Let's calculate the cost of living for a single working adult male living with parents in Singapore;
Meals : $10 x 30 days = $300
Transport : $4 x 30 days = $120
Shopping : Work shirt, pants $150 x 2 times a month = $300
Clubbing/Geylang : $120 x 5 times a month = $600
Give parents : $200 per month
Total : $1,520 a month
I haven't been working in Singapore for some time but I think this is the very basic, and I have inflated the amounts with some extras thrown in... So someone with a basic salary of S$1,600 should be able to live comfortably in Singapore, with some money to save - if you minus the shopping and the 'fun' activities, you'll save even more!
What I'm trying to illustrate is - Spend within your means.... and you'll be happy.
I think S$5000 a month including annual bonus would be ideal for living comfortably in such times of rising costs. Would be just right for those living in a HDB apartment, travels once or twice a year and pampers themselves every few months plus giving a bit to parents.
I think you've left out the bills ...
Yep
PUB
TV
Car park
Income tax
Singtel
Singnet...
miss anything?
you only comfortable when u feel you are. If not, even 100k a month still not good enough.
with so many spa/massage shops, even at heartlands, i am sure this is one item you have missed ...:think:Yep
PUB
TV
Car park
Income tax
Singtel
Singnet...
miss anything?
When I graduated my 1.5k was very decent for a uni grad. This days, with the rising costs, housing, hobbies, dating costs etc, what does it cost to have a decent lifestyle locally, and what do you consider to be decent anyway?
- a holiday a year that requires flying?
- new hi fi / camera / toy every half yearly?
- a good meal each week?
Let's calculate the cost of living for a single working adult male living with parents in Singapore;
I haven't been working in Singapore for some time but I think this is the very basic, and I have inflated the amounts with some extras thrown in... So someone with a basic salary of S$1,600 should be able to live comfortably in Singapore, with some money to save - if you minus the shopping and the 'fun' activities, you'll save even more!
What I'm trying to illustrate is - Spend within your means.... and you'll be happy.
when the situation around you changes, your lifestyle must also change to match the situation
1st is to list all the luxuries that you enjoy, these should be the 1st to go in hard times.
All I ask for is a simple life, no need to work such hectic pace, 9-5 work, can bring home enuff to feed my wife and children, and still have enough to take care of my elderly parents, with or without car not a problem, better and affordable public transport, affordable public housing, more time for family, enuff to send my kids to school up to tertiary level, affordable medical services, some time for my hobby, ability to retire at 55, cycle to be repeated by my children...
...but, we can hardly cope even if both the couple is working. And we couldn't provide enuff support for our parents, and gahmen is encouraging the old man to work and fend for themselves, wife working cannot cook and some dun even noe how to cook, meals are oni 15mins settle at hawker, less communication among family members, work late everyday, bring home very little every month, public housing can cost as much as 20yrs-30yrs of ur annual income, work too hard get ill easily, stay hospital more expensive than staying hotel, public transport unable to handle the capacity and keep have fare hikes, too many unis, more grad students, not enuff grads jobs, pay suppressed,.... *sigh*
10K/month how to buy HDB? :dunno:to start a family in singapore in singapore with lets say a 4 room hdb and 2 kids,
i think both the guy and gal must earn at least $5k each, that means total $10k/month
if not in singapore, i dunno how to get married.