Is dry cabinet necessary ?

Originally posted by Joseph
I am using a airtight box with silica gel...

Careful with the silica gel. When you pour it new into an airtight box, after a while it will turn blue because it absorbs moisture right? So if you don't forget to discard the gel, it is as good as putting 'water' in the airtight box. lagi worst..... get a humidifier

Get a dry cabinet. Saves u all the hassels and trouble to reheat and purchase new silica gel.

hmm seem like a dry cabinet is a better investment...so how does that thing work? runs on electricity, and how much is the pricing?
pls bare with a newbie like mi with lotsa qns.:p

I own a Canon G3 and have a 52mm adapter and a UV filter on it.
Do I actually need such a dry cabin? I am not sure about it since G3 lens cant be seprerated from the camera, they are togehter.

without dry cabin, what possible damage to the camera and its lens?

yea it runs on electricity. Cost ard 80 dollars digicabi from careforre.

Just got a bossman 28L dampproof cabinet from mscolor,
So I just put my cameras and accessories in without any worries ? There doesn't seem to be any settings for me to adjust.

Originally posted by myin
I own a Canon G3 and have a 52mm adapter and a UV filter on it.
Do I actually need such a dry cabin? I am not sure about it since G3 lens cant be seprerated from the camera, they are togehter.

without dry cabin, what possible damage to the camera and its lens?

My advice is no matter what camera you using, be it Point&Shoot, digital cameras, SLRs, TLRs, etc, they should all be properly maintained and kept in dry cabinets. The dehumidifier helps prevents fungus from your lenses (all cameras have lenses!) and other kinds of fungal problems. I don't see the point of buying a $5000 Hasselblad and let it grow fungus and then spend like $500 servicing it and lose quality. Don't save on dry cabinets (or at least a dry box with silicon gel) or you'll live to regret it.

Is thirsty hippo too drying?
I have been keeping my camera in my cupboard with a thirsty hippo..... coz I moving back home in 1 months time.... no point buying a dry cabinet now... bring to hall and then have to move everything back.....
Planning to buy a dry cabinet at the end of the month.....

Originally posted by xin
Is thirsty hippo too drying?
I have been keeping my camera in my cupboard with a thirsty hippo..... coz I moving back home in 1 months time.... no point buying a dry cabinet now... bring to hall and then have to move everything back.....
Planning to buy a dry cabinet at the end of the month.....

Think thristy hippo no point lah coz in such a big n wide area compared to within a dry cabi. Get a dry cabi soon... not staying in hall liaoz?

Graduating liaoz.... so moving back home mah.....

I put 3 thirsty hippos in my cupboard..... and 1 specially in that small locked cupboard which house my camera.....
The thirsty hippo absorbed quite abit of water liaoz..... thats why I abit worried whether its too drying......

Originally posted by xin
Graduating liaoz.... so moving back home mah.....

I put 3 thirsty hippos in my cupboard..... and 1 specially in that small locked cupboard which house my camera.....
The thirsty hippo absorbed quite abit of water liaoz..... thats why I abit worried whether its too drying......

Well we won't know for sure unless you put a hydrometer inside that cupboard loh...

Which school you from? Wondering if I've seen you before leh...

MPE.... but dun think U will see me in school very often.....

Anywhere to get hydrometer? How much?

Originally posted by xin
MPE.... but dun think U will see me in school very often.....

Anywhere to get hydrometer? How much?

Dunno how much it cost...maybe you can check out Sim Lim Tower for it (no guarantee can find though)... perhaps someone can advise on this?

MPE ah then think I dunno you liaoz... anyway, happy clicking always!

dear xin and myin,

chyeo is right. Always use a hygrometer to measure the humidity to make sure. Should not try guessing. Invest in one, you will need it very often. Even if you have a dry box, you will need to double check sometimes to make sure that the one on the dry box is working. Mine was actualy konk out. I didnt know until I double checked it with a known working hygrometer.

Not just cameras, if you have large amounts of negatives, slides, etc, you should keep them in a dry box too if you intend to preserve them. Fungi grow on negs and slides too. Worst thing is that for negs and slides, there is no way of removing them.

We live in a horrible climate. Reason why those camera shops can leave their stocks on the shelves all the time is that the shops are usually air-con, which is dry, and hopefully the cams and lenses don't sit on the shelf for too long.

Used to own a Canon A40, which I had for 2 years plus. Never used a dry box. Now, it's still working perfectly. No signs of fungus growing on it too. Aren't u all too paranoid?

MS Color having promotion. Seems like a good buy.

M S Color
DB-26
20 litres
UP$128.00 Now----->$78.00
Less $50.00 Voucher

Bossman
SDG 68
66 litres
UP$208.00 Now----->$150.00
Less $50.00 Voucher
C/W 5year warranty
W415 x H510 x D397
3 Layer

DigiCabinet
ED-100
100 litres
UP$260.00 Now----->$210.00
Less $50.00 Voucher
C/W 5year warranty
W400 x H800 x D370
4 Layer Now$210.00 Now$210.00

xi he wrote:
Used to own a Canon A40, which I had for 2 years plus. Never used a dry box. Now, it's still working perfectly. No signs of fungus growing on it too. Aren't u all too paranoid?

xihe,

1) Do you live in Singapore? If not which country?
2) Is the camera kept in an air-con room when it is not in use?

Li Kuan, can you tell us where is MS color? May want to get another cab. Camera collection is growing.

Originally posted by Xihe

You ought to see lenses that are infested with fungus. FYI, SG's humidity is superb to culture fungus.:devil: