KT Digital Imaging Pte Ltd

I would like to ask a NON- Camera question.
hehehe.. since u guys always go to chinatown, do you know if there have any nice MA La Steamboat? :bsmilie:

Karyinn said:

hehehe.. since u guys always go to chinatown, do you know if there have any nice MA La Steamboat? :bsmilie:[/Q
There is malan lai mian at majesty building.

Tan SK said:
Karyinn said:

hehehe.. since u guys always go to chinatown, do you know if there have any nice MA La Steamboat? :bsmilie:[/Q
There is malan lai mian at majesty building.

Can I use CF Card to bring the images for printing? I can get back the CF Card immediately? :sweat:

Gd day to all,
an extremely newbie here. Have processed my first batch of digital photos at KT. Love the quality they produced.

Would like to understand more abt digital photos. Understand from my friend that the "codes" imprinted at the back of the photos does carry some meaning in it. like "NNN" represent that its not touch up... Is it true?

Please help to enlighten me on it. Pardon for my ignorance but i hope to pick up more knowledge.

Thanks in advance.

Explanation somewhere in the forum... well, I'll extract it from me personal files again...

N - 1st alphabet refers to amount of Cyan compensation
N - 2nd alphabet refers to amount of Magenta compensation
N - 3rd alphanet refers to amount of Yellow compensation
N - 4th/last alphabet refers to amount of Density compensation

If any of the 4 characters are in numeric (ie number form, like 1,2,5,etc), it means that the lab has added that particular compensation. If they are in alphabetic (ie, A,C,D,G,etc), it means a reduction of that value.

So, if you get NN1D, it means that the lab has adjusted Yellow by upping it by 1 stop and lightened your source image by 4 stops (made brighter).

Most of the time, good Frontier labs will not adjust more than + or - 2 stops for the Cyan-Magenta-Yellow compensations, unless your source image is really of that bad a quality.

Density Compensation
This is the last character in the reading. Density refers to the brightness/constrast of the photo. Numeric (number) values mean an increase of density or a darkening of the picture output. This is usually for over-exposed photos.
An alphabetical value (A, B, C and so on) mean that the lab has minused or reduced the density. This also means that they have "brightened" or lightened the final output image. Why do so? Most of the time, an average digital camera (PnS, prosumer and DSLRs) will produce images that are 1-2 stops underexposed or dimmer than its corresponding film counterpart. So the lab adjusts for that.

Reading the values
1, 2, 3 and so on is pretty simple. The higher the number, the greater the amount compensated by the lab. Alphabet values are the same. A means a "-1" (minus one) compensation while a D means "-4".

Printing NNNN value
Calibrate or adjust your monitor and camera to get a very close or identical colors/brightness as your lab(s) and do your adjustments on your PC before sending them to print. It is possible to get 90% accuracy out-of-camera. You just need to understand you own cam, master it and try out a sequence of test prints from it at your favourite lab. Match the colours your get until you are happy and stay with that lab.

Hope this helps. :)

Tan SK, sorry for 'hijaaking" your thread to post this. ;p

Thank Azure for the knowledge sharing. :)

I wasnt sure that such useful info have been posted in the forum before and thus I repeat it. Will spend more time to browse the forum for more info.

Sorry that i hijacked the thread. Pls pardon me.... :rolleyes:

NiVleK said:
Can I use CF Card to bring the images for printing? I can get back the CF Card immediately? :sweat:
Can. Jus ask the staff to download your images to the harddisk first then you can have your CF card back.

Just got back a few 10x15 prints from KT. Best printer I've come across so far in Singapore. There are places that charges almost 100% more but could not produce the same standard of prints. Will be going back there in future.

ultrapooh said:
Thank Azure for the knowledge sharing. :)
u r welcome. ;)

Nivlek, I'm going down on Tuesday... got meows to print leh. ;p

Another nice experience with KT. Yesterday i went to collect my prints. I ordered my prints with border but they without border. The lady willingly reprint for me at no extra cost! And i can collect it in 15min! :o
Such services are hard to come by. And some of larger prints which i said didnt want to colour correct but they forgot. They wanted to reprint it but i didnt want to ask them to print again... Felt so pai seh... it is like doing it all over again :embrass:

Colours are also very accurate! :)

Kudos to KT! :thumbsup: :thumbsup: :thumbsup:

Just sent in 7 digital pictures for S8R prints at 14:30 today.
Was told to come back the next day at 6pm.
Is this normal?

Btw, I have told them I want the prints early tomorrow and they said OK.

I was there at about 12.35pm just now they ask me tomorrow can, I told them if possible I would like it by tonight, they just oblidged and told me after 7 should be ok. Btw, I sent in 120+ shots, maybe I'm the one that delayed your prints. :sweatsm: Around 2.40+, they called up to confirm on some settings.... ;)

There was another time I bulked sent 300 shots and 2 S8Rs for prints at about 12.20pm they didn't have any major customer to handle so they told me 6pm is fine.

Give and take lor, they can only print so fast... 1 day isn't too long... unless you really need speed, I recommend Beautiful Memories @ Stamford House for instant prints.

Hehe..... it wasn't me... I sent a modest 30 x 6R only leh.

No lah, I think what was holding up the queue were the many wedding photogs' prints and some super regulars (wasn't me!) :sweat:

Just got back my prints.
I must say KT's prints are fantastic in colours. Friendly staffs they've got there.
Well, I think I will only go there to print from now on. :)

Were you there just now? I was there at about 1.30pm. While I was there, I heard the lady told a customer they were experiencing traffic jam already cause too many customers so can't make it on time today for collection. The moment she saw me, she offered to print for me straight away cause she knew I lived quite far la :) Brought only 20 pics for printing..feel very paiseh :D waited for about 15 mins all done.

:thumbsup: :thumbsup: :thumbsup: :thumbsup: :thumbsup:

Just went to Miao Laan at Bt Batok to print one S8R. As there isn't much people there the guy print it on the spot for me, he even bring me to his computer to see how much to adjust. :thumbsup:

Has ask him how much they charge for clubsnap members. His reply was, $0.30 for 4R, $3 for S8R. They are also having a promotion right now. For every 50 pcs of 4R printed, you are given a free S8R or 8R, I can't remember which one is it.

Where is Miao Laan? Any landmarks?

grado said:
Where is Miao Laan? Any landmarks?

Blk 154 Bukit Batok St 11
#01-302
S'pore 650154

Opposite NTUC.

Ok, thanks! Maybe give it a try next time as it is quite near my place...

tanhb said:
Blk 154 Bukit Batok St 11
#01-302
S'pore 650154

Opposite NTUC.

so is the quality as good as the main branch?

if okay.. i might consider shifting to there... going Chinatown is too much work..