Fuji S602Z has arrived...

Originally posted by itanium

any recomandations for flash?

only cheap one I know is Achiever but I'm not sure how reliable they are. perhaps others could help?

For Achiever, don't get the 260T (~$35) which has a high trigger voltage of >>200V!!!

Originally posted by mpenza

only cheap one I know is Achiever but I'm not sure how reliable they are. perhaps others could help?

For Achiever, don't get the 260T (~$35) which has a high trigger voltage of >>200V!!!

I using this flash for quite a long time ald leh. nothing wrong though...where u get the figure from?

Originally posted by KanuAMBC

I using this flash for quite a long time ald leh. nothing wrong though...where u get the figure from?

I measured it using a multimeter. Really workable? Then I could sell to itanium cheap ;p

Yup, can ask Bluestrike, he saw me use it a number of times liaoz during outings. ;)

any recomandations for flash?

hmm.... with reference to KanuAMBC's postings, would you be interested in a Achiever 260T? I have one for sale. PM me if you're interested.....

Hahaha, buy buy buy, Gd cheap flash. lolz. :D

mpenza, enjoy the 602 dude ;)

Originally posted by KanuAMBC

Hahaha, buy buy buy, Gd cheap flash. lolz. :D

mpenza, enjoy the 602 dude ;)

Thanks :) Missed seeing your shots. Any great works to show us soon?

Hahaha, thanks. Maybe got lor. But have to wait some time for it. hahaha. I gtg koonz liaoz. gdnite.

Hail Fujifilm DC owners....hahahahaha :p

actually looking @ 630AF or 260AF...
any info about it? Price etc? Can it be use on 602? need something thats is close to TTL.. manual seems a bit tought for me...

actually looking @ 630AF or 260AF...
any info about it? Price etc? Can it be use on 602? need something thats is close to TTL.. manual seems a bit tought for me...

? are you using it for the S602Z? It doesn't support TTL. The AF illuminator in the 630AF or 260AF also won't work for the S602Z (if I'm not wrong). But both would have much lower trigger voltages (less than 10V) :)

The 260T has 3 auto modes which allows it to be used easily with the 602Z. The 630AF or 260AF should have auto modes (not the auto focus capabilty!) and would be used in the same way as 260T.

Perhaps, I illustrate how auto mode work?
1. Based on the ISO setting on the camera, you select one of the auto modes which indicate give the correct aperture, say z, for proper exposure.
2. set the aperture on the camera to z (and probably you'll want to fix the shutter speed as well).
3. That's all!

Each auto mode has a working range. As long as the subject do not fall out of the range and there's no change in ISO, you need not adjust any other settings again to get proper exposure. (initially, you might need to test out whether you need some adjustment to the original aperture setting).

KanuAMBC probably can explain it better ;p

anyway..... some quotes from Cathay Photo (last December)

TZ250 (similar in power to the 260AF) - $41
630AF - $97

I had wanted to get the 828TW at first but gave up after finding it has only pure manual mode.

What brand is the 630AF and 260AF? What's the diff between 630AF, 260AF and Metz 32-Z1?

DanielG, they're Achiever brand.

anyway..... some quotes from Cathay Photo (last December)

TZ250 (similar in power to the 260AF) - $41
630AF - $97

I had wanted to get the 828TW at first but gave up after it has only pure manual mode.
They're quite cheap. The 630AF's GN at 30m is reasonable powerful too (am i correct to say dat?). It can swivel too.

Btw, mpenza, does 630AF has LCD panel behind? Does it mean to say that getting a Flash that has Autofocus, AF illuminator, TTL, zoom head is considered an overkill? Since none of these features will work with the non-TTL hotshoe of S602. Sorry, not too knowlegeable on Flash. :D

Originally posted by DanielG
What brand is the 630AF and 260AF? What's the diff between 630AF, 260AF and Metz 32-Z1?

They're from Achiever. Key difference is brand name. Metz from Germany while Achiever is based in Hong Kong (if I'm not wrong).

Originally posted by azone
DanielG, they're Achiever brand.

They're quite cheap. The 630AF's GN at 30m is reasonable powerful too (am i correct to say dat?). It can swivel too.

you could say that. it's quite powerful. if you're doing lots of "bouncing", you would want as much power as you got :)

Originally posted by azone

Btw, mpenza, does 630AF has LCD panel behind? Does it mean to say that getting a Flash that has Autofocus, AF illuminator, TTL, zoom head is considered an overkill? Since none of these features will work with the non-TTL hotshoe of S602. Sorry, not too knowlegeable on Flash. :D

This probably could explain it better than I can :) http://www.photoimagenews.com/flash.htm

Autofocus, AF illuminator and TTL won't work for S602Z. I know 2 types of zoom: manual and motorised. Manual means the photographer moves a lever, or pull out the flash head to zom. For motorised zoom (usually only in highend flash), zooming will be automatic based on the current lens position. However, this requires some special communication and is usually available for dedicated flash.

you could also try posting a question in Technical Discussions. I'm sure the experts out there know more than me :)

Just see what Kanu is able to do with his flash and you'll know that a 30+ to 50+ flash is good enough liao!

Since the S602Z doesn't support E-TTL or TTL, there is no point getting anything that cost so much more! The more important thing is that you understand the logic behind the flash and use it GN correctly, there shld not be any pro with it.

Thanks mpenza, will do so. ;)

btw, 260T is quoted at $35 at Cathay Photo.

10s dude, you're great...

ok heres my shopping list...

fuji 602 - 1260
OEM ring adapter - ?
filter - 8
128MB SM - 90
128MB CF - 90
flash - KIV
2*4 1850 sanyo @ AP - ?

intending to get everything @ MS Color(xecpt batt, what u all think?)

itanium, I think MS Color doesn't have the oem adaptor. You could call them to ask (try to speak to Mr Loh or Florence).

Also, ask for free LCD screen protectors ;p You would also need to get a lens cap if you intend to leave the adaptor with V filter on all the time.

As for the CF, test it in video mode to see if it works. Slower ones like SanDisk might not be able to capture any video! I'm using a RiDatat 20x 256MB which is quite alright (105s of video).