hope u dun mind,
also to note, juz for easy comparison.

35 F2 on a DX body will be having a FOV of 52.5mm
35 F2 on a FX body will be having a FOV of 35mm

35 F1.8 on DX body will be having a FOV of 52.5mm
35 F1.8 on FX body will be having a FOV of 35mm but with vignette

hope is correct.

If I dare say "yes" , if I understood correctly from ZCA and DD123's explanations. Not that you're expecting my response. But hope either experienced can confirm on our thoughts... Feel free to slam on me again! :bsmilie:

I think there is a need to add "FOV equivalent of 52.5mm on FF".... on 35 f/1.8's side.... I believe all the measurements made are based on FF/Film's equivalent... (correct me if I'm wrong once again)

oh issit, haha my bad~ :bsmilie:

feel like making a trip down to TK after work..lol..pay just came in..hands itchy.. :lovegrin:

rotate? u mean at different positions..the filter will produce a varying effect?

Polarizing filters work this way: they cut some parts of the spectra from the sun's rays. say you have the sun on your side, then you put up your hand near your face with the palm facing the ground. sunlight passes and hits you face. Now if you turn your hand so that the palm is now facing you, You block out the sun, right? It's the same as the CPL blocking certain spectra from the sunrays to give the skies a bluer and richer tone. That's why you need to rotate your CPL, to know where the "palm" is facing.

hope u dun mind,

hope is correct.

There is one exception.
FX body can switch to DX mode. So if 35/1.8 mounted on FX, and DX mode switched on, FOV will become 52.5mm also.

Yep, sure does. Learnt something new again. Thanks for the reinforcement and clearing it up. Apologies to ZCA for screwing up on the concept.

Edit: hence, Nikon DX 85mm lens... the FOV will be exactly the same as FF 85mm lens if used on the same DX body. Correct?
aiyah... apologize for what?
Whilst explaining to you, it also helps me to confirm whether I remember it wrongly or not :)

and to answer your last question... yes!

aiyah... apologize for what?
Whilst explaining to you, it also helps me to confirm whether I remember it wrongly or not :)

and to answer your last question... yes!

Still must apologise lah... for being so testy when I knew nuts! :embrass: But thanks for debunking that long time (well, few months old) error of mine... at least I know one more fact from fiction... :D

Aiyo... you all har. apologize here and there... no need one. In the end everyone learns, everyone wins mah. ;)

If I don't apologise means no respect for those who really know... means juniors will run all over your head and get away with anything - so cannot, for the sake of humility. Both of you got my respect, hence the proper treatment and accordance in terms of manners... :thumbsup:

Okay, end of story... lets not dwell into Kopitiam talk once again. :bsmilie:

At least when I buy the 35mm f/1.8 I know what I'm getting into.

To lessen the confusion, the difference is between focal lenght (the physical lenght) and field of view (against 35mm film equivalent for DX). So 35mm focal length has a FOV of 52.5mm for DX compared to FX

hope u dun mind,

hope is correct.

Just to make it clearer (taking in Krieg's suggestion):

FX Lens
35 f/2 on a DX body will be having a FOV equivalent to 52.5mm on FX
35 f/2 on an FX body will be having a FOV equivalent to 35mm on FX

DX Lens
35 f/1.8 on DX body will be having a FOV equivalent to 52.5mm on FX
35 f/1.8 on FX body (forcing it to FX mode) will be having a FOV equivalent to 35mm on FX, but with vignette.

There is one exception.
FX body can switch to DX mode. So if 35/1.8 mounted on FX, and DX mode switched on, FOV will become 52.5mm also.

wau! didnt know a FX body can switch to become DX mode. ok nice. thks

Hi
wanna ask all if anyone had or using extension tube on D90?
wan to ask what is they opinion of the tube they are using and their recommendation of it.

thks

hi all, newbie here. i always faced pro with taking picture in restaurant ( dim light / orange light). if i take continuos pictures, some of my pictures will just become blur, why is that so???
setting i used : M mode, 1/10 s, F5, iso 1250, no flash light used. is my setting wrong???
thank you.

hi all, newbie here. i always faced pro with taking picture in restaurant ( dim light / orange light). if i take continuos pictures, some of my pictures will just become blur, why is that so???
setting i used : M mode, 1/10 s, F5, iso 1250, no flash light used. is my setting wrong???
thank you.

try 1/50s at least then iso abt 800, u need the flash then the flash u can lesser it. so that it does not seem too harsh on the object or ppl.

thank you.

personally, i cant hand-hold without blur in anything less than 1/30s. so you might want to try faster shutter speeds like 1/40, 1/50 or 1/60s. mind you though, faster shutter speeds mean less light comes in, making your pics dark. compensate by lowering your f/stop to around f2.8 (or lower) if you lens can manage it. if you cant lower down your f/stop number, try bumping your ISO up (but i see you're already at 1250, more than what most would recommend as IQ seriously deteriorates).

why use M mode and still go 1/10s? :dunno: try A mode with your lowest aperture setting then increase ISO until your camera gives the desired shutter speed (1/40 and up). i suggest you practice with P, A, and S modes first til you understand how aperture, shutter speed and ISO work together. and practice often ;)

thank you.
sounds like a very dim restaurant if you're using ISO1250, f/5, 1/10s
You can consider getting a faster lens (eg 17-50 f/2.8), or else one of those table-top tripods and maybe a speedlight such as SB400 to light up your subjects.

morning pros~

i dropped by Funan ytd evening..and picked up this kenko pro1d 77mm cpl for $120~

did i get chopped? :confused:

morning pros~

i dropped by Funan ytd evening..and picked up this kenko pro1d 77mm cpl for $120~

did i get chopped? :confused:

Around there but yours is slightly on the high side. I got my 72mm for $90. 77 is quite a bit larger in terms of glass used.

wau! didnt know a FX body can switch to become DX mode. ok nice. thks

after switch to dx mode the pixel count will drop to ard 6mp i think..

For D700, if you switch to DX mode, resolution drop from 12mp to 5.1mp. Still usable but less resolution for you if you want to do further cropping.

For D3x, if you switch to DX mode, resolution drop from 24.5mp to 10.5mp. It is still fine, since that is the resolution of cameras like D200, D80, D40x, D60, D3000.

oh okay...cause i only checked prices for hoya/b+w filters..:confused:

but the shopkeeper told me that the quality is on par with hoya ones.. :sweat:

Around there but yours is slightly on the high side. I got my 72mm for $90. 77 is quite a bit larger in terms of glass used.