Ditch your DSLR for the OMD?

theITguy said:
The first OMD is not there yet for AF performance compared to the DSLR. Perhaps another 2 generation of OMDs it will at least be competing well in this respect.

In wat way and compared to which dslr?

And when is it that you Really need it? I cant find a time when its die2 for me to have unless dark ballroom envirobment la. Haha.

I have resigned myself to renting when i do need it. Just mark up quote only la... No loss for me. :)

Hi Bro yep same for me like yesterday we attended our son's NCC event so brought my A-Mount gear with me, but as mentioned after having my EPL2 very seldom now will only bring it out when I shoot alone w/o my kids and family or when I dont want to use my MF Primes. Currently I have very limited AF m4/3 lenses I am using my m4/3 for my MF primes w/c I cant use on my current gear (well I can but need an adaptor with glass which affect IQ badly). Right now I would say my m4/3 gears is mainly for fun shooting due to what lenses I've got (mainly MF). And using my m4/3 as my backup cam or lite travel cam. I am not saying my m4/3 is less of a performer just that the lens line I have from both my current gear vs my m4/3 is very different. But the good part is I could use most of my A-Mount lenses except for my UWA :-( on my EPL2

Actually my EPL2 is always in my laptop bag :-)

Hi Bro yep same for me like yesterday we attended our son's NCC event so brought my A-Mount gear with me, but as mentioned after having my EPL2 very seldom now will only bring it out when I shoot alone w/o my kids and family or when I dont want to use my MF Primes. Currently I have very limited AF m4/3 lenses I am using my m4/3 for my MF primes w/c I cant use on my current gear (well I can but need an adaptor with glass which affect IQ badly). Right now I would say my m4/3 gears is mainly for fun shooting due to what lenses I've got (mainly MF). And using my m4/3 as my backup cam or lite travel cam. I am not saying my m4/3 is less of a performer just that the lens line I have from both my current gear vs my m4/3 is very different. But the good part is I could use most of my A-Mount lenses except for my UWA :-( on my EPL2

Actually my EPL2 is always in my laptop bag :-)

That's the fun part of m4/3, isn't it? ;)

The first OMD is not there yet for AF performance compared to the DSLR. Perhaps another 2 generation of OMDs it will at least be competing well in this respect.

Form factor is sweet with a 20/1.7 or the Panasonic 14-42x. 14-42x and OMD will be a great combo for travel light and compact.

CDAF and PDAF are completely different, so it is not very fair to compare them. The current CDAF technology on flagship m4/3 cameras are already extremely fast. My E-M5 with 12-50 focuses faster under certain conditions whereas my 60D + 15-85 focuses faster under others.

The OM-D is nice and impressive for what it is. Probably will be replacing my e-pl2 for it. With mf primes, the m4/3 is a really fun thing to have in your bag.

However, imho, there is no way a OM-D will or can replace a proper dslr setup. Same as how a dslr can never replace the original OM series. Just different purpose and feel. The user experience with a good dslr setup starts from the moment you first hold the camera in your hands, the solid and weighty feel, inspiring confident. The perfect grip, as if it was tailored to fit your big hands. Then as you put your eye to the optical viewfinder and get lost in the large and bright pentaprism viewfinder, oblivious to the mad world, as if only you and that scene in the viewfinder exist...it is just therapeutic. Plus, there is just something about shooting a ff on f/1.2 or f/1.4 primes which I find hard to replicated with m4/3, even with eq. lens. It is like you get enough dof to keep what you want clear, but yet am able to blur out everything else.

It is kinda like shooting with an old OM series film camera. You get a different feeling. Every time I hold the OM film camera, I am impressed by the fact that something that is older than me is still working perfectly fine. The build is something you don't get even with good modern dslr. And then as you pull the film advance lever, bring the camera to your eye and start using the split type focus screen to mf...there is just something nostalgic about it...and then you start to wonder how your dad was able to capture photos of you riding your first bicycle when there is no af. You appreciate how people of the past could work around with so many limitations, including the fact that you can't change iso by the simple press of a button and dial.

rhema83 said:
That's the fun part of m4/3, isn't it? ;)

Yep that's why I call this my fun cam. Kinda miss this feeling when I move away from m4/3 few years ago. Glad to be back

NewbieInCS said:
The OM-D is nice and impressive for what it is. Probably will be replacing my e-pl2 for it. With mf primes, the m4/3 is a really fun thing to have in your bag.

However, imho, there is no way a OM-D will or can replace a proper dslr setup. Same as how a dslr can never replace the original OM series. Just different purpose and feel. The user experience with a good dslr setup starts from the moment you first hold the camera in your hands, the solid and weighty feel, inspiring confident. The perfect grip, as if it was tailored to fit your big hands. Then as you put your eye to the optical viewfinder and get lost in the large and bright pentaprism viewfinder, oblivious to the mad world, as if only you and that scene in the viewfinder exist...it is just therapeutic. Plus, there is just something about shooting a ff on f/1.2 or f/1.4 primes which I find hard to replicated with m4/3, even with eq. lens. It is like you get enough dof to keep what you want clear, but yet am able to blur out everything else.

It is kinda like shooting with an old OM series film camera. You get a different feeling. Every time I hold the OM film camera, I am impressed by the fact that something that is older than me is still working perfectly fine. The build is something you don't get even with good modern dslr. And then as you pull the film advance lever, bring the camera to your eye and start using the split type focus screen to mf...there is just something nostalgic about it...and then you start to wonder how your dad was able to capture photos of you riding your first bicycle when there is no af. You appreciate how people of the past could work around with so many limitations, including the fact that you can't change iso by the simple press of a button and dial.

Last time i remembered we use to have this rubbish cards detailing all the values of flash exp or DOF scale. I am a noobie in film so i sort of followed the values rather closely and judge exposure. It was a hit and miss thing. If im not confident i'll just whack a direct flash at the subject. Aesthetics count for later... Haha. That was like ten years ago lol. Primes were not so much an in thing for me because you will be scared to use such a thin DOF for shooting. Have to make sure you dnt mix the rolls (i kena before, quite jia lat)...

Sometimes this kind of things are so easily forgotten that people get distracted by the latest and newest me inclusive... But MF with those split prism cams are so much simpler than now... I went to other forums for other brands and sometimes i feel that the discussions are between gearheads more than anything else.

snip3r said:
From handphone cam to LX3 to EP3. Never even want to touch the dSLR.
Now looking at EM5 or only other mirrorless

Same path here bro. From Sony Ericsson Cybershots/BlackBerry/iPhone to LX3 and now to E-M5.

Never considered DSLR.

And last week first time I held a 5D MKII (colleague's) and it was like.... What? 3kg+?!?!

snip3r said:
I think what Sispecho is spot on.

To me
1) Form factor is a must as I use it a lot for travel. But after getting the EP3, venturing into street.
2) Wife also like Olympus
3) It's stylish
4) Good enough IQ
5) Fast AF to take pics of my pet.

Haha now looking at 45/1.8.

I am with you on all counts, especially, my wife, who took a look at a picture of the OM-D and did a wolf whistle, nodded wisely and gave me a pat on the head.

She was pretty neutral with a tinge of disapproval with my previous consideration of E-P3 ("UGLY!") GX1 ("looks like your LX3...") and NEX-7 (kinda stylo but saw photos people took with it and no like...).

dereth said:
I am with you on all counts, especially, my wife, who took a look at a picture of the OM-D and did a wolf whistle, nodded wisely and gave me a pat on the head.

She was pretty neutral with a tinge of disapproval with my previous consideration of E-P3 ("UGLY!") GX1 ("looks like your LX3...") and NEX-7 (kinda stylo but saw photos people took with it and no like...).

I love this. Your wife just makes things really simple.

dereth said:

Errr... Your wife pats you on the head..? Lol. Does she say sit, heel etc :). New age family.

dun think i will give up my FF to switch to OM-D... probably buy this as a back up. but then again i will prefer the screen not to be articulating. if they come out with a non articulating screen model, i will be most probably buying now. So i shall stick to my OM2N for now :p

Agrivar said:
Errr... Your wife pats you on the head..? Lol. Does she say sit, heel etc :). New age family.

LOL bro, figure of speech lah! :)

vainqueur said:
Well, not to worry, having DSLR doesn't exactly make that person professional in terms of skills. I remember about a year ago when I encountered a DSLR person, he was taking private shoot with a chio bu at the KTM rail. Evening time about 5pm, I was using my tripod with long exposure, he saw me doing that and he walked over and ask me why I am doing what I am doing. When I told him moving activities in front of your camera with more than 4 seconds and above exposure will ensure you dont capture any people in front. He gave me the "oh really?!" look, went quietly suddenly and walked off.

My point is. The camera don't define the photographer, instead, the photographer define the camera. ;) I don't care how people look at me and my small EPL1...

couldn't agree more, even I just had e3 to different use from epl2

Don't think I'll ditch my E-3 and Olympus Glass, but it's use will be severely curtailed. The OM-D has brought cameras back to the size and weight they should be.

My E-3 with the 35-100 f2 lens weighs in over 3kg, thats a big lump to tote around all day, my OM-D with a 25mm Nokton weighs in at about 900gms ( The Nokton is the heaviest lens I own and is twice the weight of the 12-50)

Somebody commented earlier that it may not look professional - let me remind you that 35 years ago professional photoraphers were using the likes of OM2, OM4Ti, and the equivalent Nikon and Canon offerings, all a similar size and weight, (I know Olympus was the lightest) coupled with the fact the OM-D performs at least as well as my E-3 straight out of the box without any tweaking I have no qualms about using it in preference to my E-3.

i never get so excited for new DSLR/mirrorless, like i do on EM5.. haha

anyhow.. does anyone come from sony SLT? want to know if the EM5's EVF is better or the same as SLTs

TIA

i never get so excited for new DSLR/mirrorless, like i do on EM5.. haha

anyhow.. does anyone come from sony SLT? want to know if the EM5's EVF is better or the same as SLTs

TIA

Cant compare the two EVF they are diffrent the new Sony EVF from NEX7 and A77 is OLED 2.4MP whilst the EM-5 is LCD 1.4MP huge difference. I've tried EM-5 last IT show and you could tell the difference as I own A77. But saying that it doesnt mean EM-5 EVF is bad just that the contrast and color is way better on A77 EVF. i normally compose and view my photos using EVF than LCD on my A77 :)

Anyways these are two different EVF so it's hard to compare them :-) Technology also is different OLED vs LCD.

Oh I forgot to add comparing it to A33/A37/A55 I think EM-5 EVF is better in terms of color and pixel density. I think A33/A37/A55 is 1.1MP LCD EVF

So so so so so wanna ditch my 60D and move to EM-5!!! Love very expects of Em5 except for 3 reason.
1: I like live view finder, the first reason what I choose dslr over some other EVF camera. Any comments from bro that made the switch on this point?
2: I love the compact and good quality,with wide range of lens, 3rd party! I like travel much,but also shoots architecture. Don't know how will this em5 suits me.
3: my friend and I are exploring video shooting. Anybody who tried out what this compact can do with video?

Thanks! So tempted to make the switch!

Cant compare the two EVF they are diffrent the new Sony EVF from NEX7 and A77 is OLED 2.4MP whilst the EM-5 is LCD 1.4MP huge difference. I've tried EM-5 last IT show and you could tell the difference as I own A77. But saying that it doesnt mean EM-5 EVF is bad just that the contrast and color is way better on A77 EVF. i normally compose and view my photos using EVF than LCD on my A77 :)

Anyways these are two different EVF so it's hard to compare them :-) Technology also is different OLED vs LCD.

Oh I forgot to add comparing it to A33/A37/A55 I think EM-5 EVF is better in terms of color and pixel density. I think A33/A37/A55 is 1.1MP LCD EVF

Personally, I haven't felt the difference between the Oly EVF and the Sony EVF. Tested a friend's Nex. They may be very slight. The difference between either of this and my G1's EVF, however, is huge... Lots of 'tearing'...

So so so so so wanna ditch my 60D and move to EM-5!!! Love very expects of Em5 except for 3 reason.
1: I like live view finder, the first reason what I choose dslr over some other EVF camera. Any comments from bro that made the switch on this point?
2: I love the compact and good quality,with wide range of lens, 3rd party! I like travel much,but also shoots architecture. Don't know how will this em5 suits me.
3: my friend and I are exploring video shooting. Anybody who tried out what this compact can do with video?

Thanks! So tempted to make the switch!

I switched from 60D to E-M5. The EVF is very different from an OVF, especially under difficult lighting. This is because the EVF depends on the sensor, which has limited dynamic range. In fact, the EVF will show high ISO noise under low light conditions because the sensor has to increase its sensitivity so that it can maintain the 60Hz refresh rate of the EVF (equivalent to taking 60x 1/60s shots every second). This is when an OVF, which is only limited by the sensitivity of your own eyes, shines.

Of course, the actual photo will not show the same noise if you mount the camera on a tripod and use a longer exposure to compensate for lower ISO (which is what I would do). But it is quite unsettling to see all the chroma noise in the EVF when you are composing the shot. The colour dots can also be distracting and make composition difficult.

I find it acceptable because I have grown accustomed to EVFs after using a Panasonic FZ18 (superzoom camera with EVF) for a few years before getting my 60D. But it can be limiting for some people.