LFC II - You'll never Walk Alone

I agree also. But thats provided the player do not want to stay. For mickey mouse, it's obvious that he do not want to stay. He is just player delaying tactics... No one bids for him when he was 2 years left in his contract and when it comes down to 1 year, he don't sign extension and thus have to sell...

8m + nunez still worth only 10m max... severely underpriced... Just imagine man u paid everton 27m for rooney... we shd at least get 15-20m for that mickey mouse.

ibitemynails said:
owen left 1 year get 8 mil only..

gerrard 2 years can get 32mil AT LEAST... we must faster sell!!!

Best player in our squad does not make him World's best player leh...

He has yet to win any European Player of the Year (benchmark for top European player, keegan won twice if i am not wrong).
wong_se said:
he can't make up his mind..is off field mental problem. :bsmilie:

On the field..he is the best player as of the current squad.

nemesis32 said:
keegan won twice if i am not wrong.

he did not win it with Liverpool lah..... he won it with Hamburg.

btw...Owen European Player of the Year..no Champion league Medal.

Gerrard no European player of the Year, Captain to lift up the CHampion League Trophy.

Place yourself in the shoe..which one u wish to be....?

CL Champ is team effort. EPOY is personal. So as a footballer, personal glory is impt, more so than team.

Team depends on your team mates. btw, if you rem, i did say Owen did not deserve to win the EPOY.

When a great player plays for a good-very good team, he may not achieve team honours. e.g. Ryan Giggs will never win a world cup or European championship.

Similarly, the reverse is true. Dida, won almost all the team honours you can imagine. CL, World Cup, confeds etc. But if votes for world best goalkeeper comes in, Dida is prob down on the lsit. On the other hand, Schmechial will prob be top (he did won the European Championship as Denmark was a last min replacement for Croatia or Bosnia i think, he was excellent in that tournament).

So, individual honours are impt to players.

Of course, to fans, team honours matter more.
wong_se said:
he did not win it with Liverpool lah..... he won it with Hamburg.

btw...Owen European Player of the Year..no Champion league Medal.

Gerrard no European player of the Year, Captain to lift up the CHampion League Trophy.

Place yourself in the shoe..which one u wish to be....?

nemesis32 said:
He's not 1st choice mainly because Owen and Heskey combination is working better than Owen/Fowler or Fowler/Heskey combination. Moreover, with Owen being an England regular and threatening to quit liverpool if no regular 1st team football (rem all his complains when he starts the FA Cup final on bench?)

If fowler at his best..his goal rate is really more than Owen + heskey. if he is at his best..we all believe he would be playing ahead of Owen for England.

Anyway...no answer to this discussion..

Msot of the fans here know that Fowler had passed his prime when he left us. Let face it..

Sometimes, very good player can still be unwanted by the team.. Bellamy for one. He's in his prime right?

not agree. Bellamy is unwanted end of this season. For me his best/prime time was 1 to 2 seasons ago under Sir RObson.

Any player turn to frog under Souness... Just look at the way he srewed up liverpool after took over from Kenny.

A lot of times, players are sold because the manager thinks that they could use the moeny for other players... Fowler, if he's not at his prime (prime is different from peak), can command 11m, so why should Houllier not sell then? Esp since he can use the 11m to buy.... Diouf!

yes..at this situation..Houllier think that Folwer had past his prime and Diouf at his prime. Diouf was signed the next day after he had beat France.

At that time..everyone would believe Diouf at his best/prime..
Who knows that we are all backfire..Diouf at this prime for 90minutes...the game Senagal vs France. since then...he dropped form. hahaaaa .....

nemesis32 said:
CL Champ is team effort. EPOY is personal. So as a footballer, personal glory is impt, more so than team.

Ok..u prefe to be Schillzi..who won golden boot at World Cup. Since it is your personal achievement. but your team is a loser. Nevermind...You enjoy personal pride eventhough u are at a team sport.

I prefer to be Lotthar Mattaus, to captain the team to the World Champion and lift up the Trophy. and my team is a winner.

Different people different ambition/dream.

zhapchit said:
saviola in unwanted at barca :think:

yeah..my sentiments exactly...bring him over..i think he is better than owen ;p

akane said:
yeah..my sentiments exactly...bring him over..i think he is better than owen ;p

i think the message is clear to Rafa..."look now..U have Cisse (14m), Baros and just bought Morientes at (6m) last season. With Sinama and Mellor as back up. and u want to buy another striker ?? U think we are MU errrr ??"

Unless we can sell down one of our striker, most likely to be Baros..and may be loan out Sinama or Mellor, I dun think Rafa has the luxury to bring in any striker this season.

wong_se said:
Ok..u prefe to be Schillzi..who won golden boot at World Cup. Since it is your personal achievement. but your team is a loser. Nevermind...You enjoy personal pride eventhough u are at a team sport.

I prefer to be Lotthar Mattaus, to captain the team to the World Champion and lift up the Trophy. and my team is a winner.

Different people different ambition/dream.
There's a slight difference in the arguement. Matthaus i think also won the EPOY after the west germany win in WC IIRC...

My arguement actually is you are rem for your excellence... be it personal or team. However, personal glory is personal and no one can take it away.

My example of dida and schemichael illustrate this point... For eg, schmi also won CL and numerous awards but most people think that players like Cantona is what the great Man U team ticks... even though cantona did not win CL... irony right? Just like Fowler, he also never win CL with liverpool....

wong_se said:
i think the message is clear to Rafa..."look now..U have Cisse (14m), Baros and just bought Morientes at (6m) last season. With Sinama and Mellor as back up. and u want to buy another striker ?? U think we are MU errrr ??"

Unless we can sell down one of our striker, most likely to be Baros..and may be loan out Sinama or Mellor, I dun think Rafa has the luxury to bring in any striker this season.
I think he will... he will most likely loan out Mellor and Sinama... so down to 3 main strikers....

nemesis32 said:
I think he will... he will most likely loan out Mellor and Sinama... so down to 3 main strikers....

i dun think u get my point..

even if someone knocking door for a reasonable price for baros..Rafa will let him go.

We have 3 main strikers and 2 back up. That are more than enough...and the problem is ..no one is asking to buy / loan them away from LFC.

Unless 1 go....it is hard to see another one coming in.

if we are going to win the quadruple.. we might need all the strikers. There will be so many games to be played.

wong_se said:
i dun think u get my point..

even if someone knocking door for a reasonable price for baros..Rafa will let him go.

We have 3 main strikers and 2 back up. That are more than enough...and the problem is ..no one is asking to buy / loan them away from LFC.

Unless 1 go....it is hard to see another one coming in.
I understand where you coming from lah.. I think mellow may be loaned to West Ham ( i believe he was loaned to them b4 he got injured...IIRC), as for Sinama, prob one of the french team. Baros, unlikely to leave now. Unless Houllier wants to sign him.

zhapchit said:
if we are going to win the quadruple.. we might need all the strikers. There will be so many games to be played.
Ya man... dun forget we still have the Supercup and World Club championship... Last season, at the start of season, we have Owen, Cisse, Baros, Mellor and Sinama and you saw what happened.

Most of the time, we have only 1 striker. Hence, effectively we have only replaced Owen with Morientes.

nemesis32 said:
I understand where you coming from lah.. I think mellow may be loaned to West Ham ( i believe he was loaned to them b4 he got injured...IIRC), as for Sinama, prob one of the french team. Baros, unlikely to leave now. Unless Houllier wants to sign him.

precisely...so whether whoever player is good and available does not really matter...
unless there is offer from other club to buy/loan sinama/mellor/baros away.

guess we need any roundof "restructuring during januaryu tranfer window..

may be after the 1st 15 EPL game...we get 40 points with no injury list ..then no need to buy/sell any player. :thumbsup:

zhapchit said:

quadruple ?? wah u so greedy...I only want EPL tittle. That;s more than enough to satisfy me after being desperated for the last 15 years.

to a new season... :cheers:

You'll Never Walk Alone!!!

Liverpool kick off this Saturday?? :)

wong_se said:
quadruple ?? wah u so greedy...I only want EPL tittle. That;s more than enough to satisfy me after being desperated for the last 15 years.
okie lah treble enough liao.. let some other team win the worthless cup