LIVERPOOL FOOTBALL CLUB! (44!!) You'll Never Walk Alone!!

Hicks: “I should make four times my money”

Liverpool co-owner Tom Hick claims he expects to make four times the money he invested when the club is sold.

He and co-owner George Gillett officially announced LFC is for sale yesterday, appointing Martin Broughton as chairman to oversee the sale.

In an interview with Wall Street Journal the Texan said “I should make four times my money.”

Staggeringly, he claims he expects the Club to be sold for between £600m to £800m, saying “Liverpool will be the most profitable investment I’ve ever made.”

http://www.thisisanfield.com/2010/04/17/hicks-i-should-make-four-times-my-money/

Sadly, I am a true and true Liverpool fan for many years, however, I hope G and T leave us, the yankees fail to find a buyer and that we are relegated so that they loose as much money as possible. A year or two down, I have no problem, I would still watch them. Soccer is a sport, not some business adventure of people with very little ability to make good their promises.

- "Spend big in the summer"... what a joke...
- "Bought LFC with no debt unlike the other yanks across at MuFC".. what a joke
- "Built a stadium"... what a joke

Guess, its true then, like father like son....

-- marios

indeed. let's stick it through thick n thin together! without raf999 n the cowboys! :thumbsup:

nabei, kkj chelsea buang

if we beat them in our next meeting, we could be handing the title to mancirle
:thumbsd:

sibei sian

nabei, kkj chelsea buang

if we beat them in our next meeting, we could be handing the title to mancirle
:thumbsd:

sibei sian

sibeh bodoh one la they all! shud beat hotcakes and let us humtum them mah!

but looking at our current team, i think we cannot even draw with them anyway! :bsmilie:

hotcakes put us and the multibillion manciteh to shame

wrong, let me correct myself

raf9 should be ashamed
:angry:

wrong, let me correct myself

raf9 should be ashamed
:angry:

he shud kick himself. do us all a favour instead of us staging a RED Shirt ARMY rebellion and force him out! :bsmilie:

TORRES SET FOR SIX WEEKS OUT
Posted 18/04/10 19:55

Liverpool striker Fernando Torres has been ruled out for the remainder of the season after it was confirmed he would undergo surgery on his troublesome knee injury on Sunday night.

The procedure will rule the 26-year-old out of action for around six weeks, meaning he will miss not only the Barclays Premier League run in but also the remainder of the club's Europa League campaign, which continues this week with a semi-final against Torres' former club Atletico Madrid.

A Liverpool spokesman told the club's official website: "Fernando saw a specialist in Spain earlier today and it was decided that he would need surgery on a torn cartilage in his right knee.

"This will be carried out later tonight.

"We cannot comment ahead of the operation, but as a guide, the usual rehabilitation period for this type of procedure is around six weeks."

The news will also cast a shadow over Spain's preparations for the World Cup, with Torres a key element of the European champions' set-up for the tournament which gets under way in just over seven weeks.

Coach Vicente del Bosque will almost certainly gamble on the fitness of his star striker when he has to finalise his final 23-man squad, with Spain's first game in the tournament not until June 16 - around two and a half weeks after Torres' projected return date.

Torres' knee problem forced him to miss last weekend's goalless draw against Fulham as he flew to Barcelona to see Dr Ramon Cugat, the surgeon who operated on him in January when he was struck by a similar problem.

As recently as Friday, Liverpool manager Rafael Benitez was hopeful Torres would play some part in Monday's league encounter with West Ham or Thursday's first leg against Atletico.

The loss of Torres could sound the death knell on Liverpool's fading chances of claiming a fourth-place finish in the Premier League which would put them into the Champions League next season.

The Reds have dropped to seventh in the standings after this weekend's fixtures, eight points behind fourth-placed Tottenham with just 12 points to play for over their remaining four matches.

Despite enduring an injury-hit campaign, Torres has weighed in with 18 goals in 24 league outings for the Merseyside club this season.

TORRES SET FOR SIX WEEKS OUT
Posted 18/04/10 19:55

Liverpool striker Fernando Torres has been ruled out for the remainder of the season after it was confirmed he would undergo surgery on his troublesome knee injury on Sunday night.

The procedure will rule the 26-year-old out of action for around six weeks, meaning he will miss not only the Barclays Premier League run in but also the remainder of the club's Europa League campaign, which continues this week with a semi-final against Torres' former club Atletico Madrid.

A Liverpool spokesman told the club's official website: "Fernando saw a specialist in Spain earlier today and it was decided that he would need surgery on a torn cartilage in his right knee.

"This will be carried out later tonight.

"We cannot comment ahead of the operation, but as a guide, the usual rehabilitation period for this type of procedure is around six weeks."

The news will also cast a shadow over Spain's preparations for the World Cup, with Torres a key element of the European champions' set-up for the tournament which gets under way in just over seven weeks.

Coach Vicente del Bosque will almost certainly gamble on the fitness of his star striker when he has to finalise his final 23-man squad, with Spain's first game in the tournament not until June 16 - around two and a half weeks after Torres' projected return date.

Torres' knee problem forced him to miss last weekend's goalless draw against Fulham as he flew to Barcelona to see Dr Ramon Cugat, the surgeon who operated on him in January when he was struck by a similar problem.

As recently as Friday, Liverpool manager Rafael Benitez was hopeful Torres would play some part in Monday's league encounter with West Ham or Thursday's first leg against Atletico.

The loss of Torres could sound the death knell on Liverpool's fading chances of claiming a fourth-place finish in the Premier League which would put them into the Champions League next season.

The Reds have dropped to seventh in the standings after this weekend's fixtures, eight points behind fourth-placed Tottenham with just 12 points to play for over their remaining four matches.

Despite enduring an injury-hit campaign, Torres has weighed in with 18 goals in 24 league outings for the Merseyside club this season.

this about sums up our current season.

4th place is out. now even 6th placing is under threat.

fantastic work, raf999! u're almost as good as graeme souness's final season in LFC!

even gerard houllier cannot hold a candle to u! :bsmilie:

Some seasons we were good, some were not. Hope next season we would be at top 3 without rafa, the 2 americanos, even if Torres and Gerrard have been sold.

Maybe the Yankees are his greatest source of "pressure", so they leave he laggi happy :sweatsm:

he is the undisputed brokeback, along with dirty kite and louya leiva mah once those 2 origiginal brokeback cowboys have left! :bsmilie:

u forgot 20million GBP ahqualanlan

this about sums up our current season.

4th place is out. now even 6th placing is under threat.

fantastic work, raf999! u're almost as good as graeme souness's final season in LFC!

even gerard houllier cannot hold a candle to u! :bsmilie:

Agree! 6th place? Can they? Such a disappointed season.
And Torres is out for the Season. Midnight match vs West ham.
West Ham need to fight for a place to stay in BPL. Gd lucks LFC.
High chance Ngog and Babel will play.

Benitez: Liverpool expectations were too high

Liverpool manager Rafael Benitez says that the expectations for the club this season were ''too high'' and that their below-par performances were due to constant injury problems.

Benitez says that after last year - when Liverpool finished second in the Premier League - hopes that they would challenge for the title again were wide of the mark because of their summer of upheaval.

''At the beginning of the season expectations were too big. That is normal after such a good season,'' he said. ''But I always say the same - the Premier League is the Premier League and the difference in money is so big that if you want to stay at this level for a while, you have to do almost everything perfectly.

''That's not easy when you push and push because sometimes you cannot keep the players working so hard or at the level they were in the previous season.''

The Spaniard also said key injuries, especially to striker Fernando Torres, played their part in destablising his side.

''During pre-season we also had players coming back late and then we had injuries,'' he said. ''We've had seven, nine or 11 players out at the same time in different months, players who would normally be starters.

''We can talk about mistakes, but when you have so many players injured, especially key players, it is not easy to sustain a level of performance every week.''

:thumbsd::thumbsd::thumbsd:

Benitez: Liverpool expectations were too high

Liverpool manager Rafael Benitez says that the expectations for the club this season were ''too high'' and that their below-par performances were due to constant injury problems.

Benitez says that after last year - when Liverpool finished second in the Premier League - hopes that they would challenge for the title again were wide of the mark because of their summer of upheaval.

''At the beginning of the season expectations were too big. That is normal after such a good season,'' he said. ''But I always say the same - the Premier League is the Premier League and the difference in money is so big that if you want to stay at this level for a while, you have to do almost everything perfectly.

''That's not easy when you push and push because sometimes you cannot keep the players working so hard or at the level they were in the previous season.''

The Spaniard also said key injuries, especially to striker Fernando Torres, played their part in destablising his side.

''During pre-season we also had players coming back late and then we had injuries,'' he said. ''We've had seven, nine or 11 players out at the same time in different months, players who would normally be starters.

''We can talk about mistakes, but when you have so many players injured, especially key players, it is not easy to sustain a level of performance every week.''

:thumbsd::thumbsd::thumbsd:

WTF
he is trying to get himself sacked

look at Gooners, Fabregas was out a long time
at different points in time, the entire 1st choice backline or chel$ki and manure were out
spurs can even afford to loan out robber king
villa - they lost Barry and didnt seem to replace him
and all of them now ahead of us

as usual he is demonstrating his ability to blame the board, owners, players, fans, referees, beach ball, basically anything but himself