Fuji X-E1 and new compact coming!

I have both the xe1 and d600. IMHO they both compliment each other and hard to put down either (I've tried)

In terms of Bokeh (creamy), detail and AF speed, the D600 run rings around the xe1. High ISO is also better on D600, albeit marginally. (Full frame after all)

Actually the d600 is not heavy... with primes such as the 50mm f1.4g and 35mm f2d, the set up is less than 1kg, lightest ff set up I have used. And the new g lenses are very good for the price... try it with the 28mm f1.8g and 85mm f1.8g you'll be surprised it surpassed many L lenses 3 times the price.

As for the xe1, it holds its own in terms of stealth and compactness. Surprising the sharpness of the xf lenses are as good if not better than the Nikon primes. And the fuji colours are rendered so nicely and natural. Weight with the xf16mm is barely above 500g and with xf35mm abt 600g. I also like the evf for creative options such as flare preview.
All in all, both cams compliment each other brilliantly... one Rifle the other pistol which is why I'm keeping both.

Hope this will help you decide what you need... buy both bodies with different lenses if you really can't decide. :)

cheers!

ezekiel said:
I have both the xe1 and d600. IMHO they both compliment each other and hard to put down either (I've tried)

In terms of Bokeh (creamy), detail and AF speed, the D600 run rings around the xe1. High ISO is also better on D600, albeit marginally. (Full frame after all)

Actually the d600 is not heavy... with primes such as the 50mm f1.4g and 35mm f2d, the set up is less than 1kg, lightest ff set up I have used. And the new g lenses are very good for the price... try it with the 28mm f1.8g and 85mm f1.8g you'll be surprised it surpassed many L lenses 3 times the price.

As for the xe1, it holds its own in terms of stealth and compactness. Surprising the sharpness of the xf lenses are as good if not better than the Nikon primes. And the fuji colours are rendered so nicely and natural. Weight with the xf16mm is barely above 500g and with xf35mm abt 600g. I also like the evf for creative options such as flare preview.
All in all, both cams compliment each other brilliantly... one Rifle the other pistol which is why I'm keeping both.

Hope this will help you decide what you need... buy both bodies with different lenses if you really can't decide. :)

cheers!

To b fair. Yes. Good to haf both at d same time. FF va d best APS-C sensors. TS might only haf budget for one n its up to him to gauge his shooting style if he needs either of them.

I was oso in dilemma of either D600 or X-E1 before. Settled wif X-E1 as I dun really need super fast AF or shallower DOF for now. Purely landscape n street n portraiture photography. Cheers.

sian....duno when will x-e1 with kit 18-55mm come ....its like forever.

Consider yourself lucky. In japan the X-E1 is only launched on 17/12. I was given strange looks when I whipped it out yesterday while looking for accessories for mine at bic camera. They had to check if their demo unit which was put out yesterday was missing after. :P

yupeeee said:
Consider yourself lucky. In japan the X-E1 is only launched on 17/12. I was given strange looks when I whipped it out yesterday while looking for accessories for mine at bic camera. They had to check if their demo unit which was put out yesterday was missing after. :P

Oo. Surprising. Did any cute Japanese school girls wanna take pictures with you after you whipped d X-E1 out, bro?

Any bros heading up to (or in HK) currently?

I'm keen to get the X-E1 w 35mm kit set...

I'm actually probably going to head up in Dec. (If not I will wait, and maybe offer to help bros buy when I go up).

But from a quick test between the 18-55 and the 18mm, it seems that the 18-55 is a sharper lens. Was quite disappointed with the 18mm.

M surprised if this is so, considering a zoom sharper than a prime... maybe due to OIS on the zoom and some handshake on the prime??

Is the 18-55 even available yet?

sigh disappointed went to familiar shop at Marina Bay ;-) but the guy quoted me 2180 no freebie only 16gb sd card..

Is the 18-55 even available yet?

Base on bh website they expect to have stock 9 nov 12

I bought 32gb nexus 7 from them.. Arriving tomorrow or tuesday

Not sure man. The AF seems faster and more accurate as well. Perhaps the 18mm was faulty.

M surprised if this is so, considering a zoom sharper than a prime... maybe due to OIS on the zoom and some handshake on the prime??

Not sure man. The AF seems faster and more accurate as well. Perhaps the 18mm was faulty.

Must check it out man... if really sharper and AF more faster and accurate than the 18mm prime... quite a good buy ya?? haha

so you got a pre-production copy? wat i heard is also mid Nov.

Yes... Mid Nov is what I last heard too... Later I go funan and double confirm again...

albertri said:
sigh disappointed went to familiar shop at Marina Bay ;-) but the guy quoted me 2180 no freebie only 16gb sd card..

hey bro $2180 for bundle 18-55mm ?

Yes... Mid Nov is what I last heard too... Later I go funan and double confirm again...

I saw display set (inside the cabinet) at Gain City Marina Square X-E1 with 18-55 dunni if real or just a mock-up set hehe. Didn't ask also. Only played the demo unit at Cathay Marina Square with 35mm AF speed ok like PEN hunt a bit and tries to hunt from MDF to Infinity I cant find a dark spot to AF also. The IQ of the image is really good and so is the color but the price puts me off SG price is really exp compare to other countries specially HK