Fuji X-E1 and new compact coming!

zoomz always spreading poison . :bsmilie:

u still have the cv 35? or sold already

Haha... told you that you will see the difference since few weeks back... welcome to the club!

At f1.4, the image is still super sharp and resolving. Not many lenses can do that.

Screen protector can go straight to Sgcamerastore. Filter can use Carl Zeiss or Fujinon filter which has better paint than B+W (paint wear off easily after cleaning a few times) and probably similar coating as the Fuji EBC coating.

Leather case only comes with Tan Brown, which may fit your silver X-E1, but looks weird on my black X-E1. No compatible leather case available yet, as this is too new.

Gariz, Kaza, etc... all will have leather cases available from Nov onwards!

You will still need a good soft release button, good A&A silk straps, extra battery, super fast SDcard, etc....

Buy...buy...buy..... Poisonous!

If you have budget for premium one, you can also try Martin Fields (Made in Japan), which will cost around $25 per piece. Paste with high standards, with no bubbles or dust between.

D way u list out d stuff... Even if I sell my cron 35 ASPH oso not enuff to cover.. LOL... Forever the poisonous ZoomZ... :bsmilie:

I still haf d sigma 19mm and cv 35-1.7 asph.. my wife using then on her NEX F3.. she doesnt want my summicron, say too heavy and her cv 35-1.7 asph is as good as d cron 35 asph. she oso doesnt like my hawks helicoid adapter and prefer her HK made one, weird wife i have... :mad2:

Sold long time ago... amending a little as a bit OOT...

The kit 35mm is good enough, sharper than the CV35 and lighter.

Actually, when all the X lenses are available, I don't think will need the adapter at all, as it covers all the range from the superb primes to zoom lenses with OIS....

And better save up now for more buy...buy...buy..... poison!

Actually, when all the X lenses are available, I don't think will need the adapter at all, as it covers all the range from the superb primes to zoom lenses with OIS....

I dun need other lenses actually... haha... can use my wife's F3 to take landscape shots on 19mm sigma, no purple fringe and super sharp... rather save up for d new M body... it's in d soul... n also a lux 35 asph fle... which will set me bk 14k - 15k...

should i? kakakakaka. my concern is the AF. there's not much video showing the AF speed.

U should... R U already wif X-E1?? Show u some shots k... just some quick one, ooc jpegs wif no pp at all... nothing fancy...

Seriously not too bad at all... sharpness as good as my cron 35 asph on NEX 7... Color rendering wise this is slightly better and Bokeh, of coz this wins @f/1.4 leh...

Thoth

Keep your cron. I just tested the cron vs the fle on the XE again, this time with a tripod. Corner sharpness of the cron on XE at f2 is a bit better than the fle. Sharpness almost as good. But both M's seem sharper on the corners with the GXR (micro lenses on the GXR at work?). And the Lumix 25f1.4 w GX1 is also quite close to the XF and the M's.

Best overall quality and value for the XE is still the XF35.

Love the colour..Just try with 2 shots. AF still have room for improvement but who care!! i love the colour and the look.As some brother said it have soul in it!!!

Black and White
x1-X2.jpg

Colour
x2-X2.jpg

ziggy said:
Thoth

Keep your cron. I just tested the cron vs the fle on the XE again, this time with a tripod. Corner sharpness of the cron on XE at f2 is a bit better than the fle. Sharpness almost as good. But both M's seem sharper on the corners with the GXR (micro lenses on the GXR at work?). And the Lumix 25f1.4 w GX1 is also quite close to the XF and the M's.

Best overall quality and value for the XE is still the XF35.

Tks bro. Might just keep it. It has soul. Haha

It seems that your 35cron is special... got soul.... hmmm...haunted set?

Just joking. I know what you mean. I will not sell my perfectly calibrated 50lux chrome set as well. Took a few buy and sell journey of a few brand new 50lux to come to this perfect one!

Haha.... seems that you don't need a bank anymore. So continue with more BBB journey? You are still short of the handgrip, as well as the new 18-55mm zoom lens coming in Nov.

Tks bro. Might just keep it. It has soul. Haha

ZoomZ said:
It seems that your 35cron is special... got soul.... hmmm...haunted set?

Just joking. I know what you mean. I will not sell my perfectly calibrated 50lux chrome set as well. Took a few buy and sell journey of a few brand new 50lux to come to this perfect one!

Haha.... seems that you don't need a bank anymore. So continue with more BBB journey? You are still short of the handgrip, as well as the new 18-55mm zoom lens coming in Nov.

Do I need a handgrip? Haha. Dun think I want d zoom kit lens anyway. Just buying d UV n CPL filters n LCD screen protector for now. D X-E1 looks sexy in bare though.

How painful is manual focusing on d X-E1 without focus peaking?

Thoth said:

1. Move your AF point to the desired subject.
2. Press the thumb wheel to enable 10x magnification. Flip the thumb wheel for 3x magnification if you find that 10x is too much.
3. Move your lens focus ring to get your subject in focus, under magnified mode.
4. Snap.

Without focus peaking you can only achieve sharp focus by looking at the rear LCD/ EVF. Not easy but still achievable. I only tried manual focus on 2 manual lenses: Leica Summitar 50mm f/2 and Voigtlander 12mm f/5.6. It takes trial and error to get accurate focus on the Summitar @ f/2 whereas the CV12 is almost point-and-shoot due to its extreme DoF.

Yes, a handgrip will be very useful for stability since the prime lenses does not come with OIS, and will be good for users coming out from the common OIS lenses from all major brands. Like Leica, the body is designed to be "sleek" and not as practical as DSLR with built in "grip" area to help in handling. For this, Nex 7 is better designed with nice built-in grip.

Please don't buy the zoom lens as there will be a shortage during launch. Haha...

Yes, X-E1 looks really cool, especially the Black one. Leica M9P looks a lot better in Chrome, but the design and combination of chrome/black proportion of the silver X-E1 as well as the X100 don't look as sexy as the black one. Personal opinion. Don't scold me...

The focus peaking of Sony Nex is good for manual lenses, but it some cases, it is still not focus sharply just by looking at the peaking colour. I am not dependent on it and thus no issue with or without focus peaking.

The X-E1 manual focus with magnification feels more like a traditional rangefinder, just imagine having a 1.4x magnification lens attached to a M9. Very easy to use (maybe not straight away friendly to use for users who are used to focus peaking e.g. GXR and Nex users), but so far only tested it for fun as in the normal shooting, the auto-focus of X-E1 is accurate enough that you get sharp images most of the time, thus no need the do manual focusing at all. The 'blur" image is normally not due to auto-focus problem, but the hand-shake of new users who are not used to the camera without OIS.

I find the AF of Fuji X more accurate than other brands that I have owned before, including Nex 7, RX100, etc...

Do I need a handgrip? Haha. Dun think I want d zoom kit lens anyway. Just buying d UV n CPL filters n LCD screen protector for now. D X-E1 looks sexy in bare though.

I find the AF of Fuji X more accurate than other brands that I have owned before, including Nex 7, RX100, etc...

from my own experience, the AF accuracy of the Fuji X IS a problem for me - always back focus, hardly spot on in macro.

zzyzx said:
from my own experience, the AF accuracy of the Fuji X IS a problem for me - always back focus, hardly spot on in macro.

One question. Everytime I power up d camera. It shown "Upgrade the lens profile". What does it mean?

Thoth said:
One question. Everytime I power up d camera. It shown "Upgrade the lens profile". What does it mean?

Your X-E1 is on latest firmware but your XF lenses are not. Go Fuji website and download and install the latest lens firmware

yrh0413 said:
Your X-E1 is on latest firmware but your XF lenses are not. Go Fuji website and download and install the latest lens firmware

Tks. So I just download d firmware for d lens. Mount d lens to d camera. Plug in d USB to both d camera n d comp. then?

Will d CD tat comes wif d package helps in any ways? Cheers.

zzyzx said:

Back focus with PDAF?