I can't get a seat on MRT anymore

i came to realise that graciousness does not work in Singapore.

you can be gracious all the time but people just do not appreciate it, in the end is kena makan only.

in our warped society, you either eat or be eaten, there is no such thing as sitting on the fence.

pretty weird right?

i said thanks to the filipino shell petrol station cashier, and he replied me with "thank you". when i went out and saw the chinese uncle who topped up my petrol for me and said thanks, he just stared at me blankly and seemed mildly surprised as if i said something retarded.

either he was surprised that i thanked him, or maybe he was just a crochety old man.

and perhaps singaporeans take for granted what they have till they forget to thank those who've helped them.

As a passenger I feel very stressed if I sit on a MRT train. Even though I'm a paying passenger public sentiment will view me as 'ungracious' if I do not give up my seat to - pregnant lady, elderlies, young kids, handicap or disabled.

Why am I subjected to such undue judgement when all I'm doing is exercising my right as a passenger? And worse when recent cases of passengers getting scolded by elderlies for simply sitting at their rightful reserved seats. Is it fair to us commuters who pay the same fare but 'not allowed' to sit like everyone else?

Not trying to rub salt into your wound... but you are paying to be transported from point A to point B... your payment doesn't comes with guaranteed seating. :think:

I am very skeptical on whether seats should be given to parents with young kids. Many a times I see parents carrying their kids and wheeling their prams, given a seat by a kind commuter, and then the next moment, they release the kid to run about to play on the floor and the poles.

pretty weird right?

i said thanks to the filipino shell petrol station cashier, and he replied me with "thank you". when i went out and saw the chinese uncle who topped up my petrol for me and said thanks, he just stared at me blankly and seemed mildly surprised as if i said something retarded.

either he was surprised that i thanked him, or maybe he was just a crochety old man.

and perhaps singaporeans take for granted what they have till they forget to thank those who've helped them.

there was once when i held the lift door opened for what looked like a pair of young, learned parents and their pram-sitting toddler.

guess what? they just rolled into the lift, shut the door and went up. they did not even took a second to glance at me and acknowledge my little help, not to mentioned the absence of saying 'thank you' too.

i was pretty surprised, not that i was in dire need of that 'thank you'. but hey, at least look at people, have eye contact and smile la. very difficult meh?

for me, i still say thanks to people, i feel that it may just aid in lighten up one's day. minimal effort to show your appreciation, so why not?

but for giving up seat in MRT, yeah i am very skeptical too.

I don't take the MRT anymore unless really need to... breakdown is quite common now adays and its always jam packed... even if there is seat I also do not dare to sit least some uncle/aunt will look at you like you owe them money...

The problem lies with fast pace society when saying thank you seems to be wasting time.

I don't take the MRT anymore unless really need to... breakdown is quite common now adays and its always jam packed... even if there is seat I also do not dare to sit least some uncle/aunt will look at you like you owe them money...

with the population getting higher, plus our kiasu-ism history and the fact that a lot of our old folks thought that priority seats mean 'confirm got seat', this is what our society has degraded into.

people demanding for seats when it is a first come first serve basis. and they do so like they have paid for business class onboard SIA planes. how can people not get turned off by such nonsense?

so what can be done for those who do not give up their seat? call police and catch them? prosecute them under what section of the law? sometimes i see SMRT personnels stepping into the train and demanding people to give up their seats, which i feel is really uncalled for.

i say they should just abolish the priority seat bollocks, it cause nothing but trouble. it will never work like those 博爱 seats(gracious seats) on Taiwan's Metro.

tecnica said:
with the population getting higher, plus our kiasu-ism history and the fact that a lot of our old folks thought that priority seats mean 'confirm got seat', this is what our society has degraded into.

people demanding for seats when it is a first come first serve basis. and they do so like they have paid for business class onboard SIA planes. how can people not get turned off by such nonsense?

so what can be done for those who do not give up their seat? call police and catch them? prosecute them under what section of the law? sometimes i see SMRT personnels stepping into the train and demanding people to give up their seats, which i feel is really uncalled for.

i say they should just abolish the priority seat bollocks, it cause nothing but trouble. it will never work like those 博爱 seats(gracious seats) on Taiwan's Metro.

I have given up seats for a young chap who was very sick. I think the whole nonsense about reserved seat is nonsense. Make a reserved carriage I'm fine. But please protect those working class who might have stood whole day and after many hours of work, the feeling of sitting down is just damn shiok. Graciousness is a voluntary act, not out of compulsion.

I've written to smart about this but they recite their PR lines which I had little patience for. But basically I'm told to accept it. I don't think it's right to charge higher to guarantee seats after all some elderly is poor.

There are times when I am very tired but I can't slp. That's when I just close my eyes. It becomes almost a crime if I open my eyes then close again. Even when I close my eyes at home, I do that. But I will be framed as "pretending to slp". Seriously?!

Make all seats individually withdrawn and need to pay to release for seating. You want a seat, tap your ezlink card to deduct max charge to release the seat. When getting off, close back the seat and tap again to refund less the cost of renting the seat. You can vary the charges so that students, senior citizens, etc get lower fares. Then no need to complain. You pay for what you get. :heart:

It still does not resolve the problem given the population growing at this rate. There won't be enough of such seats eventually. The root lies with the size and variety of our population. Economic growth comes at a sacrifice for quality lifestyle.

Make all seats individually withdrawn and need to pay to release for seating. You want a seat, tap your ezlink card to deduct max charge to release the seat. When getting off, close back the seat and tap again to refund less the cost of renting the seat. You can vary the charges so that students, senior citizens, etc get lower fares. Then no need to complain. You pay for what you get. :heart:

Are you serious or just joking... :o

Should I pay more also if I need to use the lift instead of the stairs ?? Or should MRT charge us for using the escalator too ?? Is it better in your mind... that as long as you could afford to buy a sit... a poorer, person must stand about and watch you ?? What about a poor old senior citizen who can't afford that extra dollar or two for the seat... too bad for them iszit ??

Please lah... if you could afford all this 'extra' $$$ for seats.... go take a cab and leave one more space for those of us that could ill afford such things...

That's true. I always give them $1 each before I sit down beside them.

And half fare for those who ride on the roof: :bsmilie:

656958-crowded-trains.jpg

ricohflex said:
Everything we do is subject to other people's judgement. A person who refuses to give up his seat to pregnant ladies, elderly, young kids, handicapped or disabled would generally be a low class character. Whether one is a paying passenger is not the point.

Agree.
Whenever I see pregnant lady or old people, I give up my seat to them. It's just the right thing to do.
But it's now almost criminal to sit at a train if ur not old or pregnant. I have come across some aunties who really cheong to empty seats as if theres gold bar under it. N worse when they make scathing remarks to the person when they can't get a seat.
Graciousness should work both ways, it wouldn't hurt if they ask politely to the person to give up their seat. Just look at the recent video of the aunty making such a huge fuss to the lady in the MRT. You think even if their elderly does it justify that attitude and behaviour?
So lets say if I had a really long n tired day n hope to sit through the journey. by doing so n not give up my seat I'm deemed unacceptable behaviour?

Well this is one reason why people turn to cycling to work. Guaranteed a seat plus healthy too. :)

phoeniix said:
Well this is one reason why people turn to cycling to work. Guaranteed a seat plus healthy too. :)

Looks cool too!

As a passenger I feel very stressed if I sit on a MRT train. Even though I'm a paying passenger public sentiment will view me as 'ungracious' if I do not give up my seat to - pregnant lady, elderlies, young kids, handicap or disabled.

Why am I subjected to such undue judgement when all I'm doing is exercising my right as a passenger? And worse when recent cases of passengers getting scolded by elderlies for simply sitting at their rightful reserved seats. Is it fair to us commuters who pay the same fare but 'not allowed' to sit like everyone else?

err.. i dontknow why u need to mention " Im a paying passenger" Sure you are. But...isn't everyone paying too? :dunno:

Then of course..i dont think there is a law saying we must gave up our seat to them.. But rather its just being more right to do so. (you may still choose to say no tho) But think about it if you are in their situation Ie. your pregnant wife, when you're old.. etc etc.

Yes i agree with you. I, myself also cant stand some older people nowadays who board the train and thinks they deserve or people MUST give them a seat. For me..its abit ridiculous. Sure we should. But its not a must either.

Agree.
Whenever I see pregnant lady or old people, I give up my seat to them. It's just the right thing to do.
But it's now almost criminal to sit at a train if ur not old or pregnant. I have come across some aunties who really cheong to empty seats as if theres gold bar under it. N worse when they make scathing remarks to the person when they can't get a seat.
Graciousness should work both ways, it wouldn't hurt if they ask politely to the person to give up their seat. Just look at the recent video of the aunty making such a huge fuss to the lady in the MRT. You think even if their elderly does it justify that attitude and behaviour?
So lets say if I had a really long n tired day n hope to sit through the journey. by doing so n not give up my seat I'm deemed unacceptable behaviour?

Anyhow...if you refuse to give up your seats to the more needy..its deemed as unacceptable behaviour.
Come on. You had a really long and tired day. Do you think its only you? :) think about it.