D90 User Group (thread II)

You guys forget our resident ND400 user... Ghaz1... you wanna tell us how you use your ND?

As far as what I've done, I use Aperture mode with my ND. The cam will calculate how long it needs to be exposed. Simple as that leh... :dunno:

Aperture mode only goes as far as 30sec exposure right?

BTW how do you use the Bulb mode without touching the cam, any settings or you use the cable release is it? Last time i had to press the shutter and hold. :think:

Respect! Was your picture blur? Tt time I just press and release for a 20sec exposure, my picture was so blur tt I deleted it without thinking.

yo bros..my 1st ever attempt on creating HDRI.. :sweat:

j7cnfa.jpg

29dtoup.jpg

Aperture mode only goes as far as 30sec exposure right?

BTW how do you use the Bulb mode without touching the cam, any settings or you use the cable release is it? Last time i had to press the shutter and hold. :think:

I rmb skylover using a remote

Yap.. I was using a wireless remote. that has a hold function. thus all i have to do is click the hold. den i can walk about within the radius than time up i just release it.

Yes If i nv recall wrongly. I read it somewhere that its only 30secs. anything more than 30secs muz be done manually..

Yap.. I was using a wireless remote. that has a hold function. thus all i have to do is click the hold. den i can walk about within the radius than time up i just release it.

Yes If i nv recall wrongly. I read it somewhere that its only 30secs. anything more than 30secs muz be done manually..

Yup, sorry my bad... 30 sec is the max.. so yeah need to use manual mode. ;p Juz realised all my last ND shots at D90 outting was exposed to 30 secs max...

I think need to calculate the exposure time very accurately. I thought someone who used ND110 the last time, had to expose to about 1 minute plus? It was on Sunchasers last outting I think.

yo bros..my 1st ever attempt on creating HDRI.. :sweat:

j7cnfa.jpg

29dtoup.jpg

Wah! Take bukit panjang LRT! Haha. I din't know if this is redundant. But 1st pic the condo looks a bit weird in terms of colour. 2nd pic lights are blown. And buildings are leaning to a side. Or is tt due to the 'horizon' not level? I don't know much. These are just my personal opinions. I also don't knoe about HDR. But I do know there are people who don't really like HDR as it gives a 'cartoin' feel. Please let me know if anyone disagrees. I'm open! Haha

yeah..i didnt really check the levelling of the tripod..lol..

just trying out to see if i can catch the 'feel' of HDR..;p

the condo's supposed to be all white..:bsmilie:

Wah! Take bukit panjang LRT! Haha. I din't know if this is redundant. But 1st pic the condo looks a bit weird in terms of colour. 2nd pic lights are blown. And buildings are leaning to a side. Or is tt due to the 'horizon' not level? I don't know much. These are just my personal opinions. I also don't knoe about HDR. But I do know there are people who don't really like HDR as it gives a 'cartoin' feel. Please let me know if anyone disagrees. I'm open! Haha

Google is your friend... ND exposure chart:

3514517019_c5fd2507ca_b.jpg

yeah..i didnt really check the levelling of the tripod..lol..

just trying out to see if i can catch the 'feel' of HDR..;p

the condo's supposed to be all white..:bsmilie:

Oops. My bad. Haha. But the 2nd pic has the 'feel' of HDR to me.

Google is your friend... ND exposure chart:

3514517019_c5fd2507ca_b.jpg

Haha. I saw this chart somewhere in another thread. I downloaded the app from Apple AppStore already. Iphone/Ipod Touch/Ipad users, search for the app named "Long Exposure Calculator". It's free

you know how to use the chart right? Anyway you got the app liao... simple as that - follow it first and see how it goes...

wah.. tt is freaking long list.. the timing is also longg///

You think so? According to the app and this chart, a 1s exposure would take 16mins to expose with a 10 stops ND filter attached!

ND4 + ND 8 at least 6Mins? If i dun read the chart wrongly..

Depend on your meter reading first... without the ND attached.

Edit: I think your GND might have threw you off balance in the calculation bit...

You think so? According to the app and this chart, a 1s exposure would take 16mins to expose with a 10 stops ND filter attached!

Try stacking two ND110 together at night.... ZZZZZ.....

Wah... using your 10s metering... using ND8 alone will require 1.4 to 1.5 minutes liao (approximate)...

ND4 is about 45 secs liao... you add ND4 + ND8 (5 stops), somewhere around 6 mins plus?

Now you know why your pix black black?

Edit: what aperture were you using to get 10s? f/16 to f/22?