MO: Cheapest Ever Studio Lighting Kit

anyway....uppzz for a cool product....PQ23....does the manufacturer have any info on the electrical discharge?

rafiano said:
anyway....uppzz for a cool product....PQ23....does the manufacturer have any info on the electrical discharge?
I have checked with them, waiting for reply.
I'm also sourcing for low-cost IR/Radio wave trigger and Muslin background. Watch for my update...

Just to feedback, yes I did get a shock from the lighting system too.

Has any managed to trigger them via the hotshoe adaptor/pc sync cords?
somehow when I connect it to my camera hotshoe, the flashes don't seem to fire when I press the shutter, but when i press the adaptor's test pin, the lights go off. :dunno:

taicw said:
Just to feedback, yes I did get a shock from the lighting system too.

Has any managed to trigger them via the hotshoe adaptor/pc sync cords?
somehow when I connect it to my camera hotshoe, the flashes don't seem to fire when I press the shutter, but when i press the adaptor's test pin, the lights go off. :dunno:

I guess almost or all camera should be able to trigger via hotshoe adapter. Did you insert the adapter completely into your camera hotshoe? :think:

For info, I also experienced the shock when I use the sync cords on my old nikon film body F50.

I think I will keep the sync cords away from now ....

My sample shots with the light tent... using ikea table lamp.. :(
CRW_0538-01.jpg

CRW_0539-01.jpg

CRW_0540-01.jpg

CRW_0544-01.jpg

PQ23 said:
I have checked with them, waiting for reply.
I'm also sourcing for low-cost IR/Radio wave trigger and Muslin background. Watch for my update...

Thanks PQ! :thumbsup:

I realised that we have 1 hotshoe, so can only connect and fire off 1 flash at a time?

dnd8008 said:
I realised that we have 1 hotshoe, so can only connect and fire off 1 flash at a time?

cant edit this - sorry, re-read the thread, found the answer to my question.

Thanks

My first Xperiment with this new toy :sweatsm:

hmm, the black is good, the white seem underexpose... from the shots i see, dunno if its skill level or something else...

Let me confirm...Skill Level :sticktong (wanna teach me...Sifu?):sweatsm:

sgdavid said:
Let me confirm...Skill Level :sticktong (wanna teach me...Sifu?):sweatsm:

huh? u more sifu den me lor... i know nuts about these lor...

eh i'm thinking of buying the lights, any idea how low can these go? (u might think i am siao...)

okie... i need so low cos i putting under the tent lah... any idea?

maybe flash not 'powderful' enuff? REFUND :bsmilie:
hehe...no lar...user problem not covered under Return Policy :sweatsm:
Ok...will try using both slaves later!!! Give my slaves some thorough work-out

eh i'm thinking of buying the lights, any idea how low can these go? (u might think i am siao...)

Wahhhh.....You want to light from bottom of the tent? What you taking or experimenting???? LOL;) Share leyyyy.

Lowest....from what I can achieve is up till the height of the tent bro.

I'm thinking the same thing... I am planning to buy the circular (20W or 32W) light but looking for flat ones... so far the designs are all domed shaped... or get a translucent plastic as the "table" between my subject and the light. Light control can be layers of t-shirt. Experimenting. :sweat: You're trying to shoot glassware?

dawgbyte77 said:
I'm thinking the same thing... I am planning to buy the circular (20W or 32W) light but looking for flat ones... so far the designs are all domed shaped... or get a translucent plastic as the "table" between my subject and the light. Light control can be layers of t-shirt. Experimenting. :sweat: You're trying to shoot glassware?

actually i got transparent table liao, still got enuff to make another 1...

just that the table abit short, its hard to put a flash in, those with softbox, so i think this 1 ok, since the head not that big like a standard studio flash.

i dun shoot glass, i only shoot metals... hehe...

sgdavid said:
Wahhhh.....You want to light from bottom of the tent? What you taking or experimenting???? LOL;) Share leyyyy.

Lowest....from what I can achieve is up till the height of the tent bro.

hmm... in CM? i need about 50cm height at most... inclusive of the flash bulb...

those who bought the tent, who successfully get rid of the crumpled/folded lines on the backdrop?