March 2009 SONY new bodies, new lens

More then you can imagine, I'd rather see improved photographic technologies then a feature for which I normally would use another device. (Not even to mention all those photographers not even having the slightest interest for it.) Ultimately it leads to paying for something you don't want / or asked for, similar like a mobile phone.

I can remember someone demonstrating all kind of functions on a mobile and after 5 minutes or so I asked him, 'all very nice, can you make phonecalls as well?' I guess you get the point.

Well, I understand it is manufacturing for the mass, so who am I.

I totally agree with you, taking good photos is the primary function of a DSLR and it should be always the case.

However, as a consumer myself, I wouldn't have chosen Sony Alpha if not for the attractive features that other competitors dun have or didn't implement them so well, things like SSS, Fast LiveView AF, good range of Min lenses...

If I strictly want only image quality, then everyone would have told me to go C or N camp already.

For a company, it's how much you can sell makes you survive in the market, so if everyone else is having it, you won't want to be left out...

If I strictly want only image quality, then everyone would have told me to go C or N camp already.

I dun think C or N is more superior than the other camps leh. More popular maybe but definitely not superior to the others.

If I strictly want only image quality, then everyone would have told me to go C or N camp already...

i wonder how it would turn out if i were to say on C or N camp,

"If I strictly want only image quality, then everyone would have told me to go S or N or whatever camp already..."

How would the respond be? hmm... at Sony, i think we just "... who cares :bsmilie: ..."

Nevertheless, image quality coming from Alphas are superb btw... it is the man behind the camera that makes the different...and also to up the next level, behind the computer... a whole package i would say...

ZA 24-70mm F2.8 SSM not sharp as sigma new 24-70 DG HSM...:bheart:

The new bridge looks a lot more interesting than the lens line up. 10fps, 6 frame auto bracketing, WOW!

hope we can see it soon. perhaps this upcoming IT show can see a 'preview'??

when sony came out with a 24mp FF body, ppl ask, why such a big mp? now hd video is coming to dslr, which is an expected feature that one day, it will come, and it is here for quite some time already.anyway, it is just an added feature.

the thing we should ask, is, why is it that a phone has a camera feature, and not a camera has a phone as a feature.

Maybe is a matter of perspective. Sometimes, when I checkout the features of SE Cybershot phone, I got this impression of phone in a camera. :dunno:

just remember, the quality of photos from phone now, is the technology we had years ago on a digital camera

OK lah. For such a small sensor size and restriction by casing. We are seeing bigger and bigger MP camera phone. Some of the SE Cybershot camera phone even has face + smile detection + IS. I can effective throw away my Sony T2. If you notice, Nokia phone N series is equip with CZ lens! My Nokia N78 even has some manual control over ISO settings (which, for most people, I don't think they can really appreciate such control).

Unless, DSLR quality can be achieve in such small sensor size, otherwise adding a mobile phone feature into current camera body is (to me) useless. It may end up make the camera bigger (to add all the support of mobile phone). How in the world I can carry it in my pocket?

OK lah. For such a small sensor size and restriction by casing. We are seeing bigger and bigger MP camera phone. Some of the SE Cybershot camera phone even has face + smile detection + IS. I can effective throw away my Sony T2. If you notice, Nokia phone N series is equip with CZ lens! My Nokia N78 even has some manual control over ISO settings (which, for most people, I don't think they can really appreciate such control).

Unless, DSLR quality can be achieve in such small sensor size, otherwise adding a mobile phone feature into current camera body is (to me) useless. It may end up make the camera bigger (to add all the support of mobile phone). How in the world I can carry it in my pocket?
did u realise that a 8mp camera phone is about the same size as a compact camera? :bsmilie: it is weird to me that the world is like star wars

whoa! if really like that, I'd buy one of them sigmas. :o

The only lens in this range that is sharper than the Sigma is the Nikon ............. juz buy the Sigma and save your top dollars ........ actually you can hardly tell them apart from the images on your PC screen. Carl Zeiss .............. from China if I ain't mistaken ........ :kiss:

whoa! if really like that, I'd buy one of them sigmas. :o

may be a little OOT but found a chinese site which has already tested the sigma. they compared against the C 24-70L and best it hands down. looks like sigma is on a roll producing gd glass after their successful 50mm F1.4

here's the site
http://forum.xitek.com/sorthread.php?threadid=600293&pagenumber=3

557169_1234537733.jpg

Hahah another one of those single test data and blankets the result of all other lens in the making.

Best to test and try the lens prior to purchase.

Well, if it is really true, then I must say well done to Sigma.

Though, I won't sell away my CZ lens even if it is true. :D

Well, if it is really true, then I must say well done to Sigma.

Though, I won't sell away my CZ lens even if it is true. :D

sharpness could be there but the colour output would be no contest due to differences in coating. it still looks like the sigma tint is still there

Wah like that ah... hmm... okay lah, that is - I'd only buy the CZ 24-70 or S 24-70... after all the 28-70Gs on this planet broke down.

Currently, there's no lens in this range with the character of the 28-70G. :cool: :confused:

Odd. My CZ is definitely not that soft.