difference between Singapore and Malaysia(other countries too, like Thailand & HK).
He didn't want to say/show it is a Malaysia set and he is selling at profit. So he told the buyers he lost the receipt and warranty card.

Almost brand new camera without warranty - well, better beware and I wouldn't wanna to take the risk.

As for lenses, not much of an issue as lenses not that likely to breakdown unless you're darn suay. Well, it is common that folks buy their lenses in HK at a much lower price and sell it here. It seems that Sigma lenses are much cheaper there.

This is not a problem if the camera is in very good condition. Buyer still save SGD$400 and travelling time to Malaysia.

Yeah willing buyer willing seller. But I did hear stories about some buyers who don't wish the seller to earn a profit from selling 2nd hand gears, so they always make sure it is local set. There are many types of buyers and sellers in the market. The longer and the more you deal, you will find out more.

One more point to add. I hope all sellers would be more transparent with their price. If it is for bidding, please state "Bid from $XXX". It irks me to receive the question, "How much is your bid?" when the price does not indicate so. I encountered a recent seller of Nikon 17-35 whereupon my interests, told me the price is now $XXX and if I match that, it will be mine. Sometime ago, there was a sale for a (i think) F5 at a "can't say no" price only to find out that it is to bid up. Let's practise ethics and stop wasting others time.

I agree with you.

I encountered such a seller except the fact that there are no one else bidding against me. He tried to push up the price by pretending there is a second buyer. A few days after I call off the deal. He put up the same items on sales again.

There should be three type of pricing.

FIX
BNP
NEG

Separate them into three different threads.

This is nothing. I encounter one bxxtxxd, want to buy my camera. Ask me to go his office during lunch time. I skip lunch and travelled from east to NEX MALL. Wait for that Fxxker, SMS him no reply. After Half hour say he got urgent meeting until at night, cannot meet. Next day he arrange to meet at NEX MALL again, last minute say he at Parkway Parade, I say i go Parkway in 15 minutes, that Bxxtxxd say he is very busy. Feel like posting his name, telephone and email address all over the world.

Pentium said:
This is nothing. I encounter one bxxtxxd, want to buy my camera. Ask me to go his office during lunch time. I skip lunch and travelled from east to NEX MALL. Wait for that Fxxker, SMS him no reply. After Half hour say he got urgent meeting until at night, cannot meet. Next day he arrange to meet at NEX MALL again, last minute say he at Parkway Parade, I say i go Parkway in 15 minutes, that Bxxtxxd say he is very busy. Feel like posting his name, telephone and email address all over the world.

Boy, that's a drag. Although, you shouldn't have put so much effort to it. I say, if he wants it, come and get it. If you want something from the mall, you can't expect the mall to come to you, right?

Still, he's a first-class [insert not-so-nice adjective here].

Wow you actually went to such extend? I would generally not meet at buyer's suggested location unless it is not too inconvenient for me. Sincere buyer would come to you. I have sold my cam strap to a young man who lived in the west who said it was too inconvenient to go all the way to the east to deal. When I replied, "It's sad to forgo something you want becos of distance", he turned up and we complete the deal.

I was nice to him and gave him the benefit of doubt. Didnt know this Bxxtxxd played punk. I check his nickname from clubsnap and other unrelated forums, found out that he is not the first time doing this kind of pattern. Other forum people also complained that he is a frequent aeroplane flyer and a coward. Other Forum people cursing him like mad......all kind of hokkien vulgar words. i should have check his nickname first.

I salute you for being so trusting others despite once bitten twice shy.