Do you guys carry tripod around all the time?

night shoots, landscapes, paid shoots and situations where light is bad.

travel - table pod

my monopod lives in my car boot

On cloudy and overcast days and in the evening (+flash) and travelling. But since switching to prosumer camera, started to use a more flimsy one that still supports the camera weight. But it can fold to less than 1' so can use as tablepod as well.

I never bring my tripod around, except for shooting landscapes, macro, streets, sports, birds, portraits....:think: :think:

hey... I ALWAYS bring my tripod around!:sweatsm: :sweatsm:

"don't be caught with a perfect scene, and nothing to support that long exposure..."

But then again, both my tripod and monopod live in my car...

Yes, my tripod is always in my car and my car is always near me.....but ironically, I dun have my cam with me all the time, my company doesn't allow and I cant leave my cam in the car....:bsmilie:

Hey, the table pod is the small one with a ball joint huh? It cannot support the weight of my S3 very well....can support your D70 meh??

ortega said:
night shoots, landscapes, paid shoots and situations where light is bad.

travel - table pod

my monopod lives in my car boot

Last nite went down One fullerton with my tripod, my goodness, the tripod is shaking under strong seabreeze.. think I might have to upgrade my tripod. BTW, what do you guys think of SLIK Pro 400 DX? I'm getting it from a guy tomolo.. Do you think it is good enough for my usage?

I have the SLIK PRO 340 DX and I could testify that it could support my 2.5 KG setup well; both on the landscape as well as the potrait orientation... so I would think that the SLIK PRO 400 DX should be better.

SLIK PRO 400 DX is very stable and sturdy. I owned one, but you got to try out the weight if it is suitable for you.

I always try to, while I learn to correct my techniques... :) Breathing and holding... ;)

Mine is PPCP Pro v2... Good and light... :thumbsup:

For detail macro work , I used tripod. For normal shooting shoulder pods is my backup, when lazy to carry much weights.

I kinda of realised my shaky shots are due to my breathing technique... Think have to recap on the Live Firing Range tactics liao:P keke

If I'm going overseas, I'm sure to carry my tripod. Even though it's a whopping 3kg load.
For typical Singapore walkabout, I don't touch it much unless it's night shots.

Hoky said:
If I'm going overseas, I'm sure to carry my tripod. Even though it's a whopping 3kg load.
For typical Singapore walkabout, I don't touch it much unless it's night shots.

What kind of tripod so heavy one?

jasongcp said:
I just started out on this photography hobby, armed with a new H5. Went shooting over the weekend and I found out I have unsteady hands. I think I badly needed a tripod with me.

Or you could pop some diazepam (valium) just like snipers do to keep their hands steady. haha.

yeah for razor sharp pictures.. :bsmilie: i used to think that my hands are steady, and by using high shutter speed, will not shake.. but turned out, it did :bigeyes: so now training how to use a tripod effectively.

Ya bokeh became oval shape huh?:bsmilie: :bsmilie: :bsmilie:

bokeh1.8 said:
yeah for razor sharp pictures.. :bsmilie: i used to think that my hands are steady, and by using high shutter speed, will not shake.. but turned out, it did :bigeyes: so now training how to use a tripod effectively.

bokeh1.8 said:

Me too, find that I'm extremely clumsy with a tripod... keep feeling I will trip over the extended leg....

I dun bring tripod most of the time except for night shoots.. Prefer to travel light..:)

Just bought a Manfrotto 055PROB with a Giottos MH 1000-200 Ballhead along with a strap from stratech. Plan to bring out tomorrow cos planning to shoot night. That is the only reason I bring it along.:)

I'll bring a tripod only if someone carries it for me. :bsmilie:

I handhold. Trained to have surgeon's hands.

BUT long exposures and the likes definately need tripod.