Macro shooting with Panasonic GF2

Spidey, when Ubi trip har? talked since last November leh.....

Haiya, got this problem,that problem, then busy, so end up CMI lor hahaha, plus weather was unpredictable, so will probably be at a later date when the weather has settled, somewhat similar to now, but now super duper hot hahahah

Someone jealous about the blowing? :bsmilie:

Joking hor!! ;p

Thanks for the blowing tip though.

I'm very new to macro and if the insect or leaves move, that really is a problem. But I don't see how AF going to help with the thin DOF, slow AF and shutter lag in m4/3.
AF help to search for the subject then fine tune with MF, nothing to do with DOF. Once lock in then set whatever f stop you need to shoot, once you know your working distance then you use MF. Macro don't need fast AF, shutter lag in m4/3...don't think so unless you shoot sport. I prefer to use m4/3 to shoot macro compare to my 500D because of that flip of the mirror cause vibration. Most time have to lock up mirror to shoot with my 500D and now move back to my m4/3. Best thing about m4/3 give you 2x crop which can get closer to the subject. Wish that m4/3 come out with a 100-200mm macro prime lens.

jameskkmok said:
Need not to have abs to shoot macro, what need is more practice....monopod,tripod or handheld.

I will practice more often so that my pictures can get better.

AF help to search for the subject then fine tune with MF, nothing to do with DOF. Once lock in then set whatever f stop you need to shoot, once you know your working distance then you use MF. Macro don't need fast AF, shutter lag in m4/3...don't think so unless you shoot sport. I prefer to use m4/3 to shoot macro compare to my 500D because of that flip of the mirror cause vibration. Most time have to lock up mirror to shoot with my 500D and now move back to my m4/3. Best thing about m4/3 give you 2x crop which can get closer to the subject. Wish that m4/3 come out with a 100-200mm macro prime lens.

What I mean is DOF is so thin that for a moving object, the focus point change every second so it's kinda useless to AF. Even if AF is spot on (let's say on the head), it can change when the actual photo is being taken, maybe to the body. If I know my working distance, I can pre-focus using MF lens too, can even focus even before I switch on camera and move to the actual site. Well, this is only for MF lens with distance scale.

Once focus the subject change back to MF to fine tune it. Keep shooting and on the way you will learn. Anyway that suit you best go work with it that's no rule for that. For me I know what I want, before moving in compose your shot then move in. Happy shooting.... can someone start an m4/3 macro outing:)

Yup, whatever that works. Will be great if someone (spidey?) can organise a macro outing. Macro seems to be a challenge to me, got to learn some pointers from seniors.

Hi james, so which lens and wat conversion u used to shoot macro on your micro4/3?

Yup, whatever that works. Will be great if someone (spidey?) can organise a macro outing. Macro seems to be a challenge to me, got to learn some pointers from seniors.

Yes he's the man to organise & see how he blow:) We learn & share from each others.

Hi james, so which lens and wat conversion u used to shoot macro on your micro4/3?

Hi Adrian, I use 45-200mm pana lens stack Raynox 150 over it. To me 150 working range is good for me 250 is too close. Sometime use a manual MD 50mm macro lens on my m4/3. A 55-250mm Canon IS lens use on 500D again stack 150 over it. When flash needed use a FL 36R, Nikon SB 26. When using EPL-1 same lens use build-in flash to fill in. Nowaday use natural light more, just a reflector will do the job to fill in.

Yes he's the man to organise & see how he blow:) We learn & share from each others.

That is gay man... Hahahah, I just went for lunch and you guys talked so much -.-" Anyway, a macro outing could be done, the last macro outing was done some time ago, not by me though, but will need time to plan, but I'll try my best to get one out before I go in to serve the nation and wear green everyday, green shirt, green pants, green hat, green make up, green underwear hahahha. Or else Headfonz could plan, right Headfonz? Hahahahah

Am too old for those G man:) learn the different insects before wear green so you know what is harmful & what's not in the jungle. 1st thing to learn from macro is mosquito bite, once get use to it everything ok. Now you pointing finger.....:)

Ok la, general rule, colourful, zhao,dull, double check hahaha, leg at the side, zhao,leg under with many many wavy legs, blow or step or kick! hahah,I have a rough idea on insects and arachnids so should be fine la hahaha

Hi Adrian, I use 45-200mm pana lens stack Raynox 150 over it. To me 150 working range is good for me 250 is too close. Sometime use a manual MD 50mm macro lens on my m4/3. A 55-250mm Canon IS lens use on 500D again stack 150 over it. When flash needed use a FL 36R, Nikon SB 26. When using EPL-1 same lens use build-in flash to fill in. Nowaday use natural light more, just a reflector will do the job to fill in.

thanks... think i will just need to urgrade something other than my kit lens one fine day b4 i can try some macro shooting

You want such shallow DOF ah? I shoot macro I shoot f11 f16 lei hahahah, use flash lor, proper illumination hahaha

haha.. I shot macro with onli F8..because Lx3 onli got F8..")

thanks... think i will just need to urgrade something other than my kit lens one fine day b4 i can try some macro shooting

I alway advice ppl with kit lens just get a raynox 250 and a DIY flash diffuser and u gd to go..")

thanks for the advice... was contemplating to get the raynox250 because i read from somewhere stating that the lens should at least be 50mm and above to prevent vigetting etc... my kit lens is only 14-42mm, so i am a bit hesitant.

haha.. I shot macro with onli F8..because Lx3 onli got F8..")

:bigeyes::kok::bsmilie:

That's actually good enough for starting, rather than investing into expensive macro lenses

thanks for the advice... was contemplating to get the raynox250 because i read from somewhere stating that the lens should at least be 50mm and above to prevent vigetting etc... my kit lens is only 14-42mm, so i am a bit hesitant.

no really, because the raynox is ard 49mm thread size. So if u got 35mm filter size 49 u still able to use it for macro. Even got vigetting in macro we still need to crop so no worry ...:)

:bigeyes::kok::bsmilie:

That's actually good enough for starting, rather than investing into expensive macro lenses

haha... I got no macro lens onli got close up filter. Raynox 250, 202 and 505..")

Look fwd to a m43 macro shoot, can see the different setups from different folks, would definitely learn some tips from James and the rest. The macro arm light is certainly interesting, not sure it would be useful as the VF2 can't be used.