D90 User Group (thread II)

oh okay...cause i only checked prices for hoya/b+w filters..:confused:

but the shopkeeper told me that the quality is on par with hoya ones.. :sweat:

And he is right. Kenko Pro1D is almost identical as Hoya Pro1D. The companies are related. And both uses hoya glass, and the filters are both made by Tokina.

*phew*

okay but i still dont quite get how to effectively use the CPL..after reading this guide

"An old trick for visualizing the maximum angle is to turn your index finger into a gun (like when you were a child), with your thumb pointing upward. Make as if to shoot the sun with your finger and your thumb will point toward where polarization is at its most extreme. Remember though that this isn't just at one angle. Rotate your wrist through 180 degrees (if you can), because the entire circle around the sun is equally polarized."

any better illustrations u might have? :angel:

And he is right. Kenko Pro1D is almost identical as Hoya Pro1D. The companies are related. And both uses hoya glass, and the filters are both made by Tokina.

*phew*

okay but i still dont quite get how to effectively use the CPL..after reading this guide

"An old trick for visualizing the maximum angle is to turn your index finger into a gun (like when you were a child), with your thumb pointing upward. Make as if to shoot the sun with your finger and your thumb will point toward where polarization is at its most extreme. Remember though that this isn't just at one angle. Rotate your wrist through 180 degrees (if you can), because the entire circle around the sun is equally polarized."

Well, that is as good an example as possible.

If not, you just turn the CPL till you see the effect you like. Then shoot.

*phew*

har...? Still not clear enough meh...?

If your index finger is pointing to the sun, the thumb (90 degrees to the finger) points to the direction where polarization is maximum.
So if you aim your camera straight up (vertical) to the sky, or to your right, or left, or down... you get maximum polarization.
It says rotate your wrist through 180 degrees, because EVERY position that your thumb can point to whilst your finger is pointed at the sun, will give you maximum polarization.

if maintain 90 deg (index finger to thumb), and i shoot during daytime..most of the time i'll having camera facing up, shooting into the sky wor? :dunno:

har...? Still not clear enough meh...?

If your index finger is pointing to the sun, the thumb (90 degrees to the finger) points to the direction where polarization is maximum.
So if you aim your camera straight up (vertical) to the sky, or to your right, or left, or down... you get maximum polarization.
It says rotate your wrist through 180 degrees, because EVERY position that your thumb can point to whilst your finger is pointed at the sun, will give you maximum polarization.

Yeah, since you already bought your CPL, go out and take it for a spin. Maximum effect you will see is when shooting skies or water reflections. Remember the 90 degree rule when shooting. Have fun with your new accessory ;)

if maintain 90 deg (index finger to thumb), and i shoot during daytime..most of the time i'll having camera facing up, shooting into the sky wor? :dunno:

Rotate your wrist. Imagine holding the gun ghetto style, sideways

er. when u say rotate..is which orientation ar? this is the part which i dont get it :bsmilie:

red or black. :sweat:

2rclik3.jpg

Rotate your wrist. Imagine holding the gun ghetto style, sideways

er. when u say rotate..is which orientation ar? this is the part which i dont get it :bsmilie:

red or black. :sweat:

2rclik3.jpg

Ok, i should have been more specific; keep pointing at the sun while you rotate your wrist to acheive the ghetto gun holding. Whichever direction your thumb is pointing (doesnt matter as long as you keep your pointer finger pointed at the sun), that is the direction of maximum polarization. Hope that helps. ;)

alrighty!~ thanks!! :lovegrin:

Ok, i should have been more specific; keep pointing at the sun while you rotate your wrist to acheive the ghetto gun holding. Whichever direction your thumb is pointing (doesnt matter as long as you keep your pointer finger pointed at the sun), that is the direction of maximum polarization. Hope that helps. ;)

This is what you get for missing the D90 outing...what could have been easily achieved within a single short moment of demonstration... :bsmilie: Just kidding lah.

Is there a youtube to illustrate the finger-gun routine? I think we best equip with one video or else you'll get sick of it for any future demonstrations...

By Maximum Polarisation, you mean where the clouds get REALLY dark? Is that the part to best avoid? Or best to use?

My thinking is, maximum polarisation is where you better avoid or else the sky gets very dark (especially when you use UWA), but the effect may not be so for other (non UWA) lenses. I need to be corrected if I'm wrong...

This is what you get for missing the D90 outing...what could have been easily achieved within a single short moment of demonstration... :bsmilie: Just kidding lah.

Is there a youtube to illustrate the finger-gun routine? I think we best equip with one video or else you'll get sick of it for any future demonstrations...

By Maximum Polarisation, you mean where the clouds get REALLY dark? Is that the part to best avoid? Or best to use?

My thinking is, maximum polarisation is where you better avoid or else the sky gets very dark (especially when you use UWA), but the effect may not be so for other (non UWA) lenses. I need to be corrected if I'm wrong...
Normally I don't think so much! :)
I just try to keep the sun to my left or right when I'm using a polarizer.
Don't think the sky gets REALLY dark even at max polarization.

Normally I don't think so much! :)
I just try to keep the sun to my left or right when I'm using a polarizer.
Don't think the sky gets REALLY dark even at max polarization.

Really har? Me thinking of Kenko ZETA 77mm liao... :bsmilie: So that is true lah... maximum polarisation is where the sky gets the deepest blue... I saw one image in a mag, judging from the shadows and lights, skies get really blackish at about 90 deg (I wasn't too sure about the deg then)... Now I understand how it works liao. Thanks!

Hi
wanna ask all if anyone had or using extension tube on D90?
wan to ask what is they opinion of the tube they are using and their recommendation of it.

thks

I am using one of Kenko's extension tube with my Macro 60mm... I don't use it often. It can still meter, but I think AF will not work - have to use manual. Not sure about the rest of the brands... some claims they can AF, you have to check - there are some in Mass Sales that made such claims.

Again, not sure what you really what to know, need to be more specific as to what kind of opinions you wanted to hear...

dont have a video, but here's a series shot (not mine) to illustrate the effect

at 0° rotation
Pol_filter_0_degrees.jpg

at 30° rotation
Pol_filter_30_degrees.jpg

at 60° rotation
Pol_filter_60_degrees.jpg

at 90° rotation
Pol_filter_90_degrees.jpg

notice that the colors get richer, and the reflection on the mobile phone's screen gets less

dont have a video, but here's a series shot (not mine) to illustrate the effect

at 0° rotation
Pol_filter_0_degrees.jpg

at 30° rotation
Pol_filter_30_degrees.jpg

at 60° rotation
Pol_filter_60_degrees.jpg

at 90° rotation
Pol_filter_90_degrees.jpg

notice that the colors get richer, and the reflection on the mobile phone's screen gets less

I think we understand the effects of CPL (reducing glare and so forth). But how is it in relation of the sun? Is the light from your lamp replacing the role of the sun? I'm getting more confused already... I think it's best that I get my own CPL filter first and test it out on my own to fully understand how it works... lolz

But thanks for trying to help nevertheless.

Really har? Me thinking of Kenko ZETA 77mm liao... :bsmilie: So that is true lah... maximum polarisation is where the sky gets the deepest blue... I saw one image in a mag, judging from the shadows and lights, skies get really blackish at about 90 deg (I wasn't too sure about the deg then)... Now I understand how it works liao. Thanks!

You sure it wasn't a GND instead? :think:

Ringed GND filter??? Ain't no way you'll catch me with my pants down with that! Nope, I meant CPL. The crazy knock/scratch/drop resistant video...wanna see it again?

Edit: urm... Now I'm not sure which were you refering to... you meant the Mag image? Page 49 of the "Essential Guide to Landscape Photography"... by Digitial SLR... CPL confirmed.

I am using one of Kenko's extension tube with my Macro 60mm... I don't use it often. It can still meter, but I think AF will not work - have to use manual. Not sure about the rest of the brands... some claims they can AF, you have to check - there are some in Mass Sales that made such claims.

Again, not sure what you really what to know, need to be more specific as to what kind of opinions you wanted to hear...

Krieg, i am also looking at kenko extension tube actually.
As i wanted to use my 50mm to try some micro shoot. but due to the natural of the lens the min focus is abt 45cm. thus it is still quite far to do any near shot. so was thinking of the extension would be gd to make it able to shoot nearer.

hmm AF doesnt work on kenko? thought from the web site, it is able to AF. anyway i do know that macro most ppl will be using MF, juz that i thought using AF will be slightly faster then switch over to MF and do some minor adjustment to snap the shot.

also if u dont mind, do you have a 50mm, have u trying kenko with it? thks

Krieg, i am also looking at kenko extension tube actually.
As i wanted to use my 50mm to try some micro shoot. but due to the natural of the lens the min focus is abt 45cm. thus it is still quite far to do any near shot. so was thinking of the extension would be gd to make it able to shoot nearer.

hmm AF doesnt work on kenko? thought from the web site, it is able to AF. anyway i do know that macro most ppl will be using MF, juz that i thought using AF will be slightly faster then switch over to MF and do some minor adjustment to snap the shot.

also if u dont mind, do you have a 50mm, have u trying kenko with it? thks

I'm using the uniplus 25. Just tried it again to make doubly sure... 60mm Macro would not AF with the tube, only Manual. Maybe my tube is having problems, but I've kept it pretty clean and in plastic bags all the time, the points aren't rusty. I don't have a 50mm lens at all so I can't vouch for that part, sorry.