It's Official - D300, D3 and Lenses etc

Nikon has made great strides in noise reduction...

The ISO 6400 picture looks so clean! But is it just me, or is there some smearing going on?

Chroma noise has been nuked, but the image is still quite grainy.

Superb camera... I may be regretting my decision 3 years back to get the 20D instead of the D80, but I won't regret getting my Mk3 :)
it is just you. and please tell me which camera isnt grainy when shooting at a high iso?

I was just wondering if nikon might have implemented some new luminance noise reduction.

They are still wonderful examples!

Look at the face of the trumpeter in the ISO6400 photo. You can see the pores and the stubbles of his moustache! Amazing details even at high ISO!

Arghhhhh... poisoned!

BC

show of hands, how many people have already readied their cash :bsmilie:

I just looked at my bank account... :cry:... the heart is willing but the wallet is empty.

BC

Heard that D3 is more hot than 1D3... gotta queue longer and initial production isn't gonna put out a lot of it. :sweat:

I just looked at my bank account... :cry:... the heart is willing but the wallet is empty.

BC
sell backside lor, like some people that I know. :bsmilie:

BC

Well, the Toto queue is still there... :bsmilie:

I'm queuing tomorrow... got a few BIG draws coming up.

alamak the D300 official samples only show ISO 200 so far, disappointing...

I believe D300 is similar to D200 in the ISO department. D3 have the advantage of much bigger photosites coupled with current technology.

just back from Nikon Live in Tokyo. quite an unexpected big crowd for a weekday afternoon, had to queue for 1 hour just to try the new machines for 2 minutes :sweat: quite a pity they do not allow people to bring home the image files of the test shoots :( each participant gets to choose 1 test shot and print out only. but the D3 sure feels good. i'm not a user of ''big'' cameras (i don't even like battery attachments) but the D3 slips into the hand naturally, grip is surprisingly comfortable. lots of photos on display, and they actually sent a photographer to Singapore to do a shoot :bsmilie:

some pictures from the event today using my D80 though ...

long queue for a try on the cameras ...
nikonlive01.jpg

6 persons at a time (3 on D3 and 3 on D300) testing out the machines
(paiseh didn't bring my wide angle)
nikonlive02.jpg

seminar on D300
nikonlive03.jpg

QnA booth
nikonlive04.jpg

uncoated D3 body
nikonlive05.jpg

uncoated D300 body + battery grip
nikonlive06.jpg

... btw the 9fps is so shiok :sweat:

so did you try the D3?

did it speak to you?

btw were they production models?

yah, for a couple of test shoots only lah, it's like the grip feels right and everything else fall into place nicely kind of feel, didn't have a chance to pixel peek :p so can't say for picture quality, but can see big prints (approx. A0) of the samples found online. would have liked to stay longer to try out all the buttons, but simply too many people ... the queue stretched from the waiting room outside the showroom all the way to the escalators ... they should do it at a bigger venue with more machines! don't know if they were production models though :think: but judging from the response i think it might just go out of stock quickly after the first batch rolls out, a number of industry customers were around also.

what about the 51 point AF?

oh, focusing is very fast, could be the lens also, they gave a wide angle lens for the trial. i think the 51 points might be ''over sensitive'' for me :bsmilie:, maneuvering the point of focus takes abit of getting use to.

did you try the 3D AF tracking thingy? ;p