Discriminations?

Ever heard of Alex Majoli? Have a read at the following article:

http://www.robgalbraith.com/bins/multi_page.asp?cid=7-6468-7844

The equipment plays a part... but the photographer makes the picture! I've seen pictures taken from phone cameras that are fantastic! I've got a friend that uses a simple compact digital camera but produces great pics.

Every equipment has its limitations... even 40D, D200, etc. Know what the limitations are, and work around them to get great pics.

Ever heard of Alex Majoli? Have a read at the following article:

http://www.robgalbraith.com/bins/multi_page.asp?cid=7-6468-7844

The equipment plays a part... but the photographer makes the picture! I've seen pictures taken from phone cameras that are fantastic! I've got a friend that uses a simple compact digital camera but produces great pics.

Every equipment has its limitations... even 40D, D200, etc. Know what the limitations are, and work around them to get great pics.

yes indeed!
just look at these shots from a handphone
http://forums.clubsnap.org/showthread.php?t=232914

ya, a lot of professionals use p&s
i think quite a number of famous war photographers use p&s

What saddens me is that there is some photographers out there think it's all about the equipment.

Let them think what they want. What's the problem? You're not responsible for how other people think. Just don't friend them.

This is indeed a bad experience :( For newbies like me I might develop phobia going out to take photos and develop my skill. If they are really pro in their craft they should also have the "pro" attitude in dealing with other people.

You should have taken a snap shot of them so that folks here in CS know who these clowns are.

This is indeed a bad experience :( For newbies like me I might develop phobia going out to take photos and develop my skill. If they are really pro in their craft they should also have the "pro" attitude in dealing with other people.

juz enjoy taking photos.Ignore what others think.You took up photography because you enjoy it right?;)

I guess i have no choice but to post this matter here.

I'm new to digital photography and it has become a passion throughout the experience. Recently i encounter something ugly and i think it's a disgrace to the world of photography.

Here's the situation. Recently i went for a walkabout over at Geylang (to catch and experience the fasting month atmosphere) to do some street photography. I bumped into a group of photographers and decide to make friends with them. I started talking to them and their 1st impression is what saddens me. They look at me in arrogance and they continue talking among themselves. I get their 'signals' and walk away. But that's not the point i post this thread.

I start taking photos and they were just a few feet away. They look at me and laugh. I thought they started to lighten up but they were laughing about my equipment (i'm using a 300D). I check and examine my camera if there's something wrong with it. But before i could examine, i overheard them talking, "that guy is so outdated. he thinks he can take good pictures with that crap? we're glad we're equip with this (they're using 40D, D200 and some L lens". I was disheartened.

That doesn't dimoralize me because i know "photography is not about equipment, it's the person behind it" or that saying is gone? What saddens me is that there is some photographers out there think it's all about the equipment.

Stay away from them.

A group of photographers out shooting is like a pack of werewolves. They will hunt down and attack and feed on an amateur with a simple digicam. They are blood thristy.

werewolf.jpg

Stay away from them.

A group of photographers out shooting is like a pack of werewolves. They will hunt down and attack and feed on an amateur with a simple digicam. They are blood thristy.

werewolf.jpg

..........i think TS will run like hell if they look like this :bsmilie:

no lor

free werewolf tfcd

where else can you find it

aiya just take out film lor, there's silver nitrate in film right =D

I guess i have no choice but to post this matter here.

I'm new to digital photography and it has become a passion throughout the experience. Recently i encounter something ugly and i think it's a disgrace to the world of photography.

Here's the situation. Recently i went for a walkabout over at Geylang (to catch and experience the fasting month atmosphere) to do some street photography. I bumped into a group of photographers and decide to make friends with them. I started talking to them and their 1st impression is what saddens me. They look at me in arrogance and they continue talking among themselves. I get their 'signals' and walk away. But that's not the point i post this thread.

I start taking photos and they were just a few feet away. They look at me and laugh. I thought they started to lighten up but they were laughing about my equipment (i'm using a 300D). I check and examine my camera if there's something wrong with it. But before i could examine, i overheard them talking, "that guy is so outdated. he thinks he can take good pictures with that crap? we're glad we're equip with this (they're using 40D, D200 and some L lens". I was disheartened.

That doesn't dimoralize me because i know "photography is not about equipment, it's the person behind it" or that saying is gone? What saddens me is that there is some photographers out there think it's all about the equipment.

I had the exact same incident happening to me when my company organized a family day at Sentosa's Siloso Beach on Saturday, 21st July 07. I left the sheltered area and went near the beach to shoot the small islands nearby. I saw these 3 local young guys with large lenses waiting to shoot a model having make-up nearby. They don't look pro though. So, I decided to approach them and said, "Hi," and introduced myself. Two guys immediately turned their glance away and one guy played cool and replied his name and thats it. I then had to sorry and walk away, turning back I saw them pointing at me and laughing. :embrass:

Hello, why are you into photography in the first place? If you are into photography to further a passion, enjoy a hobby, and look at nature's beauty, you shouldn't be affected by what they said about you. If your primary purpose of photography to make friends, then I tell you to CONCENTRATE ON YOUR SHOOTING!:bsmilie:

I had the exact same incident happening to me when my company organized a family day at Sentosa's Siloso Beach on Saturday, 21st July 07. I left the sheltered area and went near the beach to shoot the small islands nearby. I saw these 3 local young guys with large lenses waiting to shoot a model having make-up nearby. They don't look pro though. So, I decided to approach them and said, "Hi," and introduced myself. Two guys immediately turned their glance away and one guy played cool and replied his name and thats it. I then had to sorry and walk away, turning back I saw them pointing at me and laughing. :embrass:

Tell you something, the photgraher that my company employs to shoot company events dun look pro. He uses a D80 with two extra lens to cover the event. He's the official photgraher for a group of healthcare institutions.

My friend, when you said they don't look pro, you are judging/ looking down on them yourself.

only the image matters

actually,

I am quite surprised reading the story. Got such people one meh? Maybe the TS misheard something, or that group of them are having a private joke or something.

see every single post in this thread comdemns such behaviour. if everyone here is nice, where is the bad guy?

actually,

I am quite surprised reading the story. Got such people one meh? Maybe the TS misheard something, or that group of them are having a private joke or something.

see every single post in this thread comdemns such behaviour. if everyone here is nice, where is the bad guy?

Got lah. Sure have these pp. U just never see them before.

Why bother with such people? If they are really reading this (probably are), point them here. They are unprocessed pictures, straight out of a junk toy even more outdated then your 300D.

Don't worry about what you encountered, as most of such folks probably cannot shoot much worth a dime. Focus on what you enjoy and forget about them. Or join outings that deter such equipment wankers (like my AG Outings), and make like-minded friends.

I feel hurt lei...cos i using coolpix 4500 also (5yrs old model liao)...hurhurhur...j/k ;p

would love to join one of your AG outings to learn more abt photography...

Those people are sad, it's about the photographer and not the equipment. You can give me the best DSLR + lens out there and I'll still take lousy photos lol. :D