My First IR

BlueShell

yeah~ finally i managed to lay my hand on IR shooting. seem to be addicted to it now.. heehee.

Here's some shots I have took today. Many thanks to ark19 as i have used his IR action to touch up the photos.

Btw, how did u guys shoot with the R72 on? cannot see anything at all. All the shoots gotta be try-an-error.

Please drop me your comments as I am very new to DSLR and IR photography. Need alot of guidance from you seniors in the future.

DSC_0590.jpg

DSC_0558.jpg

DSC_0525.jpg

Most of the times I believe compose first then add the IR filter. IMHO, IR best with WA, zooms don't give the oomph effect to me, honestly speaking.

You have to see some of the experienced guys here with their Fisheye captures, :thumbsup:

../azul123

Welcome to IR.

First tip would be to reduce your image sizes - it'll take ages to load up all the images.

BlueShell said:
Btw, how did u guys shoot with the R72 on? cannot see anything at all. All the shoots gotta be try-an-error.

Usually we would compose and focus before putting on the R72.

Hi Blueshell, very good for a first try on IR :D

Next time pls type #1, #2... on the sentence before each pic ;) (lazy to count, easier for everyone to comment)
Which DC are you using?

Cannot see thru the viewfinder? There are basically 3 shooting styles:
1. The Teerex Style- Hold R72 with index finger and thumb of left hand (position away from lens first), frame your shot, position R72 over lens (without screwing it on) and fire away.

2. Normal Style- Frame your shot, screw on R72 and fire away.

3. Blind Style- Screw on R72 permanently, using spirit level as a horizon guide, aim roughly at subject's direction. Shoot and preview. Adjust azimuth and elevation and shoot.

Btw, I like the expressway shot :thumbsup:
Some shots are blurry, do try and use tripod and remote cable/remote control or timer. These would help with reducing the camera shakes.

Free tomorrow? Join us for a shoot:
http://forums.clubsnap.org/showthread.php?t=150862&page=5

azul123 ::
seen those before.. really veri nice.. but the price for fisheye is veri "nice" too... heehee
now no $$ left after getting this new baby.

gooseberry ::
pai sei pai sei.. will reduce in the future. ;p

ark19 ::
Have edited all the posts. thanks. :)

I dun have a good tripod at the moment, so can only use "hand-stablising". hopefully can get one soon. :think:

Thanks for the invitation. Have always been wanting to join you guys for outing, but unfortunately, i gotta work in the weekend, hence can only give it a miss. :cry: :cry:

BlueShell said:
I dun have a good tripod at the moment, so can only use "hand-stablising". hopefully can get one soon. :think:

Thanks for the invitation. Have always been wanting to join you guys for outing, but unfortunately, i gotta work in the weekend, hence can only give it a miss. :cry: :cry:

Wah, never use tripod?! Very good shots then! :thumbsup:
Ah, no prob :)

ark19 said:
Wah, never use tripod?! Very good shots then!
Ah, no prob

haha.. not really.. i tink it's the camera credits. too good to be true..
:heart: :heart: :heart: the camera and u guys. ;)

Blueshell,

I would say very good first try and on top of that handheld ... :thumbsup:

I prefer those with the foliage post processed with a tint of orange.

One point I note though, you kena a bit of the teerex virus :bsmilie: . Horizons slightly tilted in some of the shots.

But anyway good shots, keep shooting and share.

BlueShell said:
haha.. not really.. i tink it's the camera credits. too good to be true..
:heart: :heart: :heart: the camera and u guys. ;)

Btw, downsize to width 600pixel can liao, too small cannot see details :bsmilie:

BlueShell said:
This image reminds me of winter in Colorado mountains, which is right about this time of year now.

../azul123

Welcome to IR, Blueshell!

Good try ... image bigger will be better ;)
I like #4 the most.

photoexpress said:
Welcome to IR, Blueshell!

Good try ... image bigger will be better ;)
I like #4 the most.

hee... thanks! ;)

Seen the photos you guys took on Sun outing.. all very nice....

I realised that my shots are veri straight forward, no meaning in them at all. Unlike you pple, able to capture buildings and surrounding with alot of feeling and meaning. the most impt was that those views/perspective are not noticable unless you put in effort and think/observe the surrounding before composing the shots..

upz upz upz for you guys! :lovegrin: :lovegrin:

BlueShell said:
Seen the photos you guys took on Sun outing.. all very nice....

I realised that my shots are veri straight forward, no meaning in them at all. Unlike you pple, able to capture buildings and surrounding with alot of feeling and meaning. the most impt was that those views/perspective are not noticable unless you put in effort and think/observe the surrounding before composing the shots..

upz upz upz for you guys! :lovegrin: :lovegrin:

You're doing ok. Just shoot more, analyse your results and listen to comments given by some of the more experienced guys like Ark19, Max2.8 and PhotoExpress. They'll be able to give you constructive comments on compositions, I've learnt from them and still learning.

Join in our shoots when you can.