L A O S - Luang Prabang

J. Door carving at Wat Xien Thong, Luang Prabang
I spent a long time trying to look for a good angle to shoot this carving.
This is what I think is my best angle. Don't know if it works or not.
4410178135_61db277a8a_o.jpg

K. Birds for Release, Morning Market Luang Prabang

On the last day at Luang Prabang, I felt better and took a walk with limwhow along the market.
Saw many selling birds in cage for releasing. I think it is US$ per cage.
Or something like that.
4410944576_f6eef88433_o.jpg

L. Pha Tat Luang, Vientiane
Evening time around 5pm at the golden temple in Vientiane.
Everybody was busy shooting the silhouette of the Buddha with the finger.
I saw this sitting Buddha with Bodhi tree leaves draped over the shoulder.
Nice. I like it very much.
4410944866_4131906b2a_o.jpg

M. Pattuxai, Vientiane

Here is my shot from another angle.
That night it was very funny. Everybody ran all over the place to find their angles.
Not easy to shoot because both myself and limwhow forgot how to adjust my Tokina 11-16 to MF mode...
Kekeke... Lucky Adrian came along to help.
4410945148_92c1078f64_o.jpg

#2 is nicely done here, but i would crop off the left with the tree there, or shift the frame right.

#1 has so much potential, i am wondering why you did not go right to bring the sun closer in line with the boat, and then go to the water's edge that we can see here, to give more weight to the boat.
Hi bro, thnx for dropping by.
#2 Ahh ok but that would mean cropping off the nice reflection of the sunlight on the clamer part of the water right?
#1 Think I know what you mean - the boat filling up more of the foreground and perhaps the sun just above the bow of the boat? I thought about that but was afraid that with the boat up closer up and the sun as backlight, I would end up with a silhoutte shot without resorting to HDR. Would cropping the shot tighter be better?

AlexK and Vngks - both my 大哥!(at morning market, Luang Prabang)
I never tire of shooting with these two wonderful friends. Every moment I open my mouth and speak with them, every second I hear something from them, I learn. They speak, eat, sleep, sh*t photography. Don't believe, ask those around them... kekeke...

ROFL ... sh*t photography...

Do be so modest .. you are the Good Shooter

Look at this shot

That why you need to bring 2 cam .. one wide.. one tele

That means for your case
1dmk4 or 1Dsmk3 with 16-35 mk2 :devil:
1dmk4 with 70-200 mk2 :devil:
Hahaha good poison bro!

vngks, thanks for creating this general thread.
Your shot on the secondary waterfall #2 is beautiful. :thumbsup:

limwhow, your vintage Merc shot is nice too. Btw, I don't s**t photography, not sure of vngks :bsmilie:

To everyone who joined this Laos trip, it's great to get to know you and you're a fun bunch to travel with. ;)

Anyway, wanna to share one of my fav shot first.
Hahaha that one is so funny. Wait till someone post the side profile of those guys ROFL

J. Door carving at Wat Xien Thong, Luang Prabang
I spent a long time trying to look for a good angle to shoot this carving.
This is what I think is my best angle. Don't know if it works or not.
4410178135_61db277a8a_o.jpg

SereneXMM, this angle works for me. Nice shot :thumbsup:

I. Another view of the main waterfall at Tat Kuang Si
This one I really tried my best already. Tried very hard to make the water silky smooth.
But limwhow he buay tahan already. Can't wait.
So I had to pack up and go to the other waterfall. Too bad...

Good effort on the waterfalls Serene :thumbsup: It would be better if you increase the contrast a bit in PS. Keep it up ;)

Charlie's angel? :sweatsm:

You should REALLY see the actual day actual scene in action.
Wah lau, those fellow all literally lined up one on top and behind each other because
at that point, then the sun is zhun zhun centred on the roof of the main door.
Very funny!

Phew, so siong!:sweat::sweat: Taking photos with the Professionals.
AlexK, thank you for your compliment.

Hi SereneXMM

I feel that the top left hand corner should be cropped off, so that you don't see that wall colored wall.. this is a case of less is more .. just my 2 cents

4410175749_869a39c75f_o.jpg

Thank you, vngks! Keke, you don't know how stress l am.:sweat::sweat:
Keke, struggling like nobody's business... Keke

Here's another candid shot. I mentioned this MWC (Monk With Camera) in Richard's thread. Can't believe my timing so "chun" :bsmilie:

4408109451_48a2e7fc55.jpg

Shot him just as his own flash fired :cool:

Here's another candid shot. I mentioned this MWC (Monk With Camera) in Richard's thread. Can't believe my timing so "chun" :bsmilie:

Perfect timing, bro. ;)

Marvellous timing.
Must be all that speaking, eating, sleeping... photography that has given you the reflex.. :bsmilie:

You should REALLY see the actual day actual scene in action.
Wah lau, those fellow all literally lined up one on top and behind each other because
at that point, then the sun is zhun zhun centred on the roof of the main door.
Very funny!

Yup all for a shot of this

4411113282_57d1786dfe_o.jpg

While PSing this photo can still feel that effect of the Sun in the back of the eye .. :sweat:

BEAUTIFUL!
Yah, man! This is it.
This is the one that made all our eyes tear and blur like nobody's business.
On my way back I was worried whether I brought enough eye drops for everyone or not.. haha :bsmilie:

TOK KONG shot ! :thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:

Eh.. people haven't shown the Lowepro shot yet.
That one lagi Tok Kong. Hor?!

Guys ..
for some reason .. that shot did not make the final cut.
When I view on my monitor .. it look terrible .. at first I thought I took out the wrong photo but after looking through it was no mistake.

It is understandable that it look great on the camera LCD, we all know that the resolution of the LCD make everything look good .. But what is puzzling is when Adrian show it on his crappy notebook it look good too.
Therefore I can only conclude that "negative and negative = positive" mean "carp photo on crap monitor = Great photo" hahahaha.. just kidding

But seriously .. it did not make the final cut

Sorry :cry:

But what the hell .. here is what I meant

4400931775_462c6f8507_o.jpg

Guys ..
When I view on my monitor .. it look terrible .. at first I thought I took out the wrong photo but after looking through it was no mistake.

It is understandable that it look great on the camera LCD, we all know that the resolution of the LCD make everything look good .. But what is puzzling is when Adrian show it on his crappy notebook it look good too.
Therefore I can only conclude that "negative and negative = positive" mean "carp photo on crap monitor = Great photo" hahahaha.. just kidding

Awwww :bheart:

Guys ..

4400931775_462c6f8507_o.jpg

But hell, it's a great shot still.
First time I see someone actually taking a direct shot of the setting sun against the side view of a mountain and capturing the TREES on it.
Remember, we were all surprised to see the sun cut into half, not knowing that there was a mountain there far away in the mist of the evening.

After that terrible Sunset shoot let's look at something Cute

4411059032_36f24320d5_o.jpg