defense for pple sued by odex?

if in the single case the police take action in, court decides to let the child off with a warning and without fine (not without precedent) , Odex will just have to suck thumb.

i still wondering how they sue the 9 year old... thought they based it on the subscriber? a 9 year old subscriber?

then if so, isn't a 9 year old or minor not 'exactly' liable... hmm... :think:

if in the single case the police take action in, court decides to let the child off with a warning and without fine (not without precedent) , Odex will just have to suck thumb.

i doubt the police will be brought in. Seems like they have better things to do. But then again its up to the AG to decide isn't it?

i still wondering how they sue the 9 year old... thought they based it on the subscriber? a 9 year old subscriber?

then if so, isn't a 9 year old or minor not 'exactly' liable... hmm... :think:

they haven't sued an individual yet, they probably just scare them into submission at this stage. if the cases go into the courtroom, i don't think our judges will let Odex take advantage of Singapore law to make profits

well, so u saying can just ignore the mail as spam? :think:

well you ignore as spam they still have the right to sue you in court, but what will happen in the courtroom who will know right? we don't have all the information as to how they choose their victims anyway.

true... but most likely is how the ISP choose the participants (battle royale)

maybe should get a list of who kena the letters, then ask them what plan they use... :devil:

Yep, playing to test the resilience and accuracy of the software I modified ... hahaha!! See what I mean by "making excuses?"

And here's another excuse you'll hear from the scene - these games are no longer in production so it is impossible to purchase one even if I wanted to. :bsmilie:

But do you know that there is an arcade museum in the States where visitors can actually play all the games from the previous centuary? I would love to set up a place like this in SG but its costly enough to purchased the dumped boards, what more to reconstruct the machines. :cry:

_

Another excuse is that you don't like Odex's dubbing. Odex does not own the rights to all anime. But that does not mean that one should d/l anime also. Learn to respect intellectual property.

if you've downloaded the anime, you can be seen as broken some law, that'll be decided in the courtroom by the judge. whether you've caused profit loss/damages to Odex, that's up to Odex to convince everyone, but Odex cannot possibly tell you that you've broken a law, they are not the judge.

Learn to respect intellectual property.

actually arguments for intellectual property benefit distributors and middlemen more in the entertainment industry, artists don't get much end of the day, all the moola just go to the middlemen. mentioned before, alot of anime artists really owe their fame to fans' activities on the internet.

actually arguments for intellectual property benefit distributors and middlemen more in the entertainment industry, artists don't get much end of the day, all the moola just go to the middlemen.

I agree with this but if there were no middle people, then the artistes won't have a job.. Same for software, Micro$oft earns big money, but they must pay the programmers too. If you are an individual and you have a good product, they will just offer buy your product at a price you cannot resist and sell it even more expensive.

Odex is probably one of the middle entity which hopes that their sales will be boosted if anime were not available for download. I would rather pay more to buy legitimate TW or US dubbed anime than buy Odex. Simply because the dubbing sux. Why don't they clamp down on TS Video selling dubious China imported anime which even flashes email addresses on the DVDs? Are those China imported material even legitimate/royalty paid?

actually arguments for intellectual property benefit distributors and middlemen more in the entertainment industry, artists don't get much end of the day, all the moola just go to the middlemen. mentioned before, alot of anime artists really owe their fame to fans' activities on the internet.

kinda true...

tis kinda thing, u think the seiyuu of the characters will get a piece of the pie? bo lor...

then if kena badly dubbed, worse...

only real fans know the name of the seiyuu of each characters...

I agree with this but if there were no middle people, then the artistes won't have a job.. Same for software, Micro$oft earns big money, but they must pay the programmers too. If you are an individual and you have a good product, they will just buy your product.

even without Odex, anime makers won't die seriously. with the middlemen, the artists don't make much more either. actually i see middlemen activities hampering growth of anime culture, they are just there to take advantage of the link between anime makers and fans, which exist even without the middlemen.

i'll like to link back to deadpixel's case of people stealing his pictures for sale. actually if deadpixel puts his pictures on stock photo sites for sale, in case of copyright infringement found by the stock photo company, the company will just take action without telling deadpixel and if the company makes money from lawsuits, it's unlikely that deadpixel will get a single cent out of it.

I agree with this but if there were no middle people, then the artistes won't have a job.. Same for software, Micro$oft earns big money, but they must pay the programmers too. If you are an individual and you have a good product, they will just offer buy your product at a price you cannot resist and sell it even more expensive.

tats if the company who buys are doing marketing...

seem like odex only appear after they are famous for their lawsuits...

talk about distribution, never seen them actively helping to promote anime to the population.

last time talk to Odex, they say all the gundam franchise is being licensed by them, but have yet to see a fantastically good OVA released in market yet, MS Igloo... well, not sure have they released... but theirs will be nowhere as good as the japanese edition.

Also, they dun seem to release Gundam EVOLVE as well... get license for wat?

so get from overseas still better... By the time they release, i think i already start collecting dust with the jap and hongkong editions.

even without Odex, anime makers won't die seriously. with the middlemen, the artists don't make much more either. actually i see middlemen activities hampering growth of anime culture, they are just there to take advantage of the link between anime makers and fans, which exist even without the middlemen.

In the case of Odex, they are just a reseller. They probably paid money to buy material from, say, TV Tokyo, dubbed them and try to sell them here, find that their product cannot sell and jumped into conclusion that it's because of anime downloading. Plain silly!! There are many other reasons why people don't want to buy from Odex.

so get from overseas still better... By the time they release, i think i already start collecting dust with the jap and hongkong editions.

Exactly!! Plus I just don't like their Cheena voiced dubbings. Here is SG, not China!

i have yet to experience that, but anime on ch56 turns me darn off...

animax is not bad, at least option to switch to jap voice over, sad is most anime is at least 2-3 years of age.

but they could have done a better job providing a better english sub on the animax channel thou...

Since this thread title is Defense for ppl sued by Odex, ......

I'm not sure about others but regardless of the burden of proof resting on Odex, which will really be a big bug to bear, how many parents are willing to take the risk of putting their child on the line and going to court over $3K-$5K?
Especially when the school exams are round the corner and if Odex go all out "to kill one and scare all", regardless of the assessment of damage, how many parent will want to go through the hassle?

There is another risk here, if Odex wins the case, it will prove that the down-loader have done something wrong, the AG office may press criminal charges ( again Odex may be the one pushing/pressuring the AG office in a move to make their future cases easier ). The parent may have top pay another fine, the child may have a criminal record which may bar him/her from a Uni education in SG.

If you received a letter from Odex and you know it's your child who did it, what would you do?

Why do you think that the letter remind them that they could be facing criminal charges?

I'm not supporting the actions of Odex but after so many posts, no one seem to have seen this from this angle yet.

What can a parent's defense be?

Since this thread title is Defense for ppl sued by Odex, ......

I'm not sure about others but regardless of the burden of proof resting on Odex, which will really be a big bug to bear, how many parents are willing to take the risk of putting their child on the line and going to court over $3K-$5K?
Especially when the school exams are round the corner and if Odex go all out "to kill one and scare all", regardless of the assessment of damage, how many parent will want to go through the hassle?

There is another risk here, if Odex wins the case, it will prove that the down-loader have done something wrong, the AG office may press criminal charges ( again Odex may be the one pushing/pressuring the AG office in a move to make their future cases easier ). The parent may have top pay another fine, the child may have a criminal record which may bar him/her from a Uni education in SG.

If you received a letter from Odex and you know it's your child who did it, what would you do?

Why do you think that the letter remind them that they could be facing criminal charges?

I'm not supporting the actions of Odex but after so many posts, no one seem to have seen this from this angle yet.

What can a parent's defense be?

That is why we are saying Odex might have no case but by using legal jargon and sending letters, they make it seem like they have. And force parents to just pay up and hush hush the whole matter. The parents dont know their rights and most are not interested to know, they auto think they are in the wrong.