Ferrari lang gar

come-on people, talk and speculate sure, but lets not expand the situation beyond what it is... regardless of nationalities involved, people were killed and injured due to a speeding vehicle... it's not caused by too many foreigners in Singapore, it's not caused by the perceived arrogance of some foreigners, it's not caused by Gov policy on foreigners... it is caused by a person driving a car...

Deadly weekend for Ferrari worldwide.

Going through some rudimentary physics textbook calculation, taking into account several factors including but not limited to the mass of the Ferrari 599 Fiorano at approximately 1,688 kg and travelling at a velocity of 180 km/h etc. etc. You'll be looking at an impact force of approximately anywhere between 20 tons to 30 tons on the driver and occupants themselves from the high g-force experienced as a result of the rapid deceleration in a broadside collision such as this.

Even with airbag and seat belt, they can only do just as much. You may as well have Mike Tyson punch you in the face repeatedly with his bare hands.
it's not just seat-belt and airbag though... the built-in crumple-zone of at least newer cars should also absorb quite a bit of the impact, especially in head-on collisions... like in the story of the link you included, the front of the car crumpled to protect the driver, and the driver only suffered hand injuries... it's more difficult to have sufficient crumple zone to protect against side-on impact though...

I prefer the latter - getting these F1 wannabes for lessons. ;p maybe LTA should consider those road bumps with spikes + sensors....any car speeding prior to traffic lights, specially at night, the spikes will come out and burst their tyres....
speeding vehicles, higher chance of accidents happening... spikes shredding tires of high speed vehicle, confirmed accidents... :nono:

CAR driving license must got class specification! iimagine a newbie punk driving his father ferrari. moreover it is back driven / 4 wheel drive! so diff machine than Drive centre.

motor bike got Class 2B (1year later) / 2A (1year later) / 2 (1year later), so car also classified 1600cc / 2000cc (1year later) / 2500cc (1year later) / sport car catergory(1year later). sport car catergory must have experience and handling certififed by Traffic police

Only for this, i will raised both hand if the LTA endorse it!!!
agreed... more powerful vehicles should require stricter requirements :thumbsup:

really, i feel that if anyone want to show off, pls go to JB racing track, if u don't value your f.*.*.king life, others do!

knn, these idiots, no matter how fast they run, they are still not F1 champions, run for what ?

I drive in PC games only. :D

its reported 100km/h in the local media??

100km/h maybe not that jialat. At least 150km/h! Imagine 0-100 in 4s, what is 100km/h to it? On top of that, before that traffic light, there is another further up. From my prediction, he try to beat the first and thought can beat the second easily. But he is totally WRONG!

from the looks of it, impossible to be only 100km/h. 200km/h maybe.

maybe the press wrongly reported it to be 100km/h.

Cheesecake said:
from the looks of it, impossible to be only 100km/h. 200km/h maybe.

maybe the press wrongly reported it to be 100km/h.

And one can only imagine how. Or why.

Wah so fast. Maybe accelerator pedal stuck? Maybe pedal too close, thinking step brake but stepping accelerator? I not speculating ah I only providing possible alternatives.

really, i feel that if anyone want to show off, pls go to JB racing track, if u don't value your f.*.*.king life, others do!

knn, these idiots, no matter how fast they run, they are still not F1 champions, run for what ?

you're right! imagine, at 2am in the morning i can hear tires screeching and engines roaring down upper thomson road. imagine what happens to people crossing the road at night?

Actually can tell what speed that joker in by the gear. IF 1 to 2 already hits 120km/h and IF he is in 3rd gear at the time of impact, he could be in 150km/h for sure. There also this brake distance/time thing, if he not over certain speed, he could brake or reduce damage in time.

Got once, I rented a car, I went to SengKang from SLS. I was novice that time and I was on the outer lane when turning from CTE to SLE. A lorry beside me, shows off, drives faster than me. Since we inside tunnel, total blind spot for me and what IF a car breaks down, I could not brake in time and either I hit into it or goes to lorry side. I let the lorry shows off but once in straight road, I am CLEAR to see what is there, I acc and never saw that lorry again, haha!

you're right! imagine, at 2am in the morning i can hear tires screeching and engines roaring down upper thomson road. imagine what happens to people crossing the road at night?

actually i always hear those noise generated by speeding cars n bikes late at night.. and the sleeping birds kena jia lat... they never been able to sleep properly... everytime one of these idiots come, the entire flock will wake up and great commotion will result... damn poor thing...

its reported 100km/h in the local media??

LOL

Using the footage provided, the police should be able to calculate the speed the car was driving. time is on video record. distance covered can be measured on the ground. The ferrari speedometer could "log" in the speed at time of impact like a clock "jammed" at time of earthquake!

‘The taxi went flying through the air’
By Chua Yini | Yahoo! Newsroom*–*20 hours ago
UPDATED (15 May, 9.15am, to include details of deceased taxi passenger)

The last thing Muhammad Najib Ghazali saw before he was sent flying from his motorbike was the dislodged tyre of a taxi coming straight at him.

Moments later, he was flung off from his bike and hit the tarmac hard, dislocating his right arm, fracturing his rib and hurting his spine.

Najib, still warded in Tan Tock Seng Hospital, is one of two survivors from the high-speed accident involving a Ferrari in the wee hours of Saturday morning. The fatal accident at the intersection of

Rochor Road and Victoria Street has already claimed three lives – the Ferrari driver was killed on the spot while the taxi driver and his passenger both later died in hospital.

The taxi passenger has been identified as Shigemi Ito, a Japanese woman in her 20s who is believed to be living and working in Singapore, the Straits Times reported.

ito-jpg_014552.jpg

A young woman reportedly from China was with Ma in the Ferrari during the crash and she suffered head injuries and fractured her right leg.

“It was horrifying to see the tyre [of the taxi] right before my eyes, and after that I saw the taxi flip,” said the 26-year-old former dispatch rider.

630yahoo-ghazali-jpg_111538.jpg

Muhammad Najib Ghazali recovering at TTSH, with his mother by his bedside. (Yahoo! photo/Chua Yini)

Clad in a blue hospital gown and surrounded by his family in a ward at Tan Tock Seng Hospital, Najib recounted the horrific events on the night itself.

Wearing a tired smile throughout the whole interview, he told Yahoo! Singapore, “The Ferrari beat the red light and smashed into the taxi, and the taxi smashed into my bike. I did not see the smash. I only heard it because I was making a right turn. The moment I turned my head to look, I saw the tyre of the taxi coming towards me.”

Sporting a snaking long scar down his right forearm, Najib said the taxi went* “airborne” seconds before it landed 50 metres away from where it was hit by the Ferrari.

The aftermath of the accident was a “smoky mess”.

“From there I totally couldn’t see anything because there was so much smoke and the debris was just starting to settle together with the petrol. It was raining fuel,” he said.

Najib counts his lucky stars to have escaped his fourth major accident and “uncountable” minor ones. The avid motorcyclist, who started riding since he was 19-years-old, sees his most recent close shave with death as a sign to finally stop riding.

“This is the fourth time I cheated death. Usually people say strike three, you’re out. [In the accident] I am the most unprotected one but I survived, so I don’t want to take the risk anymore. I want to just live to the fullest now,” he said.*

Muhammad Najib told his mother of his intention to give up riding after spending a quiet Mothers’ Day with a “picnic” of home-cooked food in the hospital room on Sunday.

“It [the accident] happened just before Mothers’ day, and I imagined for a moment there what if something worse had happened to me? It would be the worst Mothers’ day present a mother can get,” he said.

http://sg.news.yahoo.com/‘the-taxi-went-flying-through-the-air’-.html

Very sad to hear this news. And also very angry at the same time. Government increase COE like dispensing toilet paper, this bloody FT get a Ferrari like no kick. We get our cars also never have this incident before. Once an FT drive on our roads it becomes havoc. Seriously why the Fk are we paying so much and yet innocent lives are lost?

Sgdevilzz said:
Very sad to hear this news. And also very angry at the same time. Government increase COE like dispensing toilet paper, this bloody FT get a Ferrari like no kick. We get our cars also never have this incident before. Once an FT drive on our roads it becomes havoc. Seriously why the Fk are we paying so much and yet innocent lives are lost?

Must say rich guy, not ft as ft cannot anyhow use nowadays. From that video, no sign of braking (no smokes) as his intention was to beat red light, not tries to stop as much as he can. If i am his friend, i also feels shameful. So what if he is rich and yet dont know about safety!

He thinks it's china road can anyhow drive. They should really consider banning FT from the roads. Such reckless drivers

Sgdevilzz said:
He thinks it's china road can anyhow drive. They should really consider banning FT from the roads. Such reckless drivers

Ayia don't FT here FT there la. Cannot stereotype FTs Liddat Mah. Not all of then are like this

This statement is already bordering on "Disruption of racial harmony".

So What do you say to the singaporean drivers who speed, crash their ferraris, kill pedestrians? It's ok so long as they are not FT?

Ayia don't FT here FT there la. Cannot stereotype FTs Liddat Mah. Not all of then are like this

Agree.. the Jap women who died in the accident is a FT as well. My sympathy goes to her and the taxi driver.

This is just another episode of the budget terminal accident where a FT caused the death of another FT..