Insect Macro [Just another newbie shots]

Well, of course that is a compliment;) Just that you are being humble.

Thanks! Appreciate comments coming from the Masters and fellow CSer.

By the way, your macro shots are fantastic!!! :thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:

nice shoots... with great composition

these are more of a close up than a macro to me...

crop it tighter ... so that u can see the detail of the eyes n body....

Hi aaSKaa, thanks for viewing. Yeah sure, i'm also learning by reading tips/advise here at CS and the most important tip i got is to keep shooting! ;)

If you have any questions on my shots, please feel free to ask or you can PM me if you want. :D

Thanks mate. where was the bee taken ?. I love bee shots. Have always want to go to bee hangout areas.

Dun be fool by him.....he is no noob:bsmilie:

Brudder Koh, dont like that lah. I still got lots to learn too.

nice shoots... with great composition

these are more of a close up than a macro to me...

crop it tighter ... so that u can see the detail of the eyes n body....

Hi sgfreestyler, thanks for your comments and advice! Hopefully next time, i can come up with shots that can be considered macro! ;)

Thanks mate. where was the bee taken ?. I love bee shots. Have always want to go to bee hangout areas.

Brudder Koh, dont like that lah. I still got lots to learn too.

Hi aaSKaa, you got me! i saw your pics and they are obviously better than mine! You're already a PRO!!!

Anyway, i took these at Hort Park.

Nice Series. I super newbie in Macro too. ;)

Hi aaSKaa, you got me! i saw your pics and they are obviously better than mine! You're already a PRO!!!

Anyway, i took these at Hort Park.

Pro..... Never. Dont listen to brudder Koh.

wa, you spoil market la, such nice pics and still noob ah... :bsmilie:

You used flash for all the pics right? Liked how you've still got the exposure nailed properly, retained the colours of the subjects and surroundings. Very natural :)

wa, you spoil market la, such nice pics and still noob ah... :bsmilie:

You used flash for all the pics right? Liked how you've still got the exposure nailed properly, retained the colours of the subjects and surroundings. Very natural :)

Hi cancan7, thanks for your comments. Just got lucky I guess...

Yes i'm using The built-in flash with DIY diffuser. Some of the bee shots are actually underexposed. Adjusted the exposure using in-camera raw processing then used Photoshop to bump up the colors and sharpened a bit. ;)

When I use my speedlite, my background always turn black..
Hm, must learn how to use it more efficiently.

Seems like a lot of noobs hangin around. Shld have a outin some day.

When I use my speedlite, my background always turn black..
Hm, must learn how to use it more efficiently.

Seems like a lot of noobs hangin around. Shld have a outin some day.

I haven't use my speedlight when doing macro, but from my experience, i notice that even when i'm using the built-in flash, i can have a totally black background if

1. there is nothing in the background to bounce back the light, later i will post some image to describe this.

2. a faster shutter speed (everything else is not changed: aperture, iso).:D

These are just based from my trial and error attempt. Maybe some of the more experienced shooters can also share their views.;)

Nice captures and well taken! :)

Seems like I have more places to add in my list for macro shooting liao...

Nice captures and well taken! :)

Seems like I have more places to add in my list for macro shooting liao...

Hi NovJoe, Thanks for viewing and your comments. I'm glad you liked them. I have to thank you for some of your comments in my previous post.

I haven't use my speedlight when doing macro, but from my experience, i notice that even when i'm using the built-in flash, i can have a totally black background if

1. there is nothing in the background to bounce back the light, later i will post some image to describe this.

2. a faster shutter speed (everything else is not changed: aperture, iso).:D

These are just based from my trial and error attempt. Maybe some of the more experienced shooters can also share their views.;)

Here are some pics to describe #1

The background is black because there is nothing to reflect the light coming from the flash.
4032188026_f01b456214.jpg

With this picture below, there are some leaves in the background illuminated by the flash creating a totally different effect.
4027186397_58c4ab7740.jpg

I hope this helps. ;)

Here are some pics to describe #1

The background is black because there is nothing to reflect the light coming from the flash.
4032188026_f01b456214.jpg

With this picture below, there are some leaves in the background illuminated by the flash creating a totally different effect.
4027186397_58c4ab7740.jpg

I hope this helps. ;)

Hmm.
I get the theory behind it but sometimes I have background but it still ends up black.
Would that be due to diffuser!?

:cool: Happy Macro-ing

Hmm.
I get the theory behind it but sometimes I have background but it still ends up black.
Would that be due to diffuser!?

:cool: Happy Macro-ing

There are 4 things i can think of:

1. The diffuser softens the light and it becomes too weak to illuminate you background.
2. The Flash power is not enough, then your diffuser weaken it some more.
3. Your background is too far from your subject.
4. Shutter Speed is too fast to allow any ambient light to hit your sensor.

Hope this helps. ;)

Very nice series bro!

If I have to nitpick,
you can increase the ISO, I notice you use ISO 200 for most of your shots. Try 400, or even 800. Also I think you're using only the built-in flash. If you have another flash like SB600, you can play more with lighting by wireless commander mode. Just my humble suggestions. :)