Long lenses for F1

i intend to shoot from hotel room.dun intend to go down join the crowd.will be insane.i already so small size, still mus lug the lens around in a crowd i will be squashed.
Jean, i dont think you will get good shots from a hotel room.... you want to catch the action, the speed, excitement then you got to go down there to the side of the track... no way around it.... afraid to be squashed... get a few guys to stand around you... i am sure you find enough volUnteers ;)

jeanie, why dont u go Sepang have a look first? Easier to decide after u see...
Yeah, very sensible suggestion.

As for the lens, AF-S300F4 should be good enough - either with some cropping or with a 1.4xTC. This is for those shooting from the grandstand. :thumbsup:

As for shooting from an aircon hotel room, remember that the glass of the windows is tinted - you might loose more than 1 stop.:sweat:

All F1 races are held in day time, typically 2pm local time. The F1 cars don't have headlight at all.
Well.. 2008 is going to be different! ;p

Jean, i dont think you will get good shots from a hotel room.... you want to catch the action, the speed, excitement then you got to go down there to the side of the track... no way around it.... afraid to be squashed... get a few guys to stand around you... i am sure you find enough volUnteers ;)

I agree with that... pan.. pan.. good angle liao.. release shutter... @#$%&^.. window not big enough...

Worse, pan...pan...good angle...gonna release shutter...WHAM *smashing of glass from window and front elements*

Well.. 2008 is going to be different! ;p
Could it be F1, night race, through undersea tunnel from Sentosa to ECP then CTE, best is to include the famous 8pm CTE jam...

most propably u need abt 2 lens .. the 70 - 200 and the AFs 500 F4 . if the price attracts your wallet. ;) , save on the TC..
Use the 500 on the grand stand and tripod

Second that. 500/4 will be good if you shoot from grand stand or some over head heigh point. 70-200/2.8 is good for pit-stop, crews and F1 cutting corners all those. But not all need supertele. If race in Singapore city a mid zoom also take good shoots of F1 in cityscape. Likely it will start from late afternoon to evening. I will like to shoot F1 with some background.

Could it be F1, night race, through undersea tunnel from Sentosa to ECP then CTE, best is to include the famous 8pm CTE jam...

Like that...Singaporean win.

There are tons of OT here and this thread will be closed if OT persist.

well, am not really sure how friendly the F1 nite race for photographers would be, to think that these cars are really fast!

hmmmmmmm, some talks again at F1-live.com:

let_actu_m.gif
alaysia ready to host night race
Calling the FIA to set the lighting standard

Malaysia is ready to host a Grand Prix night race next year, the head of the nation's top international track said Friday, as drivers backed the move.

divers_002.gif

[30/03/07 - 15:04]
No Singapore GP announcement today
“How soon, I can't say as of now”

Are you guys going to Sepang this weekend? this would be our 3rd year, hopefully got a good weather this time.

cheers!

please no F1 discussion here please.kopitiam got one thread on it.

i prefer to shoot from hotel room and i would like a scene of the ferrari with the city skyline as backdrop.
if i were to shoot just the car panning, it's no difference from the tons of pics you see here in the link posted by luval.

i think swissotel the stamford has rooms with balcony, so of course i wont shoot from the room with the window on.also, that's not a good way to feeeeeel the F1 roar.

i'm thinking of the usage of the lens after after the F1.what am i going to do with it?go birding with the nature guys here?:dunno:

i got a hunch 300 f 2.8 will be more 'suitable' for my needs in future.
at least, i can still do portraiture with it?:dunno:

but guys, 300f2.8 with TC2x, confirm pic wont be as sharp as 600mm f4 right?

I think it's best you recce a few places with some of the people with the above lens, eg 300mm with maybe a 2x or 1.7x convertor. Because you are thinking of shooting from a hotel, locations of the F1 not set, it's too early to speculate on what focal length to use and what lense to buy.

That being said, some of the people in another forum uses 300mm to shoot with fantastic results. I feel unless you are shooting F1 or motorsports weekly or more, 300mm should serve you better and give you more flexibility.

just for your information, there is a 120-300 sigma in BnS right now, that one would suit your needs once coupled with a 2x TC.

let's just assume F1 is just over the horizon nearby ya?

which iyho is a better lens?

1)300 2.8 with nano crystal blah blah blah blah and a 2x TC

or

2)600mmf4?

will my pics be as sharp if i use 1) compared to 2)?

and for 2)does it come with a carrying case or i have to buy one just to lug it around?

There's not much of a point talking about equipment not know how the track will look like and where you'll be. Take Melbourne for example, if you're at the wrong place, you are lucky to get glimpses of the cars in between "heads". Your chances are better if you happen to have a press pass. For the sake of discussion, I know some people uses 14mm to shoot F1.

time to ressurect this thread.

question:
is a super sturdy tripod necessary for lenses like 300 2.8 or 600 4?

will monopod be able to support the weight of these lenses?

question:

There are some "thick" monopods that can do the job. The question would be how stable can you hold a super tele with monopods.

I think if it is a night race, it might quite challenging to shoot the race.

BC

There are some "thick" monopods that can do the job. The question would be how stable can you hold a super tele with monopods.

I think if it is a night race, it might quite challenging to shoot the race.

BC

apparently not so.i read the ST yesterday and the guy who's in charge of the lightings design said we should bring sunglasses:bsmilie: to the event.because the lights they will use is going to be very very very bright, and it's almost like day time.

question:

It depends on what you wanna shoot. Main reason for a tripod is stability, and that is of primary concern especially to wildlife shooters who use long glass, and often shoot in less than ideal lighting conditions (i.e lower shutter speeds) so a good sturdy tripod would rank high on their list of must-have items. A long telephoto lens is practically useless in most situations without adequate support, in addition they are very awkward and heavy to handhold. However most sports shooters prefer a good sturdy monopod, reason being its easier to deploy and bring around, and also savings in space (e.g see those European soccer matches where they are packed tightly in a row behind the advertisement hoardings behind the goal mouth) For sports shooters, most of the time they are shooting fast action using f2.8 glass, hence higher shutter speeds, so the stability advantage of tripods over monopods is greatly diminished for their needs. I guess portability and practicality is more of a bigger concern for them.