Do you want a full frame DSLR?

DO you want a full frame DSLR?

Do I want a FF DSLR?
Yes of course! Why not? ;p

Do I want 5D?
Maybe, but certainly not when it's first launched. I'm not willing to suffer too much depreciation.

The other day I just took out my EOS 630 to recall how a FF viewfinder looks like. I must say I've forgotten how bright and large the FF "View" is! You can see a lot more! :D

Then I still remember when I was using film SLR, it used to be much easier to "catch" the expressions on people's faces, or I could just keep looking through the viewfinder and wait for that "moment" to release the shutter. With the 1.6x, I just wanna quickly compose and fire off, it's not so comfortable to look through the viewfinder for too long.

don't need or want one ;p full frame or mini frame, as long as the equipment works, it's good enough for me :)

litefoot said:
Why not FF? You should shoot some film that you will know what you are missing out. Used EOS 5 bodies are a dime a dozen. :D :D :D

Still, a dime plus development cost... amigo....

This gringo has got not much dough..... haha!

The only thing I like about FF is the brighter viewfinder and for those few landscape shots.... wide scenaries!!!!

Guess I gotta piece together 2-3 20D shots for that wide panorama view..... 8megapix x 2 or 3 => 16 - 24 megapix, factor in 20% overlaps => 12.8 - 19.2 megapixels... hahaha!!!

Gee maybe get 2 used 300D and custom mount them side by side with a 24/35mm lens with a common trigger! Can get stitch panoramas or 3D stereoscopic shots! Hahaa! :D

hazmee said:
After doing so much reading and thinking, I would rather go get the EFS 10-22 now and start shooting. Anyone planning to sell their 20D, please let me know. ;) Cheers!
Just curious, how many will actually buy the 5D? Bearing in mind it's a consumer grade 1DS.

It's a 20D souped up to FF, that's where the price difference of $4K+ goes to the wafer chip. Or at least that's what I see? :dunno:

Of course, I want a full frame. but at some point, how much imporvement in terms of image quality between teh 20D and 5D? is the imporvement justify forking out US$4K for the camera? My initial reaction reading what is available on the camera is probably not. The next generation, probably, and the generation after next most likely. So, I am waiting.

i would love to have full-frame...or 1.3x at least. very depressing every time i attach my 135mm to my 10d cos can only take headshot unless i stand much further away from subject.

Yes i would love the FullFrame for landscape and extra wide angle shots.
But love to have a 1.6X crop when im at zoo or some other place that needs extra reach :)

Oh, would love to have a full frame and a big bright viewfinder and no EF-S...

but on the other hand, I'll be darn worry if my comp's processing power can cope up with a 12.8mp file... it'll be damn taxing on processing power and storage.

ahbeng said:
tired with those patectic little view finder DSLR offered by many brands, the 5D, which i believe will be the beginning for all canon's future full frame DLSR. ignoring other factors, do you want a full frame?
Yes, if it's free, why not?

SpitFir3 said:
Yes i would love the FullFrame for landscape and extra wide angle shots.
But love to have a 1.6X crop when im at zoo or some other place that needs extra reach :)

Give us flexible FLM selection on the next FF!!

1x, 1.3x, 1.6x, 2x

it is just software implementation and if D2x can do it....Canon should do better ;)

Wai said:

1x, 1.3x, 1.6x, 2x

it is just software implementation and if D2x can do it....Canon should do better ;)
Wai, the D2X you wanted is ready, so how? Still wait for you to sell your 1D then jump ship or?

OOPS. Sorry!!! Supposed to PM u.

Wai, the D2X you wanted is ready, so how? Still wait for you to sell your 1D then jump ship or?

OOPS. Sorry!!! Supposed to PM u.

yah....will open it up and reverse engineer the high speed crop mode for the 1D MKIII

u can keep the casing, or u want me to put a 350D inside for u? :bsmilie:

Wai said:
yah....will open it up and reverse engineer the high speed crop mode for the 1D MKIII

u can keep the casing, or u want me to put a 350D inside for u? :bsmilie:
:nono: that's impossible :bsmilie:

Wai said:

1x, 1.3x, 1.6x, 2x

you buy the 5D, you want 1.3, 1.5, 1.6, 2.0 crop also can. I do for you. Flexible some more! no need to crop only the middle. anywhere also can.

as long as you have photoshop

:nono: that's impossible :bsmilie:
possible lah.. now got nikkor to eos adaptor some more ;p
jsut that now the 350D flash cannot pop up.. :bsmilie:

1.3x is the most comfortable. because the AF ellipse covers more of the frame than compared to 1x
and it also allows for some more reach on telephotos.
for wide angles all you need is 24mm then 24 x 1.3 = 31mm which is as good as 28mm which is then wide enough for me :cool:
hence i will upgrade to the 1DmkII in the future

Press the button can popup liaoz loh. :bsmilie:

Anyway, if got moola, why not? Dun say 5D, got money, 1DsMkII oso no problem. ;)

jsbn said:
Press the button can popup liaoz loh. :bsmilie:

Anyway, if got moola, why not? Dun say 5D, got money, 1DsMkII oso no problem. ;)

:thumbsup: Just Buy Buy Buy. ;p

USM said:
:thumbsup: Just Buy Buy Buy. ;p

But FF cameras don't have pop up flash.....