DAISO OFFER!!! EM1 with 12-40mm PRO!!! FREE BATTERY GRIP!!!

I bought from that qoo10 sale and I have my set already. I'll try to answer some FAQ below

Why is it cheap? I don't know.

Is it brand new in box? I'm quite sure it is, although there was a shutter count of 194, it is common knowledge that it's because of factory testing.

Any damages or aesthetic flaws? None whatsoever.

Warranty leh? It's indicated with worldwide warranty. Another bro asked OLY sg if they will honour the warranty, the ans is yes.

Did I get a great camera at a great price? For sure! Can't wait to bring it out on my various trips esp my honeymoon next year!

Please for goodness sake, it is common knowledge that NO factory does testing and leave the shutter count on the camera. Factory will reset the shutter count before packaging. Even factory refurbished units will have their shutter count reset.

Every new camera I bought in all my years have shutter count of 0, regardless of camera brand.

If yours comes with shutter count of 194, it means it is a return, or a demo set. As simple as that. OK, there is another situation when you see shutter count on new camera on local SG sets... it probably means you bought it from a certain very brotherly friendly shop in Funan where they allow their customers to molest gears without restriction.

Please for goodness sake, it is common knowledge that NO factory does testing and leave the shutter count on the camera. Factory will reset the shutter count before packaging. Even factory refurbished units will have their shutter count reset.

Every new camera I bought in all my years have shutter count of 0, regardless of camera brand.

If yours comes with shutter count of 194, it means it is a return, or a demo set.

Just curious, what is wonglp and Keith's opinion on this ?

Thanks

If yours comes with shutter count of 194, it means it is a return, or a demo set. As simple as that. OK, there is another situation when you see shutter count on new camera on local SG sets... it probably means you bought it from a certain very brotherly friendly shop in Funan where they allow their customers to molest gears without restriction.

regardless if you are a moderator, such an aggressive tone is a little excessive no?

also some others on this forum have seemed to indicate that shutter actuations on a new set is normal on new sets read below links. this is where I got my info from. in summary it seems like due to this being a premium model, they are doing final testing like the E5 to ensure all is A-ok

http://www.clubsnap.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1335739&page=2

&

http://www.pekkapotka.com/journal/2013/9/9/olympus-om-d-e-m1-hands-on-preview.html

&

https://www.flickr.com/groups/om-d_user/discuss/72157637321923923/

regardless if you are a moderator, such an aggressive tone is a little excessive no?

also some others on this forum have seemed to indicate that shutter actuations on a new set is normal on new sets read below links. this is where I got my info from. in summary it seems like due to this being a premium model, they are doing final testing like the E5 to ensure all is A-ok

http://www.clubsnap.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1335739&page=2

&

http://www.pekkapotka.com/journal/2013/9/9/olympus-om-d-e-m1-hands-on-preview.html

&

https://www.flickr.com/groups/om-d_user/discuss/72157637321923923/

had wanted to sleep but .. lol

Firstly, I'm sure DD123 didn't mean anything harsh or aggressive. Met him in real life and really, he's knowledgeable about camera stuff and sometimes ya, typed words can give different impressions. In a forum, its always abt seeing the positive side.

Secondly, about shutter count on new bodies. I must give a disclaimer first on that I am not a camera manufacturer and hence do not have 100% confidence about what they do. Microcosm, DD123, Spidey and Wonglp are all more experienced than me about photography.

Moving on:

1. My take is different manufacturers have different practices, a quick google will tell u conflicting sides which aka = no clear case.
2. If an answer is really really that important, why not email Olympus SG for a clear answer? Can email and try first and if there's no answer, let me know and I'll drop by (gotta be patient as now I've a curfew due to my newborn) and I'll try to get an answer for u. This is what I can promise u, an effort to try and seek an answer from the manufacturers themselves.
3. I do get a bit upset when i see situations of good deal but still want everything sui sui. Of course I understand everyone wants a good deal (me also), but then my take is always : 'want peace of mind, buy from shops & check thoroughly; want cheap and good deals, be prepared'.
That is not saying there is no good deal, but rather we gotta be more pragmatic and less idealistic about equipment. An example would be complaining about fine dust being present in a 30+ yr old lens (happened to me)
4. Personally, and really frankly. I got my EM1 body at Olympus internal sales (huge discount) and now Qoo's price is even lower than what I paid. If I'm paying $1049 for a $17xx body, u can give me a fingerprint smeared across lcd set and I'll still be happy so long as the warranty is 12+3 months valid. Once anything is out of the box, they all end up the same - to serve u and your needs :)
5. And yeap, there has been a few pple here who've bought from Qoo and willing to share their experience, hence i guess that helps too.

thanks keith for the reply.

but you are right, ultimately im very happy with my EM-1, waiting to just expand my collection of lenses.

dd123 pardon me if I took it to heart.

Hi Keith,

This EM-1 that I bot is for my wife. Since there is no in-built flash, can recommend one external flash for EM-1 ? A portable one and as small as possible.

Thanks

Hi Keith, This EM-1 that I bot is for my wife. Since there is no in-built flash, can recommend one external flash for EM-1 ? A portable one and as small as possible. Thanks

I'm using the FL300R :) compact , light weight and more than enough for most purposes.

But before that , there is a bundled small flash with the camera , that one not enough ?

I'm using the FL300R :) compact , light weight and more than enough for most purposes.

But before that , there is a bundled small flash with the camera , that one not enough ?

Thanks Keith,

Got bundle meh ? I wasn't aware bcos from the Qoo link, I just click and buy the body only ...

And yes, I think should be enough ...

I just read from Olympus website that it is a wireless clip-on flash ... what exactly does this mean ? will this flash sits on the hot shoe ? wireless means connect thru the camera's wifi ? Sorry for the elementary question ...

Thanks

Thanks Keith, Got bundle meh ? I wasn't aware bcos from the Qoo link, I just click and buy the body only ... And yes, I think should be enough ... I just read from Olympus website that it is a wireless clip-on flash ... what exactly does this mean ? will this flash sits on the hot shoe ? wireless means connect thru the camera's wifi ? Sorry for the elementary question ... Thanks

Ya ,

It's a simple clip on flash straight onto the hotshoe, not wireless. Your EM1 box should come bundled with it.

Just do a google for EM1 flash FL-LM2 and u will see images of it.

Ya ,

It's a simple clip on flash straight onto the hotshoe, not wireless. Your EM1 box should come bundled with it.

Just do a google for EM1 flash FL-LM2 and u will see images of it.

Ok understand liao, Keith. Thanks

I earlier on, misunderstand your posting ... i thought you meant it come bundled with the FL-300R, what's why when I googles, it said it is wireless ... Hahahaha ... paiseh didn't read read properly ...

Wah, the EMI box some more come with a FL-LM2 flash ... wah damn good leh ... I remember last time my Sony Nex5 must buy something like this flash as separate accessories ...

Thanks again ...

Ok understand liao, Keith. Thanks I earlier on, misunderstand your posting ... i thought you meant it come bundled with the FL-300R, what's why when I googles, it said it is wireless ... Hahahaha ... paiseh didn't read read properly ... Wah, the EMI box some more come with a FL-LM2 flash ... wah damn good leh ... I remember last time my Sony Nex5 must buy something like this flash as separate accessories ... Thanks again ...

Sony makes u buy an external charger by not even including any charger nowadays ;) that's quite a good indicator of how they bundle their accessories.

If $1049 EM1 comes with free FL300R, MTL ; I buy as second set also happy lol.

thanks keith for the reply.

but you are right, ultimately im very happy with my EM-1, waiting to just expand my collection of lenses.

dd123 pardon me if I took it to heart.

Sorry if the words came across strong. Not meant for it to be read that way.

After some searching, it seems Oly does leave some shutter count on their cameras. Maybe because the menu is a hidden service menu in the first place not meant for users to see.

Pentax, Nikon and Canon all show shutter count zero on unboxing. From low end models like D3000 to D4 and 1Dx, it is all the same. Zero shutter count when unboxed.

Sorry if the words came across strong. Not meant for it to be read that way.

After some searching, it seems Oly does leave some shutter count on their cameras. Maybe because the menu is a hidden service menu in the first place not meant for users to see.

Pentax, Nikon and Canon all show shutter count zero on unboxing. From low end models like D3000 to D4 and 1Dx, it is all the same. Zero shutter count when unboxed.

this is something new!

I meant the brand new camera'sshuttle count issue.

EisMann

RyanKhoo46066 said:
Just curious, what is wonglp and Keith's opinion on this ?

Thanks

I remember some mentioned before about having some shutter counts when bought new, while I don't really check the sc when bought new, I can check with Oly sg tmr abt this.

Anyways, lets move on from here. Tks guys.

For pentax, nikon and canon the shutter count can be seem at the main user menu? Never own any of these brand dslr before hence asking out of curious.

Pany and oly, we need to go into the service mode before we can see this info. And usually the normal user manual does not show user how to go into this service mode. We need to check from the web.

For pentax, nikon and canon the shutter count can be seem at the main user menu? Never own any of these brand dslr before hence asking out of curious.

Pany and oly, we need to go into the service mode before we can see this info. And usually the normal user manual does not show user how to go into this service mode. We need to check from the web.

Ya, secret menu, like play Nintendo/PS secret code unlock...

Probably I shld start an sticky on FAQ/tips on oly cameras, if it helps.

Yes Bro Keith.. think about it we have a mis-com. I think you could be thinking that I am refering to Oly and other brand's "worldwide warranty"... which actually I am refering to Oly only.. There are some brands which includes their "worldwide warranty card" inside their packaging but for certain we might need to bang table if repair is required.

Certainly agree that if Oly SG (or other countries' Oly or Oly as a whole) realise that it is a chore to them to cover the worldwide warranty, or if they think that they do not need worldwide warranty to boost worldwide sales anymore, they might withdraw it. By then we will have lesser option and constraint to local offering.. Ha..

Jackwolf,

You are lucky that Keith took his time and minced his words before each reply.

Else, You will be made shut you, I quote.

".....anyway, photography is just an hobby to most of you, you people are spending EXTRA cash, if that is so hard for you, do consider other CHEAPER hobby then........"

Take a moment to step into the shoes, for this case Olympus Singapore.
Do you like to repair an item knowingly it was not purchased from you?
Unless Olympus Singapore is set up to do repair, I don't think this is one revenue they want to focus on.

From a business point of view, everyone needs to need certain profit. This is normal.
The unhappiness raised when you realise you pay much more than someone else living in the same or higher standard of living than you are.

Where the extra cost comes from? I am not talking about the extra tax on cigarette and liquor or cars. We know who is manpulating this.
Unfortunately all the business owners do the easy thing. Just pass the cost to the consumers whenever the 政府人 tell them.

Just like yesterday reported in papers. SingTel and other will jack up the subscription fee to raise revenue because the penetration rate has being plateaued. And we were told these telecos set up to spur free competiton. But I feel they are nothing but cartels. Just like the taxis, the buses and the trains, with the backing from you who.

Back to the original topic.
Hopefully the owners who buy from Qoo10 will continue to share their experience and feedback here.

This is what forum for, right? Sharing of unbiased info. And knowledge too.

Peace
EisMann

Finally got to using the EM-1 I bought via Qoo10 with the 12-40mm lens. No problems so far. Everything seemed fairly new during unboxing. Shutter count was not 0. It was something like 123. But I didn't have very high expectations when I bought. Especially after reading some negative comments after I pressed the button. So the camera worked, I saved a huge amount of money = I am happy. Would probably not take such a high risk in future though.

For Pentax and Nikon, shutter actuations is saved in the EXIF of the specific photo shot. So when you unbox the cam, mount a lens and take a shot, the photo's EXIF will have a field called "shutter actuation" with the value of "1". For Canon, for some models you can use a software to read the shutter count. For other models, you can bring the camera to Canon Service Centre and you can request for a shutter count readout.

Sony makes u buy an external charger by not even including any charger nowadays ;) that's quite a good indicator of how they bundle their accessories.
You are correct. I bought their VG30 and no charger, I bought the video light, also no charger ... all gotta buy separately ...

If $1049 EM1 comes with free FL300R, MTL ; I buy as second set also happy lol.
Hahaha ... yes ... lol ...